Old 2nd November 2007, 14:11   #16

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
I Paid 900 Rs, while driving at 80, on the Dwarka road from old Gurgaon Highway. And the traffic police guy, showed me favor of reporting just 68KM/hr. Otherwise I could have paid 1500 Rs.
How long back was this? The fine for overspeeding has reverted back to Rs 400 a while ago.

Also, what is this about Rs 1500? Whether you are at 51 kmph or 151 kmph, the fine would be the same
Old 2nd November 2007, 14:17   #17

Originally Posted by suman View Post
Also, what is this about Rs 1500? Whether you are at 51 kmph or 151 kmph, the fine would be the same

Suman,there are 2 categories

1. Over Speeding 50-70

2. Dangerous driving 70 and greater

so the charges for 2nd category are normally higher
Old 2nd November 2007, 14:25   #18

it was around 6 weeks back...

I guess I bit unlucky of this now a days, last week I was coming out of metropolitan mall gurgaon, and was about to wear seat belt, but on the corner, there were 2-3 traffic guys, waiting for the prey. They stopped me, I told them, I just came out of the mall in front of them. But I guess they were expecting something. Paid them 100Rs bribe.

Last edited by rkbharat : 2nd November 2007 at 14:29.
Old 2nd November 2007, 14:48   #19

rkb bhai,

sorry to say, the fine was reversed before that (or maybe just after) - see a thread revived by me on the same. me thinks good chance that they said 900 just to get 100 instead of 50
Old 2nd November 2007, 14:52   #20

rkb bhai,

sorry to say, the fine was reversed before that (or maybe just after) - see a thread revived by me on the same. me thinks good chance that they said 900 just to get 100 instead of 50
are nahi, it was a team of almost 20 cops. I tried my level best to settle it with a junior guy, but he said, saab hae, nahi ho sakta (senior is here, not possible)

Though I have the challan with me yet, I will not mind telling to traffic department for the refund, if you can point me the exact info

BTW it was my third challan in 7 yrs of driving
Old 12th November 2007, 12:13   #21

I had a problem yesterday. Was overspeeding - twice the limit
early morning karol bagh - was caught out at springdales school not the normal ridge section. Normally do 100+ on bike. This time in alto, was caught in 80s

The policeman knew that actual fine is 400 but said 400 is what court will give, I will take 900. I did have the below pic on my cell cam, to which the policeman asked me to go to court instead. So I stuck my ground, submitted my DL. Now, waiting for 12/12 court date to find out how things actually work

FWIW - Government of Delhi : Government Departments : Transport : Enforcement seems to indicate upsizing your tyres is an offence too!

Last edited by phamilyman : 12th November 2007 at 12:14.
Old 12th November 2007, 13:22   #22

Hey guys! This may be a bit OT but here is the question:

I recently got to know of an instance when a friend was fined in Delhi because he was carrying a photocopy of the RC book. Do we necessarily have to keep the original in the car or was he taken for a ride?

Sorry! Found the answer:

Enforcement agencies deploy its team for regulating, monitoring, enforcing the Motor Vehicle Act.
You may be stopped by one of these teams. You may be asked to produce the following documents in original :
Driving licence
Registration book of vehicle
Insurance certificate
Pollution under control certificate
Permits (for commercial vehicles only)
Certificate of fitness (for commercial vehicles only)
Road Tax Receipt (for commercial vehicles only)
If you are not carrying the above mentioned documents or found violating any of the Traffic Rules/Regulations,you may be challaned.
Your document and even vehicle may also be impounded depending on the voilation
under the rules of MV Act 1988, CMVR 1999 and DMV Rule 1993.

Last edited by thefreak : 12th November 2007 at 13:29.
Old 12th November 2007, 13:33   #23

What is RC BOOK?

I am only aware Registration Certificate either in paper format or the new card format.

Originally Posted by thefreak View Post
Hey guys! This may be a bit OT but here is the question:

I recently got to know of an instance when a friend was fined in Delhi because he was carrying a photocopy of the RC book. Do we necessarily have to keep the original in the car or was he taken for a ride?

Sorry! Found the answer:

Enforcement agencies deploy its team for regulating, monitoring, enforcing the Motor Vehicle Act.
You may be stopped by one of these teams. You may be asked to produce the following documents in original :
Driving licence
Registration book of vehicle
Insurance certificate
Pollution under control certificate
Permits (for commercial vehicles only)
Certificate of fitness (for commercial vehicles only)
Road Tax Receipt (for commercial vehicles only)
If you are not carrying the above mentioned documents or found violating any of the Traffic Rules/Regulations,you may be challaned.
Your document and even vehicle may also be impounded depending on the voilation
under the rules of MV Act 1988, CMVR 1999 and DMV Rule 1993.
Old 12th November 2007, 13:35   #24

So I stuck my ground, submitted my DL. Now, waiting for 12/12 court date to find out how things actually work
Thats is bold, so was he not ready to take 100 bucks and hush hush all.
Old 12th November 2007, 13:38   #25

What is RC BOOK?

I am only aware Registration Certificate either in paper format or the new card format.
Registration certification was what I was referring to!
Old 12th November 2007, 13:51   #26

Originally Posted by thefreak View Post
Registration certification was what I was referring to!
oh ok, I got worried that I have something missing
Old 12th November 2007, 14:55   #27

Thats is bold, so was he not ready to take 100 bucks and hush hush all.
no no. he wanted atleast 700.
and my response was ..|..
I'd much rather go to court.

Atleast on bike, I'm rarely checked for papers. Even then, the challan receipt is something I can ride with. So why worry - first time i'm folllowing laws to the T!
Old 12th November 2007, 16:59   #28

i could point out 4-5 common locations theryre normally sittin on around the ridge road and adjoining roads btween karol bagh chanakyapuri and dhaula kuan.

Khaadu oh yes ive seen them sittin on the VK to VV side of the road, with a handheld in the divider bushes! I flew past at 160 and caught a glimpse of them sitting there... the couple of thullas waiting down the road didnt even attempt to stop me and neither did i take my foot off the throttle that was fun!