Old 5th October 2006, 10:59   #1

I am getting a Lancer SFXi 2000 model, black for 2.90 lac, which has already done 1.4lac kms. It has got CNG and a DVD player with 2 screens.

I need it for a daily drive of around 80 kms.

Please suggest
Old 5th October 2006, 12:02   #2

Dude go for it. But, howz the condition of the car?
Old 5th October 2006, 13:53   #3

Just buy it..
make sure its in good condition anyways lancer 2000 had a good build quality and you are getting a sfxi model which is the topmost model in lancer.
Old 5th October 2006, 15:10   #4

Originally Posted by sandy_0281
I am getting a Lancer SFXi 2000 model, black for 2.90 lac, which has already done 1.4lac kms. It has got CNG and a DVD player with 2 screens.

I need it for a daily drive of around 80 kms.

Please suggest
i'd think again. it has been converted to CNG & run 1.4 lakh km (Could be more). and 2.90 l for such a lancer is too much. forget the dvd player & the 2 screens, they are just hogwash. what will you do when you face major repairs ? watch a dvd in the car ?? nope, think sensibly & take out the ICE from the equation & re consider the price.
Old 5th October 2006, 18:52   #5

get the details of service logs, from both the Service book and showroom where it would have been serviced, See the date of CNG installation, ICE system like mentioned is immaterial, First need is a good maintained car and happy engine conditions...Second is the Entertainment needs.
Since its a 1.4 Lakh KMs over in 6 yrs( My SFX-i is March 2001-65,600 Kms till date), You will need to get it checked out at a good workshop before you take the plunge, Suggest visit Excel Motors at Mathura Road, They are the best HM service center...and no nonsense types..! Good luck bhai..!
Old 5th October 2006, 19:09   #6

While the price is tempting, the engine has run close to its life cycle or more.

If possible avoid it. Very few cars at this stage run well.
Old 5th October 2006, 19:33   #7

Originally Posted by devarshi84
While the price is tempting, the engine has run close to its life cycle or more.

If possible avoid it. Very few cars at this stage run well.
Hey dude, its from devarshi84 (lancer boy) to keep away from this car, Its better to drop this deal
Old 5th October 2006, 20:54   #8

Has it got a new engine? DVD player? nothing(electronics) counts in second sale other than the car. don't even think about it unless it has new engine in the deal.
Old 6th October 2006, 01:23   #9

Dude, all u need is a new/rebuilt engine.
u can take this as an opportunity to get a 175bhp mivec engine(bolt-on). So,bargain stating the useless engine and ICE setup.
Or find a different car.There are LOADS of 'em.
Old 6th October 2006, 02:34   #10

lancer has always been a wonderful car. even today not many cars beat it in the looks department.

on the other hand the price also seems to b on the higher side. a 2.5 should b more like it. search a little more i m sure u can surely find a decent piece with much lesser mileage.
Old 6th October 2006, 06:58   #11

ha ha ha

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
what will you do when you face major repairs ? watch a dvd in the car ??
Lol.... , i ve no words to say... i am still laughing at this... dude, u got sence of humour !
Cheers !

Last edited by nevertouchme : 6th October 2006 at 06:59.
Old 6th October 2006, 09:39   #12

would it be a problem if you go for a palio 2002-2003 model?

It looks hot and is more powerful. Yeah but its a hatch and many will criticize

" bhaisahab, palio kyun li? yeh to petrol ka kua hai".

If sticking to lancer, look at a car which has done less than 75k atleast. certainly, the condition of the car holds more weightage than the odo. Just my 2 cents.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 6th October 2006 at 09:40.
Old 6th October 2006, 15:44   #13

more details of the car

CNG got installed only 3 months back, and for 5kg cng I drove it for 75 kms. Just not sure about how long the engine will support, as its a original one.
Old 6th October 2006, 15:49   #14

More details

DVD player is not a major deal, only i need mileage to run 80 kms. a day, you know delhi - gurgaon travel.
Is the maintenance of the car expensive, please suggest.
Old 6th October 2006, 16:38   #15

1.40 Lakc milage ??? Hmm if possible stay away from it.
Lancer with that milage and CNG kit should not be worth more than 1.80. the main factor being with CNG, the engine should be in its last legs.