Old 3rd February 2009, 20:38   #31

Originally Posted by nemo View Post
i used to love the Chilli burgers from Carl's junior and how can i forget the Pizza slices served in Sam's club. Besides iHOP, Denny's used to my favorite - man i miss all these

coincidentally even Dublin, Ireland has this restaurant
Methinks there is one in Dublin, CA too!
Old 5th February 2009, 14:36   #32

Singapore Special

I come to my all time favourite, Asian food.

Singapore in my view, has a mix of all the best cuisines in he world. One can find fine dining in the likes of Raffle's City Hotel, The Mandrin and Novotel and at the same time amazing street food at the various hawker centres in the city.

A T-Shirt screams at you, "Singapore is a fine city, there's a Fine for everything." So true, but that's one of the main reasons for Singapore being so clean and relatively non corrupt but thats another matter altogether. All kinds of "Fine" signs greet you everywhere, in public places, hotels, even taxi cabs. Its one of the only countries where chewing gum is banned.

First the Hawker centres. Singapore has a sprinkling of eat out joints called the Hawker Centres. They are basically stalls selling all kinds of food and each stall specialising in one type of food or dessert, neatly arranged in rows. in between a few rows there is common seating. The idea is that one can order different food from these stalls and carry it to your table to eat. There are stalls which sell seafood, veggies, rice, noodles, Malay food, juices, dessert, etc etc. These are open till the wee hours of the morning.

Standing out from all the hawker centres is the Newton Circus Hawker Centre. A short taxi ride away from Orchard road Newton Centre is a paradise for foodies. Off Bukit Timah Rd towards Clemenceau Avenue, you will find this place. Directions are visible on the road so you cant miss it anyways.

Newton Circus hawker centre

A guide to eating ABROAD!-newtonhawkercentre.jpg

This place you go to if you are seriously hungry. Though touting for customers is forbidden (fine Sg$500/-) you will still find stall owners calling you to buy food from their place. Take a walk, see all the stalls decide on what you want and then buy, after you have made sure what it is going to cost you, especially sea food.

A Sea food stall at Newton Circus

A guide to eating ABROAD!-seafood-stall.jpg

Seafood is the speciality here. Things to have are the Singapore Chilly Crab, Singapore Black Pepper Crab and various other seafood specialities like the Sting Ray Fillet..

The Chilli Crab is steamed and then mixed with a spicy (very) chilli sauce with a hint of sweetness to cut the spice. The sauce is thickened with beaten raw egg like in the sweet corn soup and this thickens the sauce and ads flavour to it. I dont much care for this style of preparation.

A guide to eating ABROAD!-singapore-chilli-crab.jpg

The Black Pepper Crab on the other hand is grilled on a griddle with butter and coarsly pounded black peppercorns. When done it is served to you dry. Yummy and hot hot hot. I prefer this to the chilly crab anyday.

A guide to eating ABROAD!-black-pepper-crab.jpg

The Sting Ray fillet is spread with a sambal, sealed in a banana leaf and pan grilled till it cooks in itself. The parcel is opened in front of you and it is to be believed when tasted. Its like a Pomfret only 100 times better. No smell, no after taste. If someone is not a fish eater and wants to venture into non vegetarianism, (not that im propagating it) this would be the safest and best start. Once tasted, hooked on for life. Unfortunately not available like this in an other part of the world.

Sting Ray fillet with Sambal paste

A guide to eating ABROAD!-stingray.jpg

You order all this and steamed rice. I dont propagate fried rice with anything. It has too many flavours to taste anything.

For vegetarians there is a large choice too. They have becun to understand that Indian Vegetarian does not include Fish and Egg.
The Singaporeans will definatiley order a dish or two on the side which is just green vegetables stir fried. The most loved is the Stir fried mushrooms with green. Greens may be anything, Pak Choi, Choi Sum, Morning Glory, anything green. It makes a delicious side dish.

Mushrooms and Greens, stir fried

A guide to eating ABROAD!-mushroom.jpg

Singaporeans eat a lot of rice or noodles. There are large stalls dishing out rice and noodles of every kind on the streets.

Hainanese Chicken Rice is one of their staple dishes.

A guide to eating ABROAD!-chicken-rice.jpg

It is basically Chicken boiled in an aromatic stock which is then used to cook the rice too. You are served a portion of the soft chicken with a helping of rice along with some of the chicken stock and a few vegetables like a salad. Its the lightest thing you can eat and so devoid of sauces. Just plain simple flavours.

