Team-BHP - ford fusion v/s old honda city v/s Lancer 1.8 AT

-   Sedans (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/)
-   -   ford fusion v/s old honda city v/s Lancer 1.8 AT (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/17627-ford-fusion-v-s-old-honda-city-v-s-lancer-1-8-a.html)

Hi guys,
need big time help here.. i am selling off my old honda city 1.5 (type II and nothing to beat it) and am in process of finalising next car.. i got following options .. pls help me in deciding

2003 old Honda City genuine 42K km - 4.25 lacs (decent as per guj standard)
New Ford Fusion - 6.5 lacs on road (i like the looks of it)
Lancer AT Lxi1.8 BS-II - 7.5 lacs on road here in ahmedabad (plastic all inside but dealer says its amazing engine)

my driving is more on highways and almost touches 3000 Km in a month of self driving.. fuel efficiency and maintenance is criteria but then status also has to be considered..

PS: pls do not suggest diesel variants as i like only Elantra crdi and its off my budget. :)

your help shall be highly appreciated.

Coming from Honda city which is a Jap car, you should try for ford fusion as its an American car. It will be a different kind of ownership experience.

Go ahead with Honda city only if its any other dealer than Landmark Honda. Its sux big time. I have seen atleast 4 horror stories in my group dealing with the dealer.

OTHERWISE A 1.8 INVECS AT 7.5 ON-ROAD IS A PRETTY GOOD DEAL. yOU CAN ALSO ASK FOR MORE SUCH AS 14" ALLOYS PLUS SPOILER AT NO COST.

Where in gujarat are you situated?
Did you talk to Autonova Mitsubishi for lancer invecs? I can tryto help you here.

For Ford Dealers in Ahmedabad are average to slightly good and you wont have much trouble.

^^ Hey Deavarshi84,
Any idea how good is the 1.8 Invecs ? I am also seriously thinking of that car.
@ Pooshnark,Sorry to interrupt in your thread pal,but my question is kinda similar to yours.I hope you dont mind.

First of all the cons

1. Its outdated now
2. resale will be slightly less than average
3. many of the extras have been removed
4. 13" wheels not all recommended
5. plasticy interiors not upto the competition.
6. lag in the gearbox issues for some.

Pros

1. good price for the 1.8
2. the auto engine is one of the best at the price
3. Good ride and handling.
4. Rear a/c ducts help in standard cooling
5. It has been my experience that its maintainence free.
6. Lots of modification options
7. Fun to Drive.
8. Comfortable

Mr. Rishi Kapoor has one and gets around 10kmpl which is pretty good for an automatic. compared to NHC cvt, its quicker too. but CVT has better interiors and better resale.

test-drive the car and decide.

www.mitsubishi-motors.co.in
http://autocarindia.com/new/RoadTestDetails.asp?ID=1034

check out the details here. the dealer is J.Williams and co.

hi,
thanks devarshi, i am from rajkot.. and landmark honda is the dealer, to tell u the truth my experience has been good with people there.

i would like to know from people around.. i hear ford was launching fusion with tdci variant.. how far is that info correct ..cuz i could anyday wait fusion looks with tdci refinement..

coming back to lancer.. i hear it a euro ii version so would that create any trouble in future?.. also honestly i dont like the interiors, so what options does it have in open market? secondly, how much is average maintenance cost and fuel efficiency as i hear the automatic transmission takes hit on both counts..

finally.. i was kind of keen for 4.25 lacs second hand honda city 2003 model since my experience with honda has been amazing( 1.25 lacs km without ever stopping on highway - touchwood).

kindly help
thanks

ford fusion in a heart beat... black fusion with dark tints and nice 16" rims... ahh :)

Y are you looking at a OHC if you've already got one?

Instead, hang on to the OHC you have.

