Team-BHP - Ford Ikon Flair or Diesel vehicle (VDI/Logan-DLX)

-   Sedans (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/)
-   -   Ford Ikon Flair or Diesel vehicle (VDI/Logan-DLX) (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans/28600-ford-ikon-flair-diesel-vehicle-vdi-logan-dlx.html)

:confused: Hi Guys,

I have been deliberating of buying a new car from past 3 months. Presently I own a Wagon R LXi (a 2002 model).

My bro is leaving to Dubai permanently (on job) and he is selling his Ikon (Flair) which is 2004 Model and run around 12K kms. The vehicle is excellent condition single hand use. The FE is around 10kmpl inside city.

I was planning to buy a diesel vehicle in 4th quarter this year (mostly swift-VDI/Logal-DLX). Now that he is leaving (in Oct-07), should I opt for his ikon ?? I have a concern if I buy his ikon as the FE is around 10kmpl. As you guys know that the petrol prices is going to increase in due course, would you suggest me putting in a LPG kit as i'am very much concerned about the FE of Ikon. My monthly running is around 800-1000 kms both city & highway comboined.

One more thing is if I sell off my WagonR, I will get around 2.2L and my brother is selling his Ikon to me at 2.4L. On the other hand, if I buy a new vehicle I will be investing around 3L extra. But if I buy his Ikon, I will be investing 20K approx.

I want the suggestions only on the above and pls do not suggest to try out other cars as I cannot think of any other petrol driven vehicles.

Thanks in advance.........

I suggest you buy Logan, If you bargain hard you will get discount on Logan may be free insurance or 20,000 rs cash discount. I am sure this is the right time for Mahindra to start giving discounts on Logan to push its sales. Neither Ikon nor Swift can beat Logan.

This thread itself shows so many issues with Swift its not worth car anymore. Ikon is not good choice compared with Logan D.

So Logan is best choice for you.

Ravi.

The Ikon makes a lot of sense since you would be putting in just 20k and getting a car which is maintained very well. I would suggest you opt for the Ikon and save those 3L for a bigger car in the future.

I would say to go for Icon.
As it was in your family and seen since 1st day of purchase, it will be g8 buy.
As you said, you are saving 3 lakhs, then calculate the fuel you can buy and see when you will come to break even.

Considering the above choices you have Ikon seems the best bet, as it saves 3 lakhs, however if the Ikon choice at 20k was non existant, then I would have strongly recomended the Logan.

10kmpl thats a good FE. Your getting a car for just 20,000/- i guess you should take it with your eyes closed. A good well maintained ikon will last you a life time.You can also opt for the cng/lpg conversion for your ikon since you would be saving 3L.

snaronikar, since the amount you would be investing in the Flair as such is not very much, it does make sense. You can always go in for a bigger car later. As for the FE of 10 kmpl, depends upon driving style, conditions, as well as A/C usage. It can be pushed up to around the 12-13 kmpl mark depending upon the above conditions.

Among the other choices you have listed, if I were you, i would go in for the Swift D over the Logan.

Go for the Ikon and Invest the 3 lakhs that you save. The interest from 3 lakhs will compensate for the FE of Ikon.

Originally Posted by BUSA (Post 558275)
The Ikon makes a lot of sense since you would be putting in just 20k and getting a car which is maintained very well. I would suggest you opt for the Ikon and save those 3L for a bigger car in the future.

I agree with busa here, your getting a car in 20k.(Guess what EMIs!!!!:) )
biggest problem occurs while buying a used car is that you dont know the owner,
how he has maintained the car?
was he rash driver?
is the car clean?
legal issues?
and car has just done 12k so it is really good idea, according to one of discussion we are having here, says that a car actually performs better after 15k (but i dont whether the time frame matters that much or not because the car is 2004 model.

it totally depends on your driving style what mileage you get from your car.
i manage 12 kmpl from my ikon in city driving.

i would suggest to stick with ikon you will enjoy it , it has some years left on it.later on you can go for bigger car.

Thanks guys for your suggestions......I think I will go with Ikon. How about the resale value of the same down the line maybe 3 years later??? Any ideas.......

Ford Ikon is the best deal for you. However, since you are concerned about the FW, you will have to spend about 20% more on fuel on the Ikon.

Stick to the Ikon. If FE is a big issue, invest a little bit and go in for the LPG option. Its worth it.

I too would suggest the flair. I too own one and its a gem of a vehicle. As for FE it depends on a lot of factors. When my mom drives it she get 10 and when I am using it i never get less than 11.5.
You cant help but fall in love with the power of rocam, and you need not be a maths viz to figure out what all options you have with the 3L you save :)

Originally Posted by snaronikar (Post 559274)
Thanks guys for your suggestions......I think I will go with Ikon. How about the resale value of the same down the line maybe 3 years later??? Any ideas.......

you are worried over the resale value on your investment of 20 k..:)

but seriously only the time will tell because you never know what will happen to the ikon as a product 3 years down the line.it has already moved out from the major showrooms and 1.4 fiesta has taken its place.

it has already got a low resale value. i think around 1.25 lacs.

I need assistance for below:
1) Does anybody in Bangalore guide me where I can fit in LPG for Ford Ikon? Address /contact person etc.

2) What makes are approved by RTO for Ford Ikon Oct-04 car? I check up ARAI list and could not make out.....

3) What could be the cost in BAngalore for kit and installation?