For meat eaters theres the Murtabak. Murtabak is a very evolved dish available in many islamic countries and consists of a roti topped egg, curried meat, onions etc. Much like a baida roti.

Murtabak

A guide to eating ABROAD!-murtabak-man.jpg
A guide to eating ABROAD!-murtabak.jpg

Amongst the Desserts is the Ice Kacang. Its basically layered shaved ice, packed and topped with various syrups on a base of assorted sweet beans and a variety of chick peas. This is then topped with evaporated milk powder and condensed milk. Its different in diffrent places. Some top it up with fruits and berries and even a scoop of ice cream. Nothing great but worth a try, just for novelty. I am reminded of a stall which used to serve this opposite the Shivaji Park Gymkhana. That was tastier.

Ice Kacang

A guide to eating ABROAD!-kacang.jpg

Fruits here are consumed in a big way. Being a tropical country, the tropical fruits available here are of exceptional quality. Everywhere one will find stalls selling whole and cut fruits, Pineapple, Papaya, Watermelon (green-red and Yellow-yellow), Rambutan, Lychees etc etc. are always a treat to eat as a snack. So are fruit juices.
Dragon Fruit is very popular here. It is red coloured on the outside and looks much like an avocado and white or blood red with black specks inside. I didnt Quite like it.

Dragon Fruit

A guide to eating ABROAD!-dragonfruit-1.jpg

Durian is another favourite of the locals. Its either love it or hate it. Im ok with it but dont care much as its very fleshy and pulpy for me. Besides that, its got a stink to scare a Skunk away. In almost all public places such as malls, restaurants and even hotels, its banned to carry a Durian. Its smell is very strong and can make some people piuck, i swear. Looks like a mini jack fruit with a soft smelly pulpy but sweet and fleshy fruit inside

Durian

A guide to eating ABROAD!-durian.jpg

Little India is another place one must visit. It looks like the south Indian part of Matunga and is home to the famous department store Mustafa. Who hasnt been there? Incidently here lies a volley of restaurants which dish out very near Indian food. You will come across Irani-esque open restaurants serving kheema and chapatti and even tea. Malayasian food is commonly found here and is callee the Roti Prata. Yes they spell it like this. Its basically an all Maida, multi layered and well oiled roti panfried and served. What the result is a very flaky and crisp bread to dip into your curry, veg or non veg.

Seangoon Road (or Little India) is home to two most famous restaurants in Singapore. One is the Apollo Banana Leaf serving out veg and non veg South Indian thalis and a la carte dishes all served on the traditional Banana Leaf.

Biryani at Apollo Banana Leaf

A guide to eating ABROAD!-apollo-babana-leaf.jpg

The other is a Singapore Icon. It called Muthu's Curry House. Just ask anyone, they will direct you to an air-conditioned restaurant with almost bench like seats. You order here is essentially Fish Head Curry and Rice.

Fiery Fish Head Curry

A guide to eating ABROAD!-fish-head-curry.jpg

The story is that in early days when Indian settlers came to Singapore, they had no money and would visit the local fish market where the fish mongers would skin and fillet large fish, mainly Salmon and discard the very large head. This could be collected for free as a fee for cleaning the market and cooked at home. One head has enough white fish meat to feed at least two to three persons. Its impossible to finish it single handedly and is best eaten with boiled steamed rice. Muthu's also serves a host of veg dishes so vegetarians please go there. Pre order lots of water as the curries here are more than fiery.

Geylang is another area where you get great street food. here its more clay pot rice and mongolian barbeque restaurants on the street. A little dirtier (also is the unofficial red light area) the food somehow tastes great.

For really late night food or breakfast food which is not heavy and wholesome is the BKT or Bah-Ku-Teh also known as knuckle tea. Its pork ribs etc in a clear wholesome stock and is served almost always in a clay pot. Very Pick me up kind of dish.

BKT

Name:  BKTBakKutTeh.jpg
Views: 4194
Size:  54.0 KB

Boat Quay (pronounced as Key)

This is an upmarket area with a strip crowded with bars, pubs and restaurants. Most restaurants have al fresco seating and serve great food. Beware of those whose menu's say "Prize as per size". hey will eventually gyp you as we look like tourists. I remember paying SG$2/- for the wet paper napkins they handed out to us and the same amount for each peanut bowl put in front of us. The food was so awesome we didnt mind it.

