Old 20th November 2007, 14:14   #1

Indigo XL

Hi Folks,

Few days back, I visited TATA showroom for Indigo XL. My friend is looking for car with good rear leg room. Indigo looks Okay but could not make any TD for Petrol car. If we have any Indigo XL Petro/ Diesel owners, please help. Is there any new version expected? Currently Indigo Classic is available at 5.6 Lac OTR - Petrol.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:22   #2

Originally Posted by mrkanitkar View Post
Hi Folks,

Few days back, I visited TATA showroom for Indigo XL. My friend is looking for car with good rear leg room. Indigo looks Okay but could not make any TD for Petrol car. If we have any Indigo XL Petro/ Diesel owners, please help. Is there any new version expected? Currently Indigo Classic is available at 5.6 Lac OTR - Petrol.
Sorry if it sounds OT but if you are looking for a petrol car, IMO Ford Ikon has the most comfortable rear seat in the segment.
Ask your friend to consider it if he has not decided on the Indigo.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:31   #3

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Sorry if it sounds OT but if you are looking for a petrol car, IMO Ford Ikon has the most comfortable rear seat in the segment.
Ask your friend to consider it if he has not decided on the Indigo.
But does it have enough leg room as compared to Indigo XL ??
Old 20th November 2007, 14:34   #4

hi suraj

the indigo xl is a very good car comfort and space wise.. but i would suggest you to take the diesel variant as the resale would be better.. the petrol one imo will have very less resale.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:42   #5

Guess the price you quoted is for XL Classic which is worth. Grand has a 17k cash discount now which makes it 8.05OTR here at Tvm. Classic is 1.25lac less. I doubt if any car can beat XL regarding its rear space and it comes with the Dicor engine.

Ikon sure has comfy rears,but its time to ignore it.

Last edited by jkdas : 20th November 2007 at 14:43.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:48   #6

Suraj,
Do not even think of going to Petrol cars with Tatas. They are really bad with petrol engines. If it is diesel then it is OK. Indigo has good back space. It is meant for Chauffer driven.

As well as Ford Ikon has good space at back. I have the ikon.
Old 20th November 2007, 14:59   #7

His daily run would be 30 KMS only. Will Diesel a good option for that?
I will ask about ford but will it be badly costly for A.S.S. than Indigo?
I am just wondering if TATA comes with new version of Indigo XL in Jan 08. If they come then should one wait till Jan 08? Any idea? Is TATA changing Petrol engine from TATA to FIAT? Does 5.6 Lac looks attractive/ VFM in this segment?
Old 20th November 2007, 15:22   #8

Indigo is no doubt a VFM. Yes, Ford *** is little costlier when compared to MSIL and Tata. But the Engine is pretty cool. As far as Indigo is concerned, Tata are planning to launch a new version of Indigo in 2008 (maybe in 1st qtr). But if you want to buy a tata vehicle..buy only diesel as they are good in diesel engines/cars.
Old 20th November 2007, 15:27   #9

Originally Posted by surajs View Post
But does it have enough leg room as compared to Indigo XL ??
Definately comparable. I bought the Ikon only for rear seat comfort.
Old 20th November 2007, 21:26   #10

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Definately comparable. I bought the Ikon only for rear seat comfort.

hey bud,

dont mind but the indigo xl has more leg place than my sonata, i had an ikon so am def sure the xl has far more place than it,

if ur talking about just the rear seat comfort,then that's the diff issue.
Old 20th November 2007, 21:52   #11

Originally Posted by aadix View Post
hey bud,

dont mind but the indigo xl has more leg place than my sonata, i had an ikon so am def sure the xl has far more place than it,

if ur talking about just the rear seat comfort,then that's the diff issue.

Right, I was talking of the comfort actually. Come to think of, you are right. The XL will have more room but the Ikon rear seat too is very comfortable.
Old 20th November 2007, 22:01   #12

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
Indigo is no doubt a VFM. Yes, Ford *** is little costlier when compared to MSIL and Tata. But the Engine is pretty cool. As far as Indigo is concerned, Tata are planning to launch a new version of Indigo in 2008 (maybe in 1st qtr). But if you want to buy a tata vehicle..buy only diesel as they are good in diesel engines/cars.
If TATA will lauch new Indigo in 2008 then, waiting for that would make more sence. BTW, any idea how Indigo XL is selling?

Thank you guys for your quick help.
Old 20th November 2007, 23:39   #13

Visited the tata showroom today to check out indica turbo. They have already got brochures for the new variant which is due they say in a couple of months. Indica with abs + airbags! So i guess the new indigo should be out around the same time as well.

Last edited by rohan_fonseca : 20th November 2007 at 23:41.
Old 20th November 2007, 23:59   #14

Airbags and ABS version is already released

As for the XL, it has the most comfortable car seat south side of 20 lakhs.
Other than that, its a very ordinary car.
The petrol engine is supposedly 100bhp DOHC, but never driven it.
Old 21st November 2007, 00:29   #15

Airbags and ABS version is already released

As for the XL, it has the most comfortable car seat south side of 20 lakhs.
Other than that, its a very ordinary car.
The petrol engine is supposedly 100bhp DOHC, but never driven it.
ABS and airbags on the indigo or indica?