Old 23rd July 2007, 20:06   #1

Guys Urgent advise..esp Petra D owners. Edit: Now booked Indigo Marina

Guys from my last thread I had finalised Indigo MARINA LX DICOR which is costing me 6.10 L OTR after discounts. The other car I was looking at was the PETRA 1.9D which was costing me 5.85 + free Insurance.
Today evening the FIAT dealer called me and offerred me the car @ 5.30 + free insurance + registeration.
Please help me deciede now....
All Petra D owners please advise and guide me with specific ref to the following :
1. Ride quality expecially over broken tarmac and highways & rear seat comfort.
2. FE, overall and city/highway.
3. Availablity of spares.
4. Service at Samyak Autos in Delhi (for delhi based gents)
5. Service of a FIAT D car at Tata dealerships.

Please urgent help needed as I need to finalise the deal at the soonest.
but if some of you who know both cars closely a comparitive pros n cons of both would help me a long way.

Last edited by aah78 : 25th July 2007 at 22:18. Reason: extra smileys removed. please limit smiley usage as mentioned in Announcements.
Old 23rd July 2007, 23:16   #2

Petra is still available?

I thought it was discontinued. Sure he isn't pushing the old stock he has?

EDIT: Check FIAT india site, petra has been discontinued.
Old 23rd July 2007, 23:37   #3

BARGAIN and get a good price bcoz thats old stock hes trying to sell you. Good car
Old 24th July 2007, 09:32   #4

Samyak is good. Service is reasonable at Tata dealers. But stay away from the Petra D being offered. It is in all probability a very old piece.
Old 24th July 2007, 09:36   #5

The Marina DICOR @ 6.1 is what id go for.
Old 24th July 2007, 09:50   #6

He says it would be a June production vehicle as the manufacturing has been stopped after June 07. What are the FE figures for Petra D. I think he will come down to 5 Lacs or something. What do you think should be the optimum price in case I decide to go in for it?
Old 25th July 2007, 22:08   #7

It might be June 2006 production Petra. Visit him and Check for manufacture date of the car he is selling you.

Petra is great mid size sedan. very strong for sure. Since I am 6ft I found its small for me otheriwse I would have baught one.

Ravi.
Old 25th July 2007, 22:46   #8

Hi ..
Petra D is out of production , TATA would service the vechile but spares will be a problem in some time ....

Being a hard core fan of FIAT and owning one ......i would say......stay away... not worth it ....

Abhishek
Old 25th July 2007, 23:23   #9

The car in the same class of Petra D is Indigo TDi. Similar performance etc.,
That will set you back(LX) by around 5.50 on road in Delhi.
So the Petra at 5.3 is not a good deal.
If he can offer you petra at 4.5L on road go for it, otherwise not worth it.
Anyways see the piece and check seatbelts for manufacturing date.
Also pray that you don't need any spares
Old 25th July 2007, 23:28   #10

Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
He says it would be a June production vehicle as the manufacturing has been stopped after June 07. What are the FE figures for Petra D. I think he will come down to 5 Lacs or something. What do you think should be the optimum price in case I decide to go in for it?
It can't be June 2007. Open the bonnet and find the VIN plate on the car. It has a mm-yyyy stamped on it. If it is is A-06 It is January 2006, B-06 February 2006. Since he mentions it to be June-07, it should have a F-07 stamp on the VIN plate. The FE of the Petra is good and I can vouch for it.

If I were you I would offer him 4 lakhs . Because at that price you don't hurt your resale.

Anyways see the piece and check seatbelts for manufacturing date.
No Tanveer, the seat belts are not always indicators of manufacturing month of the vehicle because my car was manufactured in July2006 but the date on the seatbelts is somewhere around 2005.

EDIT: Further questions answered:

1. Ride quality expecially over broken tarmac and highways & rear seat comfort.
Very good. Glides over rough tarmac and highway control is amazing.

2. FE, overall and city/highway.
Should return atleast 13kmpl with A/C in city and more than 16 on highways.

3. Availablity of spares.
Pathetic!. Regular service spares are available.

4. Service at Samyak Autos in Delhi (for delhi based gents)
No Idea.

5. Service of a FIAT D car at Tata dealerships.
Available with basic service spares. Not sure about your side of India.

Unless you get the car for anything between 4 and 4.5 lakhs ON Road. Don't consider it.

The Marina is a good package.

Last edited by moralfibre : 25th July 2007 at 23:33.
Old 25th July 2007, 23:48   #11

the petra is now out o production which means that the resale(whatever little bit it had) will surely go down, and also, spares could be a problem and fiat service is hopeless(dunno after the tata episode) and u'l be getting an old car, god knows what it has gone through, may have been given for TD even!!1 So, i'd advice you to go for the marina, which seems to be a better deal...
Old 29th July 2007, 23:21   #12

Thanks guys. I have booked a Marina LX Dicor. Will get the car by next Sunday as they didnot have the colour I wanted (GREY).
I appreciate all your comments. Mods can please close the thread now if they deem fit. Will post a Owner Experience asap after I get the car.
Old 30th July 2007, 00:30   #13

Note from mod: thread closed