Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 8th November 2020, 00:46   #1

Mumbai - Nagpur - Raipur : Route Queries

I am planning to drive my Tata Tigor AMT from Mumbai to Raipur this week. I wanted few suggestions from the experienced members here.
@Moderators: I could not find a thread for this complete route, so I am creating this thread.
I have been driving for 10 years but don't have lot of long drives experience. The longest I have driven is 11 hours, but that was in US. I find the driving situations much different in India. I have driven my Tata Tigor from Mumbai to Shirdi (approx 5-6 hours drive).
It would be very helpful if experienced members can provide some suggestions.
Route: Time is not a constraint, I prioritize better road conditions and safety (e.g. less traffic, heavy vehicles). After reading through many posts of this forum, I found this to be the most suggested route (I live in Powai):
Mumbai-Nasik-Aurangabad-Jalna-Mehkar-Karanja-Amravati-Nagpur-Raipur
Can somebody suggest the current road and traffic conditions, especially the Jalna-Mehkar-Karanja stretch?

I am plan to take overnight break, possibly in Jalna or Mehkar (never been there), which approx half-way between Mumbai and Raipur. Is that a good idea?

Should I hire an outstation driver for the half the route (say up to Amravati) and then I can cover the last 8 hours by myself? This is an insistence from my family where I am going, but I do not prefer this.

My AMT car usually is comfortable and has good ground clearance, but it's no SUV. It's been driven only 5000km in last 2 years. If I stick to highways, do I need to worry about my car?

I little anxious as I have never driven for more than 20 hours by myself and insight from the members here would go a long way in planning my trip.
Look forward to your suggestions.
maksins is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2020, 09:59   #2
BHPian