Old 14th March 2005, 01:05   #16

Originally Posted by khanak
everything stock eh
so how much do you think I can build one for
Do you know he top speed or the 0-60

Y do u wanna build one, when i can probably get u one for 30-40K! The top speed is around 160 - 170! Even 0-60 is like in superquick time! It stood 3rd in the overall timings in the last year drag race!Whcih is quite stunnign with the foreign cars also participating!
Old 14th March 2005, 01:20   #17

30-40k WOW
are u sure?
thats half of wht a gokart would cost me
but nothing can give u the pleasure a home made ride can
but 30-40k
damn temptibg
the whole thing riight
used?
Old 14th March 2005, 11:53   #18

Originally Posted by khanak
30-40k WOW
are u sure?
thats half of wht a gokart would cost me
but nothing can give u the pleasure a home made ride can
but 30-40k
damn temptibg
the whole thing riight
used?
I am really sorry dude.... jsut made a mistake... the car without the engine and gearbox will cost u 30-40k/..... otherwise the full car should cost u about 90 or a lac i guess!! not too sure ya!
Old 14th March 2005, 19:48   #19

still not bad
a lakh for ur weekend toy
interesting
id buy it if i was earning
any second hand ones?
Old 10th December 2008, 18:25   #20

advice needed..

hi jigar
i'm doing my MS in Automotive engg. in baangalore and we have to build a race car more or less on the lines of fsae for a project.
all of us are complete amateurs here and on seeing this thread i thought i can take your help.
we won't be racing this car so we've been allowed to be a bit liberal with specifications.
as of now we've planned to power it with a bullet 350cc engine and since we cant afford a paddle shift, we've been asked to convert it to an auto transmission.
is this possible?
can u suggest any other alternative?
the car will have a chain drive and hence i don't think we can put a differential there.
Old 13th December 2008, 17:52   #21

Hey gyan,

There are quite a few FSAE team members on Team-BHP. Do a search for "FSAE" and see the threads that show up. Im sure you will get some valuable advice from these people.

Originally Posted by iamgyan View Post
...we won't be racing this car so we've been allowed to be a bit liberal with specifications.
You mean you arent officially doing it for FSAE and thats why no participation in the race?

...since we cant afford a paddle shift, we've been asked to convert it to an auto transmission.
is this possible?
can u suggest any other alternative?
What do you mean by "paddle shift"? And electronically controlled shifter?
There are easier, cheaper and more reliable ways to do it - mechanical linkages to the existing gearbox or even a push-pull cable.

...the car will have a chain drive and hence i don't think we can put a differential there.
Why not? Its definitely possible... Look at how other FSAE teams do it. Almost all of them are chain-driven and have a diff. Look at pics of their cars, you will learn a lot just by looking.

cya
R
Old 13th December 2008, 17:58   #22

Do contact Jalsa_77. He is a Member of Orion Racing, which is the K.J.Somaiya College FSAE team.