Team-BHP - Resale value of Skoda RS

-   Sedans (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/)
-   -   Resale value of Skoda RS (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/16042-resale-value-skoda-rs.html)

I just joined this site today and am looking forward to some great times dicsussing cars. Would appreciate some advice though. I currently own a Ford Ikon SXI (Nov 2003, 30K KM) and am looking to upgrade to a Skoda RS. I heard that the RS has a low resale value. Is that true? Also what is a reasonable price for my Ikon?

rambono5

Well, there really arent too many RS' around to check the resale value on. The few that I heard of went in the 9 lac region.

You might do well to check out the 1.8 rider too. They have a terribly resale value (due to the lack of RS jazz) and 1 year old pieces go for 7.xx lacs.

Welcome aboard!

Considering a brand new Rs costs in the range for 15 odd, a one year old car at 9 lakhs is a great deal as usually a car depreciates by around 25% in the first year. funny part being i have never seen a used one up for sale yet.

manson.

Petrol Skodas just dont do well in the used car market. Its probably because of the stigma of the previous 2.0 petrol versions, or that the diesel is so good.

yea probably, but the 1.8 tpi engines are a different ball game altogther compared to the 2.0 liter engines.
whatever be the reason for bad resale, its just picture perfect for an enthusiast who can't shell out for a brand new one :)

manson.

It is also not issue of petrol vs diesel. It is also that skodas are extremely high cost maintenance cars. That is why diesel model is selling 95% of all skodas, so people derive the economy in 2/3 years and then do not care. For petrol, only corolla and now civic.

Just came across a year old black RS for sale for 9.75 in Mumbai.

hey guys.. a person was selling me his skoda 2.0 elegance 2002 for 5.25 last year.. that shows the kind of resale skodas have..

The 2.0 petrol engine Skoda has terrible resale value. No secret on that. Remember, the only reason Skoda succeeded in India is because of the terrific 1.9TDi.

However, the low resale of the RS means good things for us enthusiasts!

http://www.carwale.com/Used/CarDetails.aspx?car=D4972

Hey thanks folks. Great to get so many replies. Guess I'll still end up buying the RS.

I hear that Autobahn has 5 2005 Skoda RS for sale. Anyone interested from Mumbay may want to check it out.

Knowing the history of Autobahn and how they are very "experienced" in repairing crashed RS's, I'd be very careful before buying one from them. Make sure you check their insurance history.

Check out ACI, i've seen a few RS's up for sale in it.

Originally Posted by Rtech
Knowing the history of Autobahn and how they are very "experienced" in repairing crashed RS's, I'd be very careful before buying one from them. Make sure you check their insurance history.

Crashed RSs! Is it some common problem with RS? RS was launched in 2004, how many cars have crashed so far?