Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Pre-War

Old 27th June 2012, 14:35   #1

Austin Nippy in India?

Austin Nippy was Built between 1934 and 1937 and there were only 682 Nippys produced.

Just wondering whether any Austin Nippy's were imported to India,
and if any of them has survived.

Here is a picture from the Net.
Austin Nippy in India?-1936austinnippy.jpg  

KartikeyaL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 18:13   #2

Re: Austin Nippy in India?

Looks like you have found one ? ... just a guess

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
Austin Nippy was Built between 1934 and 1937 and there were only 682 Nippys produced.

Just wondering whether any Austin Nippy's were imported to India,
and if any of them has survived.

Here is a picture from the Net.
kasli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 18:29   #3

Originally Posted by kasli View Post
Looks like you have found one ? ... just a guess
Or you cna make one from a standard Austin7 if you know what you are doing
Old 27th June 2012, 19:10   #4

Austin Nippy, Ulster TT, Standard Swallow, I know of none around. There a couple of Boat tailed cars, and there were Swallow bodied cars in India, in Bombay and Kolkata as I have pictures, though I am not aware of survivors.
Maybe one can create a Nippy. Or you have found one

Cheers harit
Old 27th June 2012, 20:25   #5

I have heard of one such car in Kerala, but not seen it
It was supposed to been in a workshop in Southern Kerala
Old 28th June 2012, 08:13   #6

Well , There is a lead about a possible Nippy in India, but cannot be certain, the dealer/ owner refuses to share a picture.

I will be making the journey this weekend, but I dont want to be too excited because it could be a homemade nippy.
Old 28th June 2012, 10:43   #7

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
Well , There is a lead about a possible Nippy in India, but cannot be certain, the dealer/ owner refuses to share a picture.

I will be making the journey this weekend, but I dont want to be too excited because it could be a homemade nippy.
Pardon my ignorance but pray how do you tell a homemade nippy from an original one? is there any differentiating body plate? I know of a couple of people on this forum who are trying to make ulsters on an Austin platform.

Actually I would be quite interested in a well made Ulster replica just for the experience.
Old 28th June 2012, 10:48   #8

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Pardon my ignorance but pray how do you tell a homemade nippy from an original one? is there any differentiating body plate? I know of a couple of people on this forum who are trying to make ulsters on an Austin platform.

Actually I would be quite interested in a well made Ulster replica just for the experience.
Easy the homemade ones have a "made at home by xx" plate on them.

But seriously if one has seen an Ulster or even a Nippy in person then you can surely tell a home grown variant. !
Old 28th June 2012, 11:14   #9

Originally Posted by wasif View Post
But seriously if one has seen an Ulster or even a Nippy in person then you can surely tell a home grown variant. !
Wasif bhai in that era cars were almost nearly hand made/or atleast assembled. It should not be very difficult to replicate a ulster. The toughest part is to find the meters for an Ulster, they were different from the regular Austin ones.

In fact someone on the forum as promised to build me one in the near future.I am myself looking for a Austin 7 chassis to build a replica Ulster.
Old 28th June 2012, 12:20   #10

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Wasif bhai in that era cars were almost nearly hand made/or atleast assembled. It should not be very difficult to replicate a ulster. The toughest part is to find the meters for an Ulster, they were different from the regular Austin ones.

In fact someone on the forum as promised to build me one in the near future.I am myself looking for a Austin 7 chassis to build a replica Ulster.
Sure but the suspension on the Ulster is way different from the standard 7 and hard to replicate exactly !
Old 30th June 2012, 16:21   #11

While I don't know what exactly makes a Nippy or an Ulster, here is a boat tail Austin 7 from a large collection that attended an event in Pune in 1993. I do not know if this was a locally built car or original, but either ways it looks very cool!

Austin Nippy in India?-austin04.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-austin05.jpg
Old 3rd July 2012, 11:14   #12

Well, Here is the story, after inputs from members on the forum about Nippy in India, I had become very sceptical about finding an original nippy in India, so started some inquiries and some detective work, apparently the car in question is built on baby seven, was sold by some Mr. saleem from Rampur to Mr. Kamal Khan of Bareilly, many members might be aware that Mr. Kamal Khan restored many cars and developed a few roadsters.

After recieveing this information we pressed the owner for picture , but he still refused, and told us that the car carries an 'ULSTER' plate and the same is mentioned in the car's RC.

what is surprising is that the car turned into an Ulster from A Nippy in a matter of minutes, people be aware as this car is in New Delhi and is not an original Nippy/Ulster or a Boattail.

@ karlosdeville, many thanks for the superb picture, was this car at any time owned by Mr. Zaheer Vakil ?

This is how a Nippy would look, the sceond image is that of an Ulster
Austin Nippy in India?-austin_7_nippy_193423429.jpg  

Last edited by KartikeyaL : 3rd July 2012 at 11:27. Reason: adding pictures
Old 8th July 2012, 18:53   #13

I just remembered a similar discussion before.

TBHP Unidentified Cars Post # 299:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post2710513

Austin Nippy in India?-austin-nippy.jpg
travancore is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2012, 20:08   #14
KPS

Originally Posted by travancore View Post
I just remembered a similar discussion before.
TBHP Unidentified Cars Post # 299:
I would still believe this car which was in Hyderabad is unidentified as it has a final chain drive and is a two cylinder car. This car is very basic in nature and seems to be more of an Indian adventure

Austin Nippy in India?-image254.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image255.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image257.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image259.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image261.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image262.jpg

Austin Nippy in India?-image265.jpg

Over to the experts.

KPS
Old 9th July 2012, 09:54   #15

I recollect a discussion abiut this faux Nippy moving from Hyderabad to Bangalore sometime last yeare here on one of the threads.

The car is a 'hybrid" using Austin 7 Wheels a DKW Twin Engine and a fabricated body made by the late Babu Bhai or old city Jeep replica fame !

It started life as a DKW but the original body fell apart long ago and this experimental was created

Last edited by wasif : 9th July 2012 at 09:55.
wasif is offline   (1) Thanks