Places to visit are Harry's Bar and Malone's Bar at the Boat Quay.

Around Orchard Street you will find Ice cream vendors going around in tricycles vending scoops of diffrent flacoured ice crem in between slices o soft bread or cake. Its a worth try, this ice cream sandwich. Stick to the normal flavours if you are not the trying types. Green tea and Durian ice creams are the best sellers.

.....more to follow.......

some pics picked up from the net for representational puposes and some are taken by me.

Last edited by V-16 : 5th February 2009 at 14:41.
Old 8th February 2009, 02:47   #33

This thread really made me hungry as I was reading it around 2pm (lunch time).

Whenever I'm traveling around in North America (US and Canada), I usually stay away from restaurant chains and mall food and try to stick to local eateries. So it's really hard to name all of them here.

As for the bigger chains, I like Hard Rock Cafe (their burgers and sandwiches are yummy, and I like the ambiance there as well), Applebee's (tasty food and great service, great for groups and families too).

Swiss Chalet is pretty good too, and their dinner entrees are amazing.

I used to have the Coney Island hot dogs in Detroit when I lived in Windsor.

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar is pretty good, if you can afford it.

Other than those, I also like Moxie's and Tony Roma's, both have good food and drinks.

As far as Chinese food is concerned, it tastes the same all over North America, unless you go for that Indian Chinese stuff.

And I can almost guarantee you that you will not like authentic Chinese cuisine, like the way they actually make it in China, as it's totally devoid of any spices or condiments and is mostly just boiled or mildly cooked. I don't like spicy food as such, but it was still too much for me.

Korean food is not that bad though, but you should probably go with a Korean friend to get the best stuff there.

Thai food would be quite popular for spice loving Indians, and I don't mind it myself, although I usually go with the less spicy option.

Oh and you guys should also try out bubble tea if you get a chance.

Or a Five Dollar milkshake (like in the movie Pulp Fiction).

Last edited by sujaylahiri : 8th February 2009 at 02:52.
Old 8th February 2009, 05:09   #34

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
I come to my all time favourite, Asian food

Singapore in my view, has a mix of all the best cuisines in he world. One can find fine dining in the likes of Raffle's City Hotel, The Mandrin and Novotel and at the same time amazing street food at the various hawker centres in the city.

A T-Shirt screams at you, "Singapore is a fine city, there's a Fine for everything." So true, but that's one of the main reasons for Singapore being so clean and relatively non corrupt but thats another matter altogether. All kinds of "Fine" signs greet you everywhere, in public places, hotels, even taxi cabs. Its one of the only countries where chewing gum is banned.

First the Hawker centres. Singapore has a sprinkling of eat out joints called the Hawker Centres. They are basically stalls selling all kinds of food and each stall specialising in one type of food or dessert, neatly arranged in rows. in between a few rows there is common seating. The idea is that one can order different food from these stalls and carry it to your table to eat. There are stalls which sell seafood, veggies, rice, noodles, Malay food, juices, dessert, etc etc. These are open till the wee hours of the morning.

Standing out from all the hawker centres is the Newton Circus Hawker Centre. A short taxi ride away from Orchard road Newton Centre is a paradise for foodies. Off Bukit Timah Rd towards Clemenceau Avenue, you will find this place. Directions are visible on the road so you cant miss it anyways.

Newton Circus hawker centre

Attachment 97850

This place you go to if you are seriously hungry. Though touting for customers is forbidden (fine Sg$500/-) you will still find stall owners calling you to buy food from their place. Take a walk, see all the stalls decide on what you want and then buy, after you have made sure what it is going to cost you, especially sea food.

A Sea food stall at Newton Circus

Attachment 97845

Seafood is the speciality here. Things to have are the Singapore Chilly Crab, Singapore Black Pepper Crab and various other seafood specialities like the Sting Ray Fillet..

The Chilli Crab is steamed and then mixed with a spicy (very) chilli sauce with a hint of sweetness to cut the spice. The sauce is thickened with beaten raw egg like in the sweet corn soup and this thickens the sauce and ads flavour to it. I dont much care for this style of preparation.

