Old 14th November 2006, 14:12   #16

Dude, 27K is too much.

I got it for 2 grand less, stuck on a set of michelins 194/r14/60's and BSA alloys, for all 5 wheels.
Old 14th November 2006, 14:29   #17

Originally Posted by Subbu
Dealer is quoting additonal Rs.27,000 for changing from stock rims / tyres to 185/65/R14 Tubeless + Alloys.
Who is the dealer? CARS India? Ask them if they are stark raving mad.. God knows how many people they try to cheat.
Old 14th November 2006, 15:25   #18

Originally Posted by Subbu
Also test drove a Fiesta 1.4. Engine felt much better. Ofcourse atleast 60k more in price. Interior definitely contemporary.

In a fix between Baleno and Fiesta.

Can Baleno owners advice me on the long term running cost. I did read many of the long term reports in this forum. Still some final advice will help. Thanks folks. Please keep this going.
First of all, you should not worry about the engine's acceleration from a standstill at 2nd gear.

In your situation , Baleno makes sense because

1) 5.9 Lakh is a nice bargain ( Remeber the same car used to cost 8+ lakhs when it was launched and still is a nice car except for the tail and interiors+ thin legs)
2) No worries of poor resale since you intend to keep the car for 5 to 6 years.
3) Good service network and relatively cheaper spares. Maruti guys seldom change engine specs and the spares would always be available.
4) Healthy No of T-BHPians own Balenos and they would help you out.

Stick to Baleno as...
Old 14th November 2006, 20:52   #19
GTS

Subbu...you could also try Khivraj Motors, Adyar. You want any help, please free to contact me, would be glad to help out as I bought a Baleno Lxi just about 2 months ago.

Rgds,
GTS
Old 14th November 2006, 23:43   #20

Originally Posted by spadival
Who is the dealer? CARS India? Ask them if they are stark raving mad.. God knows how many people they try to cheat.
I paid 25k for my exchange on the Baleno.. of course I went in for aftermarket League Hypersilver alloys that were about 3k more than the aura designs...!!
My setup :I changed from 165/80R13 Bridgestones (S248) to 185/65R14 Goodyear Eagle NCT5 tyres and 14" league alloys (www.league.com.tw) model lg194

Last edited by Buffetfan : 14th November 2006 at 23:44.
Old 15th November 2006, 13:57   #21

guys, its true that the Lxi's have been slow in getting off the production line....my office colleague has been trying to get one for the past one and a half months, cheque ready on hand and no dealer in Chennai has been able to get him one. Infact, the Regional Manager - South of MUL has declined to comment on how long it might take to get the car to him and has indicated that this was b'coz of piled up stocks of the Vxi.

Now my friend's weighing other options of cars that cost around 5.85 lacs (ex-showroom)
Old 15th November 2006, 20:05   #22
GTS

I spoke to a dealer whom I got acquainted with during my hunt for the Baleno and he said there is ONE Silky Silver Baleno Lxi which could be got around 5.8L. Interested persons could pm me.

Rgds
GTS
Old 15th November 2006, 21:06   #23

So no good discounts on Baleno then?
Old 23rd November 2006, 16:39   #24

Looks like the news about the new Baleno has some substance afterall.

A person I know works as a supervisor at Kapico Maruti (dealer) and I was checking with him about the new cars to come. He mentioned the new Zen and the new Baleno. He said that they got videos of the new Baleno from MUL and that it was entirely different from the existing Baleno in looks. So looks like it will be the model whose pics we have on this thread (SX-4 based).

I just hope they have an interesting interior and all the safety features in place in this model (ABS, airbags etc). Or at the least have a Zxi model with those features.

Now lets see the fireworks go off in the C segment, with the NHC, Fiesta, Aveo, Verna and the new Baleno.

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 23rd November 2006 at 16:40.
Old 23rd November 2006, 18:10   #25

GTS... thanks. I could not contact you since the site was closed fo maintenance. I have finalized the Baleno with a total discount of 60k. Dealers were not willing to provide more since very few cars were for sale. Will write in detail later. Had to do a bit of running around to get the car.
Old 23rd November 2006, 19:10   #26

@subbu, what's the on-road price that you got ?
Old 23rd November 2006, 19:25   #27

I closed it for 5.82 (discount of 62k) + keyless entry.

They are quoting addl 27k for alloy and 185/65/R14 Tubeless. It is beyond my budget.

I am thinking of upgrading to 185/65/R14 Radial with Steel Rims. Works out to addl 9k.
Old 24th November 2006, 15:20   #28

Originally Posted by Subbu View Post
I closed it for 5.82 (discount of 62k) + keyless entry.

They are quoting addl 27k for alloy and 185/65/R14 Tubeless. It is beyond my budget.

I am thinking of upgrading to 185/65/R14 Radial with Steel Rims. Works out to addl 9k.

Rs 9000/- is about 40% extra. I sw.itched to 195/60 r14 Goodyear eagle F1 (See my garage) for Rs 6000/- in BLR where things are more expensive than Chennai. The 185/65 R14 must be Goodyear NCT 5 which are cheaper than Eagle F1's should not cost you more than 5000/- for the exchange.

Alloys should cost you not more than 14-14.5K. Normally the whole bundle alloys and Tyres can be negotiated to 20k at any accessory store.

I would think you should contact Nitreous, Supreme or other Chennai T-Bhpians for guidance.

Last edited by islandman : 24th November 2006 at 15:22.
Old 24th November 2006, 17:38   #29

Baleno Guru's in Chennai....

My enquiries for Alloys / Tubeless in Chennai is going on Roller Coaster. Contacted two dealers.

Dealer 1 (Lal & Co) - Alloys (HR) Rs.21,000 + Tyres Rs.19,000 (195/60 - Goodyear).

Dealer 2 (Majestic Tyres) - Alloys (Impoprted) Rs.17,000 + Tyres Rs.16,500 (185/65 Goodyear F1).

Khivraj (Maruti Dealer) is willing to take the 5 set of tyres and rims for Rs.6000.

I am not convinced I am getting the right deal from these dealers. Can you please advice on pricing and the best place to buy in Chennai.

I am taking delivery of my car coming Thursday.
Old 24th November 2006, 23:03   #30

Originally Posted by Subbu View Post

Khivraj (Maruti Dealer) is willing to take the 5 set of tyres and rims for Rs.6000.

I got Rs.2400 per tyre(stock S248) in exchange to Potenza GIII rubber