Old 13th August 2007, 21:35   #16

Thanks everyone for all your inputs! So I guess Getz or Aveo UVA should fit me well! I have decided TD these and then take a decision.

Thanks once again!

regards,
Praveen
Old 14th August 2007, 06:49   #17

Please dont constrain urself by TD-ing only these 2 cars.
TD-ing the following also will help you compare the drive experience the pros and cons of each of the cars.

1) Palio Stile (both 1.1 and 1.6)
2) Spark
3) Indica
4) Swift

IMPO, TD-ing diff cars was the best part of the "Buying a Car" experience.
Old 14th August 2007, 12:40   #18

Given your requirement that the car should be comfortable to be driven around in (when you're off overseas) the usual hatches (read Santro et al) are ruled out. The remaining options are Swift Vdi, Getz 1.3 and Fusion TDCi.

Swift: Mostly a good car, but built flimsy and pricey spares. Also you'll need to check out the space at the back, but it has good (i.e. comfy) suspension. Even the highly economical diesel is well within your budget.

Getz: No diesel option, but loads of space and decent performance in both city and highway. However, I wasn't all too impressed by its suspension i.e. ride quality - it has a sharp edge to it, and even expansion joints are felt hard.

Ford Fusion TDCi: My recommendation, although I'm not sure this will fall within your budget (given that it satisfies the Govt. small car norms, I expect it to be cheaper). Other that this, the car perfectly fits your bill - it is hugely spacious, comfortable, very economical to run and also a good car to drive, when you're driving it yourself.

Do take a test drive of all of these and make your choice.
Old 14th August 2007, 18:55   #19

Originally Posted by Praveen79 View Post
But only when saw one on road realized it was way too big for a newbie.
if you like the car, this should not hold you back. you can master a relatively bigger car in a month, especially if it's your daily driver.

try to learn in an older car though.
Old 16th August 2007, 10:53   #20

Here is what i feel based on what i understand is your requirement.

If you dont need a boot and want to save some money from your original budget. Try out the Aveo-Uva and the Getz Prime which i would rate in the same order.

If you want a good boot and some good space and dont mind some small quality issues go for the Indigo Marina. I think its a good vehicle if at all you can live with a TATA. It will give you decent mileage and low maintainence costs and loads of space inside as well as in the boot. Personally i feel this is the best one for you if you dont mind the niggling issues that come with a TATA vehicle.

If you can spend more, if you want to enjoy driving and if you want enough andmore space strictly for four, try the fusion petrol or diesel.
Old 16th August 2007, 11:54   #21

Thanks guys for the inputs...still evaluating options!

Tuesday had been to Advaith hyundai to checkout Getz. I couldnt testdrive as I reached pretty late in the evening...the salesperson is quoting 5.6 L for GLS and 6.09 L for GLX. Only discount is some 7K off. I read in ACI etc that some finance companies were offering 3-4% payout as well. Strangely I am not getting it.

The salesperson told the Getz model available now was new and launched in April this year. Is this true? She claimed I would get 12kmpl on city. Find it difficult to belive (given most ppl seem to get 10-11 atmost)..Anyways leg space was good but not great. But good thing abt this car was I culd slip into the seat easily due to higher clearance compared to other cars where I need to crawl and then adjust.

Also the sales person wanted me to take GLS only as she claims ABS is only useful if the driver drives beyond 120kmph..is this true?

Planning to check out UVA today.
Old 16th August 2007, 12:33   #22

Originally Posted by Praveen79 View Post
Thanks guys for the inputs...still evaluating options!

Also the sales person wanted me to take GLS only as she claims ABS is only useful if the driver drives beyond 120kmph..is this true?

Planning to check out UVA today.
The imminent danger if the wheels lock up is greater at higher speeds, but technically it can happen at speeds much lower than 120kph, esp. in wet conditions. That said, it is true that abs is more relevant to higher speeds.
Old 16th August 2007, 19:39   #23

and if you have a good car, let's ASSUME you will take it to the limits at times, and go for ABS.
Old 25th August 2007, 10:12   #24

Want a Petrol car below Rs. 6 lakh OTR in Rajasthan.

The Car must be a 3 box car. Will be mainly used for ferreting employees around the City. Will be sometimes used by us. Some highway use too, but not much. Show room price upto 5 lakh or so.

Would prefer local service in Ajmer. Dealers only for Maruti, Hyundai, Tata, (I think Ford has a service center).

Shortlisted:

Ikon
Esteem
Indigo
Accent
Suggest Any other??

Which will be the best?
Old 6th September 2007, 21:07   #25

Booked Get GLS

Hi guys!

Finally decided upon Getz GLS. I checked out UVA too...but somehow my hear seem to have set on this car!

OTR was about 5.7 Lacs at Advaith Hyundai. Dint get much discount execpt some door mats, free remote lock, corp discount and teflon polish! ..that too because the sale guy was known to my uncle!

Had chosen lot of acceasories as well:
* Blaupunkt MP3 players
* 3M sunfilms
* Reverse parking sensors
* car covers

Chosen Real Earth color. Went to the yard today for a pre-registration check. Car had 27 km in odo (is this high? )

regards,
Praveen
Old 6th September 2007, 22:57   #26

congrats man. Its a good choice. Do drive safe.
Old 11th September 2007, 12:25   #27

Wanted to get some inputs regarding Ford Fusion.

Since I intend to do some long drives around 400km+ each way, maybe once in 3 months covering some stretches of 'not so good/pothole ridden' roads. Looking at a vehicle that is more of a go-between of a City Car and an SUV.

Any inputs on the maintinance costs etc ? Currently I have been owning a Santro for the past 3 yrs.

Ford Fusion seemed right in the sense that, its not Bulky like other SUV's when it comes to city parking etc.. + not quite as expensive as the upper end SUV's.

Ches
Old 11th September 2007, 17:25   #28

The Ford Fusion is a jack of all trades and master of none. Go for the SX4 if you can afford it as it has good suspension and Ground Clearance and Maruti service is a lot better.
Old 26th September 2007, 14:49   #29

hey thanks for the tip ..
But I dont like the looks of SX4, and the rear seating is extremely uncomfortable. The boot runs right into the base of the rear seat which forces you to sit with your legs inclined.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com