Old 14th January 2019, 11:36   #16

Re: The most reliable sub-10 lakh car?

My first thought was Ecosport too if it fits your budget. High seating, good safety standards, and a well-built vehicle.

In general, I think Honda and Hyundai vehicle fare better than its peers when it comes to NVH. An i20/ Amaze with airbags could be a safe, reliable cabin to be in.

Unpopular opinion, but my experience with Toyota twins hasn't been good. Probably the trust factor comes from Innova's success but Etios/ Liva just haven't been built in the same way.
Old 14th January 2019, 11:45   #17

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
In my experience, if absolute reliability is what you are looking for, you need to eliminate diesel and look at a NA petrol because it is a far less complicated drive-train with far more predictable amounts of stress on other components, then the vehicle needs to be as basic as possible. Testimony of that would be my 15 year old WagonR which has done nearly 2 lac kms and has never ever been pampered infact it has dealt with some major abuse throughout its life and received very little attention in terms of maintenance and I still have no idea if it will give up on us anytime soon it seems ready to go for another 15 years perhaps.
\)
Even I would vouch for NA petrols. My WagonR has completed 17.5 years and 95000 kms on the odo. It's been an epitome of reliability. Still drives like new, except for the trademark dashboard rattles. My wife, son, daughter and daughter-in-law have learnt driving on it. Imagine the abuse of a newbie driver!

Another reliable car in my garage is the Fiesta 1.6. It's 11 years old and has been very reliable. it still drives like new, and not a single rattle! However, it had its AC evaporator coil replaced when it was 8 years old, but that's not something that would affect its image of reliability.

Last edited by vnabhi : 14th January 2019 at 11:46.
vnabhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2019, 21:09   #18

The Wagon R is indeed an interesting addition from this discussion. It's simplicity plus ruggedness probably makes it a top candidate for the ultimate reliability champion!
McLaren Rulez is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2019, 21:53   #19

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post
The Wagon R is indeed an interesting addition from this discussion. It's simplicity plus ruggedness probably makes it a top candidate for the ultimate reliability champion!
I am also an owner of 7 year old wagon R and can vouch for the reliability. In these 7 years of ownership never was stranded even once, never had a puncture while on road and no rattles either.
Only regular service was enough to get it going.

The battery too refused to give up and I changed it proactively at 6 years.
I thought it had suspension problems but it turned out to be old tyres becoming hard, changing them to Michelin improved ride quality and car felt better than new as the apollo tyres were hard and noisy.

But I would still not recommended to buy it, reason being you will get much safer cars in your budjet even if you plan to drive it in city.
I am really not confident of the bulid quality and it feels nervous beyond 80 kmph.

Last edited by born_free : 14th January 2019 at 22:06.
born_free is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2019, 07:28   #20

I agree with GTO that the word reliability has lost its meaning in today's car market except may be a handful of brands maybe. Hardly any car in our market is going to leave you stranded on the road, if the regular service schedule is adhered to.

Second, I feel if a car is doing well in the cab market, that does speak for its reliability. But the opposite might not be true as stated by few here. A badly kept, abused taxi may not have anything to do with the car but just how the driver drives and maintains it. I have seen cab drivers treat speed bumps and potholes with utter disregard and such cars would naturally need more aggressive services and part replacements, which these chaps don't do.
Old 15th January 2019, 19:47   #21

At this moment, if reliability is the only concern with a budget of 10 lac rupees, i will pick up the Toyota Yaris J MT. The Etios twins are too old to be considered now. It already looked dated when it was launched.

Last edited by Samba : 15th January 2019 at 19:48.
Samba is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2019, 21:47   #22

2 yrs, 49k on the odo, Brezza has been niggle free. With its ground clearance, easily takes on roads of all sorts. On the mileage front too, easily gives 20+ on the highways.
Old 15th January 2019, 22:46   #23

My initial thought when I saw the title of the thread was "Toyota Etios". I've never owned one, but our regular taxi guy has. He had an Etios which he drove for 2 lac km. Always serviced at the ASS. After the said 2 lac km, he proactively changed his car - to a new Etios!

I've also got a doctor friend of mine who owns a 2011 Etios which he has driven for 1.53 lac km. I got an opportunity to drive the car last week - it drove well!

Cab drivers are not the only set of people who have been impressed by the Toyota reliability, as per a quick Google search!

I guess these are the category of vehicles which undergo the maximum abuse! The fact that the terrorists have chosen Toyota as their official vehicle tells a lot about their RELIABILITY!!
The most reliable sub-10 lakh car?-screenshot_20190115215924.jpg  

Last edited by Geo_Ipe : 15th January 2019 at 22:53.
Old 16th January 2019, 13:35   #24

Originally Posted by McLaren Rulez View Post

I am interested in a vehicle that is a true fill it, shut it, forget it type of car. Regular services and nothing else.
I can definitely say Etios Petrol is a fill it, shut it, forget it type of a car, since I own one. Mine is a 2011 year VX model and I am the third owner on the books (technically the second, as the real second owner had it for a month or so before he immigrated to Australia). I bought it in 2014 and this year in May I will complete 5 years with the car. In these 4.5 years I have used it as a second city car with the rare out-station trip. Since I bought it, the odometer has moved from 19XXX kms to about 48XXX currently. The highlight of the ownership has been the ultra low maintenance needs and costs. It makes an annual visit to the Toyota dealer in the month of May with service costs of about Rs 3.5-Rs 4k. Apart from that, I have, since I bought the car changed all the tyres once. I would say its a poor mans Toyota Corolla (although I feel so odd saying that).

Even after serving me so well, I treat it as a step-child. When I got a new car-play enabled system for the Innova, I moved the 6 year old screen type Panasonic system to the Etios...replacing the Toyota unit - I regretted doing it. I lost the steering controls but gained a screen while reversing and bluetooth phone control in the process (more important for me). Similarly I moved the dash-cam and the parking sensor to the Etios after they were replaced with newer and swankier devices in the Innova. Net - net, its just the car I need, or like how you described - fill it, shut it and forget it.

Last edited by rrsteer : 16th January 2019 at 13:42. Reason: Grammatical errors
rrsteer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th January 2019, 14:09   #25

For the 10 lakh segment category - the word "reliability" has evolved so much (rightfully so) in the Indian context over the past so many years.
Earlier, this was solely/majorly looked at from a "kitna deti hai?" perspective. Higher the mileage, better it is. The car "athleticism" was thrown in the well.
Next came the reliability wave of mechanical engineering - build, suspension set up etc.
This was probably followed by paying attention to some more details - interiors, dashboard, trims etc.
And the list is endless!

Today, fortunately for the customer, the competition is so brutal that you cannot expect any manufacturer to NOT consider the above as hygiene factors.

My pick for the most reliable car would be the current-gen Swift, since it ticks every box that you know of, and then some more. It has proved its mettle in terms of age and the last 2 generations have also added the zing to it, thus making it a "reliable and fun" car to own and drive in the sub-10 lakh segment.
JoshMachine is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2019, 00:56   #26

Surprised to see a popular cars like Swift or i20 don't have a lot of following here. Both these cars have great interiors and have reliable engines with a wide ASS network. They have to be among the top 5.
Old 30th September 2019, 20:55   #27

Under 10 lakhs there is no brand other than Maruti which can meet all your requirement.

Maruti Suzuki Petrol Manual in Swift, Dzire and Wagon R are the most reliable cars. They can outlive you if you maintain them as per the company given instructions.

Toyota Liva and Etios are other two which can outlive you but then with their current iteration, Toyota may stop them without bringing any further generations. Whereas, Swift and Dzire shall continue for another century (seems like true)

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com