Old 7th March 2006, 23:20   #1

Hyundai Elantra GT

A freind of mine is considering between Optra Royale, and Elantra GT. He wants to know how much FE can he expect from Elantra petrol and why is it soo cheap yet so loaded?
Old 7th March 2006, 23:22   #2

Pardon me but, what is the Elantra GT???
Old 7th March 2006, 23:24   #3

Its close to 7 lakh ex show room delhi, petrol engine, abs, airbags as standard along with a cd cassette player!
Old 7th March 2006, 23:34   #4

GT ? and just that?

whats the price diff b/w Optra Royale and Elantra GT

I would vote for Elantra as it would get atleast 10+ and I would be saving 1lac+ (?) over Optra
Old 7th March 2006, 23:48   #5

There's a model Elantra GT(P)....
but aseem are u sure its priced at 7lacs....the mags show it as 8.5lacs ex showroom
Old 7th March 2006, 23:58   #6
bhp

the price of 7 lakhs ex showroom is for the base model of elantra (p) which doesnt have abs as standard ... correct me if i am wrong
Old 8th March 2006, 02:17   #7

Originally Posted by jkdas
GT ? and just that?

whats the price diff b/w Optra Royale and Elantra GT

I would vote for Elantra as it would get atleast 10+ and I would be saving 1lac+ (?) over Optra
The royale comes at around 9.13.

The Elantra Petrol gives around 6,7kpl which is worst then Optra. Only the CRDi gives 10 which costs 1Lac more then the optra
Old 8th March 2006, 08:40   #8

the CRDi gives 13 in city with ac on and more than 14-15 on highway with ac on
Old 8th March 2006, 13:57   #9

hey guys - to add a bit the confusion

The base model of elantra is the GT - petrol. It does not have airbags or ABS !!! (or thats what hyundai's site says) minus a lot of leather, chrome, alloys, climate control etc. And its priced at 6.99L ex-showroom delhi.

see here

but when you compare elantra GT to Optra LS - it says GT has ABS and airbags - now i am confused.

btw - aseem, i think the FE of both the cars should be the same only - they are not known to be very efficient nor too much guzzling.

and elantra is cheaper as hyundai desperately wants a slice of the small market the optra 1.6 has been slowly gathering.
Old 8th March 2006, 14:31   #10

The GT does not have abs and airbags and no alloys too. Confirmed from the dealer.
Specs are same as in goldie's link.
I dont think they updated the info on the comparo (it might be the older gt)
Old 8th March 2006, 15:27   #11

Isn't Optra 1.6 (VGIS) more fuel efficient? If company claims it as 12kmpl, it should be somewhere close to 10?