Team-BHP - My '32 Austin 7
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Pre-War (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/pre-war/)
-   -   My '32 Austin 7 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/pre-war/45818-my-32-austin-7-a.html)

Hi you guys,
I have been lucky enough to acquire a 1932 Austin 7.Since i am completely new at restoring cars i was wondering if i could get any help through this forum.

A little bit about the car:
1)It was being used until a year back though very sparingly.
2)As it's been parked in a sea facing building for the past 12 years it has a few rust spots.But it's nothing that cannot be repaired.
3)The seats have been removed and are kept safely.

Things i need help with:
1)Which is the ideal workshop to go to in order to restore the car.
2)Which part of the car do i begin work on.
3)Does anyone have any useful information on this car.
4)Is this a viable project.

Awaiting your replies.
Thanks

Sid

Quote:

Originally Posted by sid_04 (Post 978139)
Hi you guys,
I have been lucky enough to acquire a 1932 Austin 7.Since i am completely new at restoring cars i was wondering if i could get any help through this forum.

Sid,

Firstly congratulations and celebrations.

Quote:

Things i need help with:
1)Which is the ideal workshop to go to in order to restore the car.

Maybe some Mumbaikar T-BHPians would help you. Dont trust an unknown local garage. Any known authorised service centres would help you with the Tinkering and Painting.

As far as the engine is concerned, you need to search for some old time mechanic.

Chrome parts- Get them out of the vehicle, and get them chromed yourself.

Quote:

2)Which part of the car do i begin work on.
a) Firstly start with careful dismantling of few parts from the car , like the meters, the door handles, Headlights, indicators, hub caps, spare wheel etc.

b) Next down the engine and gear box. retain the old wiring for reference with the new one.