Team-BHP - Volkswagen Virtus Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Volkswagen Virtus Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/251477-volkswagen-virtus-review-146.html)

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 (Post 5797976)
They have a discount of 1L in GT variant as well. The most important features to me that I am missing are - Digital Instrument Cluster and Black Alloy wheels. I've never used sunroof in my Altroz, ventilated seats are not that important in Bangalore except for 2-3 months. I am not sure how well the auto lights and rain sensing wiper works. I have those 2 in my altroz, but I always have to adjust it anyway.

1) My my you are underestimating the importance of the ventilated seats. I always use it whenever I'm in the car. It keeps your back sweat free and shirt creaseless. Yes, peak summer is only 2-3 months but it's not like rest of the 9 months are sun free. The days are still hot and the ventilated seats prove useful. :)

2) Auto headlamps and auto wipers work well in my Virtus. It never required any adjustments.

3) You've forgotten one very important difference -leatherette seats in GT+ vs fabric in GT. It's a game changer for many. Factory finish leatherette seats in GT+ are any day superior to aftermarket ones.

4) What about front electric seats and subwoofer amplifier combo in the GT+ variant? Has VW discontinued these?

5) Digital Instrument Cluster and black alloy wheels are subjective. Some like it. Some like the analog console and regular alloys more.

You will never regret buying the top end of anything in life. The car will be with you for the foreseeable future, so always go for the top variant. I love my top of the line Virtus. Have clocked 20,000 kilometres so far and the sailing has been smooth.

Originally Posted by true_sedan (Post 5798110)
You will never regret buying the top end of anything in life. The car will be with you for the foreseeable future, so always go for the top variant. I love my top of the line Virtus. Have clocked 20,000 kilometres so far and the sailing has been smooth.

Yeah, I forgot the woofer and electric seats. You've got me thinking now. I had a initial budget of 16L and I booked 3xO, now I've stretched it to 20L for Virtus. Now I'll have to stretch again.

Originally Posted by adith97 (Post 5760536)
Fabric seats are really comfortable.

Are the seats completely fabric or Fabric + leather? Do you miss any features from GT plus?

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 (Post 5798117)
Yeah, I forgot the woofer and electric seats. You've got me thinking now. I had a initial budget of 16L and I booked 3xO, now I've stretched it to 20L for Virtus. Now I'll have to stretch again.

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 (Post 5798379)
Are the seats completely fabric or Fabric + leather? Do you miss any features from GT plus?

When making a purchase intended for long-term use (7-10 years), opting for the more expensive option often proves to be the best decision.

Here's why:

As your salary and living standards increase over time, the initial price difference becomes negligible, but you may regret not having the additional features.

For instance, I bought the base model of the i20 diesel a decade ago. Just a year later, I received a significant raise, and my salary continued to grow. The money I saved initially soon felt inconsequential, and I regretted not getting the higher-end model.

Another crucial consideration is that features deemed luxurious today often become standard over time. Eventually, even lower-segment cars will include stuff like electric seats and better sound systems. And each time you see those features in newer, lower-segment models, you'll feel a pang of regret.

If you're considering financing, compare the EMIs; the difference is typically minimal over 3-5 years of the loan.

I would suggest opt for the top-tier model and enjoy your long drives in greater comfort and luxury.

Hello All,

I have purchased a Virtus GT+ DSG 1 year back. It is quite a nice experience till now. Just had my first servicing done in Pune Hadapsar. They did a good job and had my engine coating done too.

One advice I need, I want to do below two things done now.

> Ceramic Coating
> Dashcam Install

For Ceramic coating, folks who are staying in Pune, can you please suggest a reliable shop near hadapsar/kharadi area where I can leave the car without much worry about the price and quality of the material? Also, is it a good idea to do the coating in rainy season? Kindly share your valuable comments.

For Dashcam installation, the VW showroom offered me a Blaupunkt DVR with a charge of 11K all inclusive. However, being a new car owner, will the dashcam setup hampers the warranty in any way? I am in doubt.

Coming to the dashcam model, I found the 70mai to be pretty good as I've seen in my friend's Altroz. As the showroom is telling they will not allow to install anything other than Blaupunkt from the showroom, and I didn't find the Blaupunkt to be good in terms of looks to be specific. Performance wise I don't have any idea.