Shan2nu

Originally Posted by pooshnark
hi,
thanks devarshi, i am from rajkot.. and landmark honda is the dealer, to tell u the truth my experience has been good with people there.

i would like to know from people around.. i hear ford was launching fusion with tdci variant.. how far is that info correct ..cuz i could anyday wait fusion looks with tdci refinement..

coming back to lancer.. i hear it a euro ii version so would that create any trouble in future?.. also honestly i dont like the interiors, so what options does it have in open market? secondly, how much is average maintenance cost and fuel efficiency as i hear the automatic transmission takes hit on both counts..

finally.. i was kind of keen for 4.25 lacs second hand honda city 2003 model since my experience with honda has been amazing( 1.25 lacs km without ever stopping on highway - touchwood).

kindly help
thanks

Good to hear that Landmark Honda has a good reputation in Rajkot. In that case you can look at the Honda city.

Mitsubishi Lancer is the most modified car in India as far as I know and finding parts and accessories is not really a problem. You can get leather upholstery, steering and gear designs, wooden and metallic centre and a/c louvres etc etc. I am a fan of invecs and I find it the second best automatic after Honda civic. Fuel efficiency of 10kmpl is pretty good according to me and my 1.5 sfxi has been maintainence free thanks mainly to the care I have devoted to my car. Ask Rishi Kapoor (PM him) and he will guide you better than me coz he owns an invecs. Did the mitsubishi Dealer say that E-3 invecs are not available? In that case avoid the car.

Ford Fusion is a Big hatch. I actually love the new design more. Is more practical if you are ready to look at upto ford instead of looking down to it. but my information on the new fusion is limited.

And as always I will add, do take a test-drive to decide among the three.

Originally Posted by devarshi84
Did the mitsubishi Dealer say that E-3 invecs are not available? In that case avoid the car.

This is not correct, I own a BS-III Invecs purchased in Mar-Apr 06.

Originally Posted by devarshi84
Coming from Honda city which is a Jap car, you should try for ford fusion as its an American car. It will be a different kind of ownership experience.

The Fusion is about as much American as the Maruti 800! The Fusion is a product of Ford, Europe & is not sold in America. Ford, USA has absolutely no role in manufacturing or development of the car.

Originally Posted by iraghava
The Fusion is a product of Ford, Europe & is not sold in America.

actually, a Ford Fusion is sold in America - in sedan form. check it out here -> Ford Fusion - USA. ofcourse, this is a different car from the one sold in India & Europe.

Ford fusion is my choice.In fact this car was not introduced in right time and right price in India otherwise it would have been a hit.
It's a really nice car with optimum power and space.It will satisfy all your need.
U will feel the power in the High way and if you can afford a new car why go for a Used car.

Originally Posted by aah78
actually, a Ford Fusion is sold in America - in sedan form. check it out here -> Ford Fusion - USA. ofcourse, this is a different car from the one sold in India & Europe.

The American Fusion if I remember correctly is based on the Mazda 6 platform & also uses the 2.3 4-cylinder engine from the same as one of the options. It's a completely different platform with no co-relation to the European/Indian Fusion which is incidentally based on the new Fiesta platform & uses the same engines & running gear.

The only European Ford car sold as is in America is probably the previous-gen Focus. Apart from that most products are not carried over as is to either market albeit leaving out special products like the Ford GT.

The American Ford Fiesta may have been developed in the States, though not fully.

iraghava's correct - it has been designed & built for most markets by Ford Europe. The US model too.

Originally Posted by pooshnark
Hi guys,
need big time help here.. i am selling off my old honda city 1.5 (type II and nothing to beat it) and am in process of finalising next car.. i got following options .. pls help me in deciding

2003 old Honda City genuine 42K km - 4.25 lacs (decent as per guj standard)
New Ford Fusion - 6.5 lacs on road (i like the looks of it)
Lancer AT Lxi1.8 BS-II - 7.5 lacs on road here in ahmedabad (plastic all inside but dealer says its amazing engine)

my driving is more on highways and almost touches 3000 Km in a month of self driving.. fuel efficiency and maintenance is criteria but then status also has to be considered..

PS: pls do not suggest diesel variants as i like only Elantra crdi and its off my budget. :)

your help shall be highly appreciated.

As you like the elantra crdi check out the verna before you decide, it has got good power it comes almost near to your budget