Old 23rd August 2008, 14:32   #1

Buying a 1998 Honda City Advise Needed

Hi am posting on behalf of my brother whos in Chandigarh, he is offered a 1998 Honda City 1.3 for 1.50lakhs which happens to be his bosses car, the details are as follows -

1. Model - Honds City 1.3
2. Year - 1998
3. Color - Blue
4. KMS done - 90k
5. Repairs done - Total repaint, New Tyres Leather seats, Timeing belt replaced.

Ps. Sony System with good speakers also installed.

want to know how good a City is and also if its the correct price that he is offered.
Old 23rd August 2008, 16:02   #2

Thats too much to ask for
a 10 year old car for 1.5 lakhs. I dont think so.

Better try for cars in around 2002-2003
Old 25th August 2008, 01:09   #3

Honda city 99 model

In Chennai we have got a Honda city 99 model for only Rs.50K. Ned to mention the RTO code it 09 and the registration no is 9999 . We know the prevvious owner very well. The condition was worse. It is given for total body tinkering and painting and engine overhauling :-( So expecting a bill around 2 lacs

Last edited by TeddyBear : 25th August 2008 at 01:10.
Old 25th August 2008, 09:36   #4

Hey, i think the car is not properly kept by the owner.
Better stay away from it and ask your brother to look out for a second hand Esteem,if he wants a sedan in this price range.
90K on the ODO means that major repairs gonna come soon.
Also 1.5 lakhs is too much considering this Honda is 3 generations old.
Old 25th August 2008, 10:22   #5

A 10 year old car brings with it quite a few baggage. Clutch, Suspension, AC, Alternator etc etc.
Old 25th August 2008, 12:13   #6

This car should have around 75K price tag. 1.50 lacs is wayyy too much
Old 25th August 2008, 12:56   #7

Thanks to all, who advised me. after reading your inputs I have told the honda car owner a big NO.

I may go for a brand new Indica Vista(Petrol).
Once again Thanks to all...