Old 12th January 2006, 16:29   #1

Best Indian Diesel

Hi Guys which would be the best Indian diesel (under 10lakhs) to roam the urban grind at Mumbai and the weekend trip to Pune for a software yuppie who would like to mod his steed for performance ?
Old 12th January 2006, 16:38   #2

Accent CRDi, that would be the best bet. Check out drifters car.
Fiesta is slow and will be sluggish too.
Old 12th January 2006, 17:41   #3

Originally Posted by BUSA
Fiesta is slow and will be sluggish too.
Not slow at all. Take a test drive. For city use, its ideal. Infact much better than Honda city, as far as city driving is concerned.
For exclusive highway driving, its the Accent.
Old 12th January 2006, 19:01   #4

Budget is 10 lacks, So in performance segment you have
1. Elantra crdi, the performance king
2. Accent Crdi
3. Toyota Innova(If you dont mind a van)

With this budget I would take the elantra, however if you want to spend less get accent, though its cramped inside and uncomfortable if you are 6 feet +
ford fiesta is a good option too but on the highway its sluggish and even indi turbos will beat you to the ton. In city its amazing because of its low end torque
Old 12th January 2006, 19:14   #5

No competition for the Hyundais. Elantra or Accent? Depends on your budget and the on road price where you are making the purchase. Not too much idea about the Fiesta. The Indigos are good but do not give that feel of a good fit and finish.
Old 12th January 2006, 20:02   #6

The Elantra CRDi is the one you would want and it's safe too.
The Ford Fiesta is basically a better car then the accent but lack the vital performance part which it makes up in terms of safety.
Old 12th January 2006, 20:50   #7

Hyundai Elantra Crdi would be ideal. It's got loads of safety features, good interiors, plush ride and not bad in performance either.

You're basically getting a Tucson spec engine for a much lesser price.

Shan2nu
Old 12th January 2006, 21:58   #8

Originally Posted by goswami.j
Hi Guys which would be the best Indian diesel (under 10lakhs) to roam the urban grind at Mumbai and the weekend trip to Pune for a software yuppie who would like to mod his steed for performance ?
Hyundai Elantra CRDi with Pete's box, or if the yuppie doesnt have a family Accent CRDi with Pete's box.

Perhaps the Scorpio CRDe too, but I'm not sure if thats the right vehicle for your Mumbai-Pune expressway.
Old 13th January 2006, 09:51   #9

Thanks guys.. Elantra CRDI it will be...

Steeroid --- Yuppie does have a wife ; Scorpio = Executive , unsuitable

TSK1979 -- Well I am slightly over 6' ; would hate to be overtaken by the indi tourbos!!
Old 13th January 2006, 11:09   #10

indigo is good. particularly worth looking at is the SX variant.
Old 13th January 2006, 11:18   #11

Indigo SX is useless for him unless he plans to drive sitting in the back seat.
Thats good only for driver driven cars
Old 13th January 2006, 11:24   #12

if u have 10lk with u, sincere suggestion... get more 50,000 and buy the Elantra diesel! the best u can get for ur money ever!

and if u got more 5,000/- then put in a K&N Air filter! for even more peppier engine. and if u got more 36,000/- then go for the ultimate Pete's tuning box! and after that, go meditate in the ghats of lonavla! thinkin of the wonderful purchase u jus made!
Old 13th January 2006, 17:16   #13

If looking for diesel sedan with performance and safety, and over 6ft tall, with budget around 10L then Elantra it is.

Great choice!

Provided better half likes it

But then, I'm biased
Old 13th January 2006, 18:17   #14

since u also want to mod ur car ...i feel the accent crdi will fit ...

but if i had 10 lakhs and was looking for a diesel car i wud have bought the elantra crdi or the innova....

the other day ...the same day that my 2 tires got damaged ...saw an innova and a terracan racing on the NH48 ....the terracan guy was finidng it difficult to stay away frothe toyota ...i was not racing with them but as it was my 140 stretch i was keeping up with them ...i wastching them from my RVM
Old 13th January 2006, 23:48   #15

Originally Posted by speedsatya
the other day ...the same day that my 2 tires got damaged ...saw an innova and a terracan racing on the NH48 ....the terracan guy was finidng it difficult to stay away frothe toyota ...i was not racing with them but as it was my 140 stretch i was keeping up with them ...i wastching them from my RVM

If u were watching them race in your RVM then i dont find any reason to buy any of those 10lac cars and find a zen easily cruising in front of u...

SS: what happened to your tyres...??