Team-BHP > Road Safety

Old 23rd January 2024, 14:49   #31

Re: Motorists use ‘illegal’ apps to skirt interceptor vehicles and speed cameras on Mumbai-Pune Eway

Gah, when I glanced the headline I presumed that there are some apps available that can "hack" either into the e-Chalan system or *gasp* hack into the speed cameras!

Waze (and its equivalent app showing crowdsourced info) is so ... well to put it mildly, so 2010: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/gadge...rtphone-3.html (Waze - Free satellite navigation for your smartphone)
Old 23rd January 2024, 15:39   #32

Re: Motorists use ‘illegal’ apps to skirt interceptor vehicles and speed cameras on Mumbai-Pune Eway

The article quite clearly spells out the motive. It is for generation of revenue, and not for safety and security of us tax payers.
I have seen traffic police clicking pictures of parked vehicles outside a renowned theater in Mumbai at 2 AM. In the same city, at a posh locality where the chief minister's official residence is, politicians and babus park their cars right under the NO PARKING signage during peak hours of evening traffic. At 2 AM at night I am pretty sure no one is getting inconvenienced but in the evening, everyone using that road is getting inconvenienced.
Rules are to be followed by everyone, but in India it's only to be followed by the common folk, the powerful flout the same and get away with it.
BHPjunkie is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 15:40   #33

Originally Posted by DasAuto1985 View Post
In EU countries, many years back at least, there were sign boards in roads that there are cameras ahead. I felt this was stupid and told so to a local guy, that the drivers would slow down and wouldn't get caught. He said "but that's the purpose of cameras right, for them to slow down, not for them to get caught".

The local was bang on with the logic.
Fuldagap is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 17:55   #34

These apps are simply a public forum/collection of information. Wouldn't a ban count as censorship technically?
UNSC117 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 20:06   #35

In my opinion, the police need to focus more on ensuring road safety rather than getting too caught up in hitting fine collection targets. Governments and lawmakers should lean towards initiatives that genuinely enhance overall road safety, instead of solely relying on fines.

Here's a random thought: What if the government implements speed tracking using the mParivahan app that integrates into Android Auto/CarPlay? At least this would potentially reduce costs and make the system fairer and highways much safer?
da3mn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 21:20   #36

Originally Posted by da3mn View Post
In my opinion, the police need to focus more on ensuring road safety rather than getting too caught up in hitting fine collection targets. Governments and lawmakers should lean towards initiatives that genuinely enhance overall road safety, instead of solely relying on fines.

Here's a random thought: What if the government implements speed tracking using the mParivahan app that integrates into Android Auto/CarPlay? At least this would potentially reduce costs and make the system fairer and highways much safer?
Why don't we add the Fastag account to this also? Before you know it, you would've broken the randomly placed speed limits in the most unlikely stretch and you wouldn't have a penny to pay at the next toll booth.

Enforcing speed limits is not fine for safety but only for fine collection. Prove me wrong.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th January 2024 at 08:50. Reason: Minor typos
Turbohead is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 21:43   #37

I have been using RADAR & LASER DETECTORS in my vehicles for almost ten years now. They beep and flash lights when approaching any functional camera, whether fixed or aimed from a police vehicle. They also show the type of radar wavelength, and whether approaching or fading.

Due to the use of this gadget I have probably saved thousands, possibly lakhs, on speed chalans. Moreover, they react only to working cameras, so a defunct camera will raise no alarm. This facility came to good use after the supercyclone that hit West Bengal on 20 May 2020, during the first Covid lockdown. Most cameras went out of order even though attached to poles on the roads, and some have not been restored even now. So even though you see a camera but the detector does not warn you, you know that it is not working, and can speed by !

A 50 or even 60 kmph limit can be a pain to maintain on newer and broader roads which are not congested, especially when coming down flyovers.

