Team-BHP - The "Provident Fund" Thread
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Shifting gears (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/)
-   -   The "Provident Fund" Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/46474-provident-fund-thread-38.html)

Hi, did anyone manage to download their passbook based on UAN number? I tried last night it gave me an unrecognizable file format.

Quote:

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar (Post 4173818)
As for withdrawal on new job goes, I believe if you let that PF earn interest for 5 years, it will be tax free after 5 years of last contribution. If you withdraw before 5 years, you get taxed at 30 % flat.

Is this true?

I left my job 3 years back (in Feb 2014) and have not withdrawn my PF till date. I haven't started working anywhere as i am studying as of now. So if this is true, then i guess i should wait another 2 years before taking out that money. Right?

Also i dont have a UAN number as i resigned in feb 2014 and i guess this is the time they came out with this. So now what can i do to withdraw PF? Do i have to apply for UAN or i dont need it at all?

Alright, so after getting tired of being unable to download the PF passbook from the UAN website for the last 4 months, I downloaded their app from playstore.
Its called "m-epf" and shows the developer name as "IS-Division, EPF India".

I could view the passbook there (there is an option to download as well) but I only see updates till November 2016.

Anyone here who was able to download the passbook and can see updates after November 2016?

Quote:

Originally Posted by nitinralli (Post 4176617)
Is this true?

I left my job 3 years back (in Feb 2014) and have not withdrawn my PF till date. I haven't started working anywhere as i am studying as of now. So if this is true, then i guess i should wait another 2 years before taking out that money. Right?