Attachment 97824

The Black Pepper Crab on the other hand is grilled on a griddle with butter and coarsly pounded black peppercorns. When done it is served to you dry. Yummy and hot hot hot. I prefer this to the chilly crab anyday.

Attachment 97823

The Sting Ray fillet is spread with a sambal, sealed in a banana leaf and pan grilled till it cooks in itself. The parcel is opened in front of you and it is to be believed when tasted. Its like a Pomfret only 100 times better. No smell, no after taste. If someone is not a fish eater and wants to venture into non vegetarianism, (not that im propagating it) this would be the safest and best start. Once tasted, hooked on for life. Unfortunately not available like this in an other part of the world.

Sting Ray fillet with Sambal paste

Attachment 97851

You order all this and steamed rice. I dont propagate fried rice with anything. It has too many flavours to taste anything.

For vegetarians there is a large choice too. They have becun to understand that Indian Vegetarian does not include Fish and Egg.
The Singaporeans will definatiley order a dish or two on the side which is just green vegetables stir fried. The most loved is the Stir fried mushrooms with green. Greens may be anything, Pak Choi, Choi Sum, Morning Glory, anything green. It makes a delicious side dish.

Mushrooms and Greens, stir fried

Attachment 97849

Singaporeans eat a lot of rice or noodles. There are large stalls dishing out rice and noodles of every kind on the streets.

Hainanese Chicken Rice is one of their staple dishes.

Attachment 97836

It is basically Chicken boiled in an aromatic stock which is then used to cook the rice too. You are served a portion of the soft chicken with a helping of rice along with some of the chicken stock and a few vegetables like a salad. Its the lightest thing you can eat and so devoid of sauces. Just plain simple flavours.

For meat eaters theres the Murtabak. Murtabak is a very evolved dish available in many islamic countries and consists of a roti topped egg, curried meat, onions etc. Much like a baida roti.

Murtabak

Attachment 97827
Attachment 97826

Amongst the Desserts is the Ice Kacang. Its basically layered shaved ice, packed and topped with various syrups on a base of assorted sweet beans and a variety of chick peas. This is then topped with evaporated milk powder and condensed milk. Its different in diffrent places. Some top it up with fruits and berries and even a scoop of ice cream. Nothing great but worth a try, just for novelty. I am reminded of a stall which used to serve this opposite the Shivaji Park Gymkhana. That was tastier.

Ice Kacang

Attachment 97837

Fruits here are consumed in a big way. Being a tropical country, the tropical fruits available here are of exceptional quality. Everywhere one will find stalls selling whole and cut fruits, Pineapple, Papaya, Watermelon (green-red and Yellow-yellow), Rambutan, Lychees etc etc. are always a treat to eat as a snack. So are fruit juices.
Dragon Fruit is very popular here. It is red coloured on the outside and looks much like an avocado and white or blood red with black specks inside. I didnt Quite like it.

Dragon Fruit

Attachment 97832

Durian is another favourite of the locals. Its either love it or hate it. Im ok with it but dont care much as its very fleshy and pulpy for me. Besides that, its got a stink to scare a Skunk away. In almost all public places such as malls, restaurants and even hotels, its banned to carry a Durian. Its smell is very strong and can make some people piuck, i swear. Looks like a mini jack fruit with a soft smelly pulpy but sweet and fleshy fruit inside

Durian

Attachment 97835

Little India is another place one must visit. It looks like the south Indian part of Matunga and is home to the famous department store Mustafa. Who hasnt been there? Incidently here lies a volley of restaurants which dish out very near Indian food. You will come across Irani-esque open restaurants serving kheema and chapatti and even tea. Malayasian food is commonly found here and is callee the Roti Prata. Yes they spell it like this. Its basically an all Maida, multi layered and well oiled roti panfried and served. What the result is a very flaky and crisp bread to dip into your curry, veg or non veg.

Seangoon Road (or Little India) is home to two most famous restaurants in Singapore. One is the Apollo Banana Leaf serving out veg and non veg South Indian thalis and a la carte dishes all served on the traditional Banana Leaf.

Biryani at Apollo Banana Leaf

Attachment 97831

The other is a Singapore Icon. It called Muthu's Curry House. Just ask anyone, they will direct you to an air-conditioned restaurant with almost bench like seats. You order here is essentially Fish Head Curry and Rice.

