Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th April 2024, 21:03   #91
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: USA: Baltimore bridge collapses after cargo ship crashes into it

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosjam View Post
I don't think it can be called "ascertained", more like it is assumed, basis the above mentioned article. Just because alarms were blaring on some refrigerated containers, doesn't automatically point out to power issues..
Within an hour of this accident happening there where videos on the Internet where you can clearly see the every single light on the entire ship going out, being resorted and going out permanently.

As a former chief engineer I can guarantee you that means you have a major problem on your power supply generation and power grid. If you see all the light on a commercial vessel going off, whilst underway, I would say there is 99,9999% chance it is having a major electrical power issue. If they remain out, it is most likely a total black out.

Here we see all lights going out and being restored quite quickly. That suggest some major load shedding and orr tripping of at least one of the generators. (They would have had multiple generators online). When the power is lost for the second time, all lights remain out permanently.

Irrespective, I agree we need to wait for the formal report on what actually happened and why. If I would have to take a bet, I would say they had a problem with synchronisation between generators. One of them dropped off line, the remaining ones should have been able to take over, maybe with some load shedding. They did pick up all load by the looks of it. If it had done any load shedding, some if not most of the deck lights would not have come back on, but the navigation lights would have.

It all took place in too short a space it appears for the emergency generator to kick in.

It will be very interesting to see what happened here.

Jeroen