Old 31st March 2008, 09:50   #1

Used car for 3-3.5L - Help!!!

Hi Guy's

Needs your help quickly. i am planning to buy a used car around 3-3.5 L.
I have narrowed down to the below models. but am damn confused about which one to go for. Every one of these machines are fantastic, but they all have their pros and cons. i know that i can ask all the people around me and yet get no useful suggestions. Please let your valuable inputs on which one to go for.

At that proce range my favourite models would be

1) Honda city (OHC) 1.5
2) Accent Viva (1.6 DOHC)
3) Baleno
4) Ikon 1.6 Nxt
5) Lancer (may not buy it since i heard the cost of ownership is too high)
6) Swift

Help me out guys..i am really confused..All these models are available in Blore, also do let me know what are their fair prices...

Shanker
Old 4th April 2008, 00:18   #2

Hi Guys! I too have a similar question....However i too have considered the same cars mentioned above except for the Swift. My priorities are comfort, power, low maintenance. Your advice is greatly appreciated.

Old 4th April 2008, 00:34   #3

OHC Vtec (if you can get one for that price) or the OHC 1.5 or at least the Lancer. That would be my preferred choice, if none of the above, then the Baleno.
Old 4th April 2008, 00:39   #4

You will definately get a OHC vtec in 3 laks. I know of one OHC VTEC for sale in mumbai and the asking price is 2.80-3.00.
Old 4th April 2008, 00:43   #5

The prices are on a higher side in Bangalore compared to other cities.

When I was searching for car, I could find OHC and Baleno in decent condition in Used Car showrooms around 4.5 lakhs. If you contact seller directly you should get it around 4 lakhs.

My choice would be OHC VTec, OHC 1.5, Baleno and Lancer in the given order.

You are right about Lancer. If you get a poorly maintained one, the maintenance cost would be high. The parts are reliable, but costly.

Last edited by PatienceWins : 4th April 2008 at 00:45.
Old 4th April 2008, 01:02   #6

Lancer then Baleno would be my choice. OHC Ruled out in Bangalore in that price range.

OHC is treated very highly in the used car market here. You could try lancer though. Would find one in that price range.
Old 4th April 2008, 08:34   #7

Thanks for your reply guys...but it is extremely difficult to find a OHC VTEC in blore under that range..also regarding baleno..you cannot find one under 3 lac bcoz most of the sales of baleno started only after 2004-2005..and all of them will cost more than 4.5, i would love to narrow down to baleno..Baleno lovers..can you suggest me a good price for a 2002-2005 model in blore??
Old 4th April 2008, 18:47   #8

I would suggest a Second hand Getz 1.3 in that Price(if you get one). I follow A Rule of thumb when i buy second hands go for second hand sedans if you have budget b/w 4.5 to 5. If below that then only go for Hatch Backs ONLY. Since the sedan that you'll get will be quite high on ODO in tht price thus leading to huge cost of maintanance in a very near future. Think about it, you know as they say 'dikhawo pe na jao aapni aakal lagao'.
Old 4th April 2008, 18:58   #9

Originally Posted by GTA View Post
You will definately get a OHC vtec in 3 laks. I know of one OHC VTEC for sale in mumbai and the asking price is 2.80-3.00.
Dude PM me if its really worth dad does not have a car now days,so i'll give my Getz to him and take the OHC
Old 4th April 2008, 19:24   #10

Originally Posted by shock View Post
regarding baleno..you cannot find one under 3 lac bcoz most of the sales of baleno started only after 2004-2005..
2003 Baleno costs 3.25 (Mumbai regn) at true value so you should be able to get it under 3L if you buy directly from buyer.

Car Details
Old 5th April 2008, 11:09   #11

I would suggest OHC VTEC !!! AMAZING CAR !!
Old 8th April 2008, 10:02   #12

OHC. no second choice
Old 8th May 2008, 15:52   #13

How about Hyundai Sonata for that same price range?
This is not a suggestion but a genuine question. (Considering I am not too much concerned about Fuel consumption)
Old 8th May 2008, 17:40   #14

Yeah. OHC (any), then Baleno/Lancer.
Old 8th May 2008, 17:43   #15

MOD ALERT

One more thread for this!

Last edited by bblost : 8th May 2008 at 17:43. Reason: alert