Team-BHP > Shifting gears

Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2017, 14:32   #1
BHPian

Setting up a sound system for a club?

Hi Bhpians!
I am opening up a micro brewery in Kolkata in a couple of months and it would be of great help if the audiophiles from the forum could help me in deciding a sound for my place .
The carpet area of the place is around 4000 sq feet located in 13th floor . We are planning to build a glass ceiling and glass walls with 16ft of height .
The sound system which I have shortlisted till now are .
Yamaha DBR12 or DBR15 powered speakers .
I haven't thought of anything else . Mackie was also an option but I liked the clarity and depth of Yamaha . I have only heard the DBR15 .
Please help me choose suitable mixer and other equipments. Any other speaker would also not be an issue .
Also is there a way to soundproof using glass or other materials .
I am a total newbie in this .
Old 13th August 2017, 16:38   #2
BHPian

Just one input, check out Turbo Sound speakers as well, they're really good from what I've experienced. Have had people opting for those over any and recommending those.
Also, for the crossovers you could check out Lake. I'm not into this, but someone I know who set up something similar gave me a lot of information on how these are bad boys!
Old 13th August 2017, 17:06   #3
BHPian

re: Setting up a sound system for a club?

Hi Petroheadd.. A good starting point would be to figure out what the application would be like:

- A system just for music playback (off a PC or some other source)
- Music playback courtesy an in house D.J.
- A system that could handle a band on certain nights and a D.J. as well
- And lastly what kind of volume levels your looking at in your brew pub