Team-BHP - Driving License Lost / Damaged. What to do?

-   Shifting gears (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/)
-   -   Driving License Lost / Damaged. What to do? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/30605-driving-license-lost-damaged-what-do-3.html)

Duplicate Licence is issued in case of loss, theft,or on mutilation

We recommend you to keep the photocopy of your licence safe, particulars of licence noted with you so that you may not face troubles in case of loss/theft. It would be easier to locate about your licence particulars from the record. If you can not provide the particulars it is advisable to go ahead for fresh licence instead of duplicate of licence.

Q. What is the procedure to get a duplicate licence?

As: You will require :For duplicate licence you have to approach the issuing authority and the particulars will be verified from their records. The validity of duplicate licence will be the same of your previous licence. The original issuing authority will issue your duplicate licence.

If your licence is lost and expired by more than 6 months your case requires permission from Head Quarter of Transport Department.

Source: transport.delhigovt.nic.in

Thanks for the great info. Panky. Will do the needful right away.

deeps here in chennai we usually take the assistance of driving schools to complete any formalties at RTO since its less of a hassle. not sure if the practice is still around.

Ditto.

I have lost my license as well. I have a single photocopy of the liscence in a very mutilated form. The scan has been uploaded to email account as well. I have the lisence no: but i am too lazy to get a duplicate liscence. I got the original liscence from a driving school. Thinking of contacting them to oissue a duplicate.

Getting an FIR for the lost liscence, that seems hard. What is the proceedure for getting an FIR? Dont we have to put it in the paper or something, stating that the same has been lost and if any one has seen it please return it or something to that effect?

Should not be hard at all! in the mutilated copy do you have the number of your driving license busy. Give the license number, say your pocket was picked and lodge an FIR.

The procedure is quite simple. Either get a duplicate copy which would require some proof. The other way (as I did in Feb 07) was

Go to a driving school and fix up the whole procedure for around Rs. 1100-1200. For that, you will require to spend 1 hr to get a learner's licence (the driving school will manage your tests and ensure that you spend minimal time). Then get the licence permanent after 1-6 mths (that will also be ensured byt driving school) and should take 1 hr.

Sad but this is the way RTO's work in Delhi. I had an Ashok Vihar licence (of 1996) and preferred to get a new licence from Mayur Vihar (near to my place) than go to Ashok Vihar.

are yaar vasudeva, why all the hassels when you can get FIR FOC and license @ Rs. 90 + 2 hrs. I must tell you that there is no need to go in for any tout (driving school etc), procedures are pretty straight forward and they would charge you only for the ignorance.

Yes of course they charge you for the ignorance and perhaps time saved. In 2002, I got the duplicate licence thru the normal procedure only. But, for my convenience and time saved, I got a new licence this time. Trust me, while there is a payment involved, I did save some time and hassles (PS: I am not a tout!)

Originally Posted by vasudeva (Post 611186)
(PS: I am not a tout!)

Come on! I know you are a gentleman! :)

I lost my license some days ago and would like to know how I can get another license. My problem is that I am now based in Goa while my license was issued by the Mumbai RTO (I used to stay in mumbai about 10 years ago and had my license made then).

I tried to get a new license made here in Goa but it seems that I can't get a license here as my domicile is not Goa (I shifted here 6 months ago, before that I was in Rajasthan).

I'd like to know what is the process to get another license from mumbai RTO. Do I have to come down to mumbai and file an FIR in some police station, apply for a new license and go through the whole process again or is there an easier way of renewing my license? Also do I need some documentation to prove that I am a resident of Mumbai because I don't live in Mumbai anymore (I shifted 7 years ago) and will not be able to provide any documentation that shows that I am a resident of Mumbai.

I am in bit of a hurry as I was planning to do a Goa-Himachal trip in a couple of weeks which won't be possible now without a license.

Any help would be appreciated.

Mods, if this thread belongs to a different forum, please do the needful as I couldn't find a relevant forum for this particular query.

I got my license in 1998 .as it is printed in a very poor quality paper and it is as a book here in kerala during that time.
Can I surrender this license book to get the new laminated driving license?(I dont want duplicate!)

Originally Posted by Astleviz (Post 1081084)
...I lost my license some days ago and would like to know how I can get another license. My problem is that I am now based in Goa while my license was issued by the Mumbai RTO (I used to stay in mumbai about 10 years ago and had my license made then)...I'd like to know what is the process to get another license from mumbai RTO. Do I have to come down to mumbai and file an FIR in some police station, apply for a new license and go through the whole process again or is there an easier way of renewing my license? ...

Astleviz,

You need to get an FIR on this lost document from GOA police. Use that document to apply for a new document at Mumbai. I assume that your permanent address is still in Mumbai. But even then, I am not sure of how much relevant that is. Taking the document (FIR) to an agent at the RTO at Mumbai where you got the license from will give you a faster and more precise direction to take.

All the best!

Originally Posted by deepclutch (Post 1081102)
I got my license in 1998 .as it is printed in a very poor quality paper and it is as a book here in kerala during that time.
Can I surrender this license book to get the new laminated driving license?(I dont want duplicate!)

Yes you can. My brother did the same thing a couple of years back. I got this done when I got my Indian car license; I had a book license for M/c WG. All that needs to be done ( or rather, all that was done) is to take the book and hand it back and then you will fall in the same line as those waiting to get their license after passing the driving test. You will have to pay a nominal charge, though.

Happywheels

Thanks a lot for your input. Unfortunately my permanent address is not in Mumbai, I have led a pretty nomadic life and Mumbai was just one of the places I spent a few years in. However I will do as you have suggested, get an FIR from Goa police and then get in touch with an RTO agent whenever I am in Mumbai.

Thanks again.

Hi guys, a friend took the licence test today in Pune and passed it. He got an acknowledgement slip and the RTO guys said that the licence will be send by post to his house in two weeks. His query is can this slip be used as a driving licence till he gets his licence??? I am confused and couldn't answer. But I remember riding around in Cochin with the slip (got my licence when I was 19) that's a decade back. How is the situation now???

Originally Posted by Leepower (Post 2596679)
Hi guys, a friend took the licence test today in Pune and passed it. He got an acknowledgement slip and the RTO guys said that the licence will be send by post to his house in two weeks. His query is can this slip be used as a driving licence till he gets his licence??? I am confused and couldn't answer. But I remember riding around in Cochin with the slip (got my licence when I was 19) that's a decade back. How is the situation now???

Yes, the slip can be used instead of the license till he gets his license. And it generally doesn't take 2 weeks, took 4 weeks here in Thane.