Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th November 2006, 00:39   #1

Chances of finding a job?

Hello everyone i am new to teamBHP. I recently graduated from Kings college, University of London in Computer Science with a 2:1 classification. I have been living in London since the age of 12 but i want to live in India. I just wanted to ask you guys if i would be able to find a decent job as in IT consultant preferably in India? I have 1 year of work experience working as a business analysts for a local company in London. I ask this question because one guy told me he wouldnt recruit a british graduate simply because they do not work as hard as their peers in india.
Old 6th November 2006, 09:50   #2
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by v2006
. I ask this question because one guy told me he wouldnt recruit a british graduate simply because they do not work as hard as their peers in india.
Take your time on this. Get about three years experience and then look around unless you are in a bad situation. there is no such perception except in some small firms. but remember working culture is different, one needs to follow up and push to get things done and not expect things to merely happen
Old 6th November 2006, 12:03   #3
Senior - BHPian

WHile I am not completely answering your question, the biggest problem you will face is not finding a job but meet your expectations.
Old 7th November 2006, 03:39   #4

Anyone else that could give me some advice, especially if you are in the IT field yourself?
Old 7th November 2006, 09:55   #5
BHPian

Get 3 years of experience minimum with add on certifications in your consulting field.
If yours is a 3yr degree you wont even be treated at par with basic ENGG. graduates from indian institutes.
There is a long way to go in terms of getting exposure and strong qualification credentials before coming down to India and getting a job.