Why worry, when my Whistler is there ? Cobra, Uniden, Escorts are some other reputed brands.
SnakemanJohny is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 23:17   #38

Why don't we just petition Google to display the speed limit on the stretch of the road where we are? The law abiding citizens can choose to just follow it, maybe even integrate it with the car's ADAS system also. We will never have to worry about cameras again.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th January 2024 at 08:51. Reason: Typos and punctuation.
SedateGuy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 23:27   #39

I am sure this is going to ruffle feathers but the Govt. and our citizens are both blame worthy in this case. Without the speed cameras and the steep fines no one would have bothered to follow the speed limit. I have seen scores of two wheeler riders who wear the helmet as soon as they see a cop. They don't wear the helmet for their safety rather to save the fine.

Unfortunately, just like its citizens the Govt. also isn't really bothered about the safety but more about its collections. Speed cameras are easy money, so when the collection goes down it hurts them the most.

Both situations are really sad, but true.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 24th January 2024 at 08:52. Reason: Spacing for better readability.
Maverick1977 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 01:17   #40

The cops / government don't seem to realise the objective ! In Kerala, the speed limits of a road can vary quickly and I doubt there is ample signage to show the speeds or rather with the risk of 2-lanes, no drivers possibly look away from the road. I use Radarbot and it clearly calls out the speed limits as well and I happily oblige.

In a 5 km stretch, the limits vary from 90 - 80 - 70 - 40 kmph (in some cases). How do they expect the driver to maintain such variations is crazy to me.

If they ever try to ban these apps, I hope someone forces them to install multiple speed limits boards every few metres - this can't be always to penalize the drivers with the sole aiming to fill the coffers.
swiftnfurious is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 08:28   #41

Originally Posted by SnakemanJohny View Post
Why worry, when my Whistler is there ? Cobra, Uniden, Escorts are some other reputed brands.
OT: Are these available in India? I had once searched for such a device and couldn’t find results.

This seems like the most reliable option because Radarbot etc does not work well in all regions in India. For example, in the Solapur to Pune highway, Radarbot kept showing all CCTV cameras (mounted on those high mast poles) as speed cams when there is no possibility they can be (they were those dome shaped tiny cameras). Since Radarbot is user generated, there is a lot of false positives and missing data as well.

In any case, as many have opined, banning these apps is definitely a frustrated reaction, not at all well intentioned. Stop handing out driving licence like they are gift coupons, can the govt start there please?
krishnakumar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 09:18   #42

Infractions: 0/2 (12)

New speed camera & radar busting system. 100% GUARANTEED, no app, no gadget, no gizmo needed, no need to take your eyes off the road, free to anyone.

LINK HERE : "Just obey the speed limit"

Last edited by GTO : 26th January 2024 at 10:53. Reason: Funny :). Just removing ALL CAPITALS
Redex is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 09:33   #43

Bit of an ALT view...
I don't get it, what is the objective of the cops? To fine drivers or to control speeding. If the apps help people slow down, then they're doing the work of the cops. Just increase the number of cameras. And lo behold your work is done! I feel the cops have a very corporate idea of achieving 'targets'.
They should be promoting these apps.
jazzrockz is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th January 2024, 10:22   #44

A lot of these cameras are kept in accident prone areas, if these apps alert users to slow down wouldn't that be reducing the accidents? Isn't that a good thing? I'm not sure what the intention of the law makers are, the safety of the citizens or to fine them and make a quick buck? Last day a friend of mine got fined Rs.1500 for driving at 64 kmph on NH, apparently 60 is the speed limit for bikes in Kerala.
Old 24th January 2024, 12:08   #45

Originally Posted by V0rtex View Post
I'm not sure what the intention of the law makers are, the safety of the citizens or to fine them and make a quick buck?
I'm not sure why you are not sure what the intention of the law makers are. Take a look at Kerala's budget estimates for 2023-24.

There is a revenue estimate of Rs. 360 Crore from the police department. Of that, Rs. 115 Crore (~32%) is expected under the head "Fine Amounts Collected through Digital Traffic Offense Compounding e-Challan System".
binand is online now   (3) Thanks