Please help.

Originally Posted by cruiser_d8 (Post 5798509)
Hello All,

However, being a new car owner, will the dashcam setup hampers the warranty in any way? I am in doubt.

Coming to the dashcam model, I found the 70mai to be pretty good as I've seen in my friend's Altroz. As the showroom is telling they will not allow to install anything other than Blaupunkt from the showroom, and I didn't find the Blaupunkt to be good in terms of looks to be specific. Performance wise I don't have any idea.

Please help.

Connecting the dashcam via USB-C ports will not void the warranty even if you go for a dashcam other than Blaupunkt. The same has been confirmed by other fellow owners in this forum. Also, I had double-checked this with the dealership before installing a dashcam in my car. I am using the 70mai A810 and I have had no issues so far. Mine is Virtus GT+ MT. Loving every mile with it :cool:

Originally Posted by cruiser_d8 (Post 5798509)
For Dashcam installation, the VW showroom offered me a Blaupunkt DVR with a charge of 11K all inclusive. However, being a new car owner, will the dashcam setup hampers the warranty in any way? I am in doubt.

VW showroom/service centre folks will never install a dashcam brand other than a brand from VW official accessory list but customer is allowed to get it installed from outside shops.

However, service centre folks even told me that they’ll void the warranty without even informing the customer if they find any wire is tampered/ dashcam is hardwired.

So, basically warranty will be void only if it is hard wired.

VW 2.0 cars come with continuous power supply through lighter port even when car is locked and connecting the dashcam to lighter port is eliminating hard wiring process which in turn will not void warranty.

I’m using Viofo A229 Pro 2 channel from 6 months and never faced any issue.
I tried parking surveillance for 12 hours and power supply was continuously available. Dashcam worked flawlessly.

Continuous power supply feature is not available in our Innova Crysta and I call this feature in VW 2.0 cars, a blessing. :Cheering:

Originally Posted by vividhavasthi (Post 5424250)
Virtus GT Updates - Part 2

The fog/cornering lamps - Decided to change the bulbs to low-wattage LEDs (so as not to blind people for no reason), I don't often have to deal with fog, and when I do, I usually don't venture out or delay plans by an hour or two.

How has the LEDs experience been? No issue, is it? How many lumens output is on the set you got?

Originally Posted by Kimi_007 (Post 5799004)
How has the LEDs experience? No issues is it ..How many lumens one did u get

The original set started having issues after a power wash, I lost the right one. I later upgraded to CarHatke bulbs with nearly double the output, 150W total.

The experience has been great and the difference between just the headlights and with fog are night and day. The standard headlights are quite weak.

It is such an easy upgrade, turn the wheel, loosen a few screws and an experienced hand will get the job done on both sides within 10-15 mins.

How much are the stock ones [70W total is it ]…By installing 150W LEDs , won’t it draw much power ?

Originally Posted by vividhavasthi (Post 5799085)
The original set started having issues after a power wash, I lost the right one. I later upgraded to CarHatke bulbs with nearly double the output, 150W total.

The experience has been great and the difference between just the headlights and with fog are night and day. The standard headlights are quite weak.

It is such an easy upgrade, turn the wheel, loosen a few screws and an experienced hand will get the job done on both sides within 10-15 mins.

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 (Post 5797326)
Is it worth paying 3 lakhs extra for GT plus variant vs GT Variant? It now comes with 6 airbags as standard for all variant. The major feature differences are:

3. Full LED vs LED (not sure whats the difference here)

- Full LED headlamps (GT Plus) are LED projectors, while LED headlamps (GT) are LED reflectors. Both are close in terms of performance and visibility enhancements at night.
- GT comes with fabric + leatherette combination seats, which is a good compromise between fabric & leatherette seats. Here, the side bolsters/arm supports are finished in leatherette (with red stitching), while the central section consisting of the backrest and the headrest are made of fabric. VW did a good job at this and the seat remains cool even on hot days, without seat ventilation. clap:

I own a GT variant when it was first launched in July '23. I had stretched my budget a bit (20 L was a hard stop), and did not quite feel a need for the added features for an additional 3 lacs. And even after a year, I feel I couldn't bother less. The stock music system is better than those provided by most other brands (even the branded ones), a sunroof is not essential, electric seats without a memory function are kind of pointless, and the analog display+MID display all the info I genuinely need. Heck, analog consoles are actually more expensive to manufacture than having a digital screen. 2 airbags back then was an issue, which has been solved now thankfully. Go for the GT-DSG variant if you have to. It's the comfort, the power, and the overall driving experience which push me to get behind the wheel every day, and not necessarily the features. I also own a 2019 XUV 300 petrol just as a point of reference. Happy driving!! :Cheering:

Originally Posted by signal_beat16 (Post 5797326)
Is it worth paying 3 lakhs extra for GT plus variant vs GT Variant? It now comes with 6 airbags as standard for all variant. The major feature differences are:

1. Speakers with Woofer and amplifier
2. Ventilated Seats
3. Full LED vs LED (not sure whats the difference here)
4. Sunroof
5. Alloy wheel painted black
6. Digital cockpit vs Analog

As a Kushaq Style owner(Similarly equipped to the GT+) this is how I see it:

1. I have the lot of cars with the 8 inch MIB audio system without the subwoofer. This is a pretty decent setup with very good clarity and sufficient bass. I was in a Kushaq TD car with a subwoofer and it honestly felt the same to me. I infact liked the MIB system despite it being smaller as the OS looks much more premium and in-line with the more expensive Skodas. Only downside to it is wired CarPlay which is not an issue for the Virtus.

2. While it is a nice to have feature, the VAG implementation is very noisy and not close to how effective the feature is in the Korean Rivals. Helps in extremely sunny days but not a dealbreaker.

3. Cannot really comment but the Full LED setup also feels lacking unless it is in a pitch black setting.

4. Sunroof is again a nice to have feature but I don’t think I would pay extra for it.

5. Can be done from the showroom or outside for fraction of the cost.

6. A friend has a base model Active Kushaq and from what I saw, every single bit of the information available on the Virtual Cluster is available on the maxi dot system as well. It’s again just a feature you wouldn’t miss in the long run IMO.

Bottom line is if I had the option to pick up the Kushaq in the mid spec Ambition variant with the 1.5 DSG + 6 Airbags option (now available) similar to the GT DSG, It would have been a no brainier especially for a substantial 3 lakhs less.

Originally Posted by mkk_carformula (Post 5799231)

I own a GT variant when it was first launched in July '23. I had stretched my budget a bit (20 L was a hard stop), and did not quite feel a need for the added features for an additional 3 lacs. And even after a year, I feel I couldn't bother less. The stock music system is better than those provided by most other brands (even the branded ones), a sunroof is not essential, electric seats without a memory function are kind of pointless, and the analog display+MID display all the info I genuinely need. Heck, analog consoles are actually more expensive to manufacture than having a digital screen. 2 airbags back then was an issue, which has been solved now thankfully. Go for the GT-DSG variant if you have to.

Thanks, this is very helpful. VW did the best thing by adding 6 Airbags, it would have been great if they added basic features such as auto dimming IRVM and auto headlamps in this variant. I'll mostly go with GT variant.

Originally Posted by silver_bullet24 (Post 5797380)
I have the Virtus GT Plus and my feedback is as under:

- Very well summed up
- I would always go for the top variant to take away the quotient of regret later UNLESS the variant lower is making too much sense in terms of pricing
- In the case of Virtus GT 1.5 DSG, these cars are made to last and if I plan to keep it for more than 5-8 years, I would definitely be willing to pay up the premium once for those features offered
- But the trick is, the investories of most car manufacturers in India have piled up so much that they are willing to give extra discounts
- Even if there is 3L premium on the quoted prices above, there are lots of discounts being offered by VW right now
- Negotiate with 3-4 dealers and you can stretch the discount to nearly 2L with proper skills

Happy Hunting :Cheering:

Hello everyone, while driving today, touched 100 kmph, then I got a strange warning: 100 KMPH reached on Winter tires. I just had my 1 year/15k service done. Has anyone else got same message? Mine is Highline AT.