Old 24th June 2005, 17:18   #16

Since she is new to driving, I would suggest that she get an auto Santro for a few years to polish her driving and then move onto a bigger car.
Old 24th June 2005, 17:52   #17

Well, she knows driving a manual, but maybe an AT would be better. What we are looking for is a nice car, very easy to drive thats it. Power, mileage not considered much. And yea it shuld be comfy too.
Old 24th June 2005, 18:05   #18

i would recommend the NHC cvt gxi,its the easiest car to drive around the city and is decently comfy and then its not too big.
Old 24th June 2005, 18:31   #19

yeah...for fresh cars...NHC CVT Gxi.....and u can always look for bigger cars in the used market....

optra..i wont suggest...reason...read the review section dude..

how about fusion??
Old 24th June 2005, 18:48   #20

do u think an OHC AT will b available in used car market???..
Hey Burnt Rubber,

I dont know about the other cities in India but yes in Mumbai I have actually seen more OHC ATs than the manuals. And decent and well maintained ones are usually up for sale. OHC ATs are extremely reliable as are the manuals and are a good buy in the used car market

Dippy
Old 24th June 2005, 19:11   #21

yea..i agree..honda rules when it comes to engine technology and gearbox stuff...

OHC AT ..go for it...
Old 24th June 2005, 20:35   #22

so i guess the Honda City CVT or a used OHC AT would be good..?!
Old 24th June 2005, 21:36   #23

I would suggest the NHC,Swift or the Optra 1.6....depends on her style of driving....is she a rugged kinda drive or a simple kinda driver?? But looking at the traffic around I think she would be better with a Swift or the NHC than an Optra.
Old 24th June 2005, 22:03   #24

so i guess the Honda City CVT or a used OHC AT would be good..?!
Absolutely buddy. Go for it

Dippy
Old 25th June 2005, 13:55   #25

guys just checked out a OHC 1.5 today. Manual, dark grey colour. Done about 30k kms. Its got leather seats a decent music sys...And now the price, 4.5 lacs. Is it too much??
Old 25th June 2005, 14:06   #26

Originally Posted by karthik247
guys just checked out a OHC 1.5 today. Manual, dark grey colour. Done about 30k kms. Its got leather seats a decent music sys...And now the price, 4.5 lacs. Is it too much??
which year is it ? ..4.5 is quite a bit considering the fact that the last of TYPE 2 City;s rolled out in 2002 ..

dont let the fancy accessories be the reason for such big price quote ..
Old 26th June 2005, 09:39   #27

Originally Posted by karthik247
hey guys. My sis is plannin to get a new car. She's looking for sumtin small and easy to drive. What car would u think would be best for city driving, comming under 10lacs??
hey i think lancer invex is also a good option but i dont know its price exactly. the invex has got a triptronic gearbox which has both automatic and manual so when you want some fun then you can shift from automatic to manual . correct me guys if i m wrong
Old 26th June 2005, 11:14   #28

The lancer invex was terrible over priced when it was introduced into the market. It retailed for 11 lakhs which is too much for lancer. Also the quality has gone down big time with poor quality plastics and rattly dashboard. Its fin to drive but then at 11 lakhs one does expect more. And you wont find a used invex either since it didnt really sell.

A Honda is a better option IMO

Dippy
Old 26th June 2005, 11:16   #29

the OHC is in pretty neat conditions, only the price seems to be the problem. What do u guys say, is it a good price??
Old 26th June 2005, 13:44   #30

Originally Posted by Dippy
The lancer invex was terrible over priced when it was introduced into the market. It retailed for 11 lakhs which is too much for lancer. Also the quality has gone down big time with poor quality plastics and rattly dashboard. Its fin to drive but then at 11 lakhs one does expect more. And you wont find a used invex either since it didnt really sell.

A Honda is a better option IMO

Dippy
i never knew it was so expensive anyways i love that triptronic feature of the invex and love the looks of lancer but its priced too high. then i would prefer the optra 1.6
p.s do the optras have automatic transmission

Last edited by kooldude : 26th June 2005 at 13:56.