Fiery Fish Head Curry

Attachment 97834

The story is that in early days when Indian settlers came to Singapore, they had no money and would visit the local fish market where the fish mongers would skin and fillet large fish, mainly Salmon and discard the very large head. This could be collected for free as a fee for cleaning the market and cooked at home. One head has enough white fish meat to feed at least two to three persons. Its impossible to finish it single handedly and is best eaten with boiled steamed rice. Muthu's also serves a host of veg dishes so vegetarians please go there. Pre order lots of water as the curries here are more than fiery.

Geylang is another area where you get great street food. here its more clay pot rice and mongolian barbeque restaurants on the street. A little dirtier (also is the unofficial red light area) the food somehow tastes great.

For really late night food or breakfast food which is not heavy and wholesome is the BKT or Bah-Ku-Teh also known as knuckle tea. Its pork ribs etc in a clear wholesome stock and is served almost always in a clay pot. Very Pick me up kind of dish.

BKT

Attachment 97848

Boat Quay (pronounced as Key)

This is an upmarket area with a strip crowded with bars, pubs and restaurants. Most restaurants have al fresco seating and serve great food. Beware of those whose menu's say "Prize as per size". hey will eventually gyp you as we look like tourists. I remember paying SG$2/- for the wet paper napkins they handed out to us and the same amount for each peanut bowl put in front of us. The food was so awesome we didnt mind it.

Places to visit are Harry's Bar and Malone's Bar at the Boat Quay.

Around Orchard Street you will find Ice cream vendors going around in tricycles vending scoops of diffrent flacoured ice crem in between slices o soft bread or cake. Its a worth try, this ice cream sandwich. Stick to the normal flavours if you are not the trying types. Green tea and Durian ice creams are the best sellers.

.....more to follow.......

some pics picked up from the net for representational puposes and some are taken by me.
This is war Gogi bhai, I am couriering the El Bulli videos & all videos I have by the time the courier comes in tomorrow for a pickup, heck ill personally deliver them to you. on second thoughts . You didn't add the Wang Mui you ate after lunch/dinner. ?

Also I'll also send you the video of the best singaporean chinese, yes, bee hoon crab in Singapore.

Not allowed to make people drool, I can't say for most, however spent 90 days in Singapore, I drool on the food daily, after seeing your pics.

Used to eat daily lunch at either Lau Pa Sat market at the junction of Robinson Road & Shenton way and also at Delifrance Delifrance Singapore. daily a nice chicken salad sandwich, orange juice and fresh chocolate muffin, ya allah, chocolate muffins were never so nice, you could find morsels of almost melting chocolate chips as you ate into the steaming chocolate muffins as large as your fist.

Not happening.. sigh.

M M

Last edited by mmmjgm : 8th February 2009 at 05:12.
Old 8th February 2009, 10:54   #35

Arrey bhai YumYumYumJGYum (sorry, thread only is like that ), don't quote the full text of a post in a reply, so much up-down in such an exciting thread taqleef hota na!

Gogi-bhai, where is laksa lah?

Last edited by DerAlte : 8th February 2009 at 10:57.
Old 9th February 2009, 20:17   #36

What, no salad bar fans ?!

I'm surprised that nobody apparently cares for salad bars in the USA!
Personally, I'd jump to a good salad bar, if one is handy. The best I ever
had was in an Italian restaurant (sorry, forgot the name now) on the
outskirts of Washington DC. Among fruits, they even served fresh litchies!

The next best would probably be Zoopa in Seattle. There are other, lesser
ones all over the place (even in some company cafeterias).
Old 8th September 2009, 11:35   #37

I am not in a position to guide anyone here but I am in a position to seek and digest the guidance from others.

Can someone please guide to me tasty and yummy "Chicago style Deep Dish Pizza" in Detroit, MI and in Atlanta, GA and in Toronto, ON so that I can eat good food while there?
Old 8th September 2009, 18:09   #38

A lot of restaurants i like have been mentioned on this thread, but here are my fav's anyway

US - Chipotle (Burrito bowls bowl me over!), PF Changs, Panda Express, Quiznos, Wendy's (when in the mood for junk )

UK - Greggs (love the pasties), Nandos, Wagamama, Any place with Traditional Fish n chips, Chico Mexico (Bond street)

OZ - Hungry Jacks, Lebonese - Al Mustafa or Fatima in Surry hills

Thailand - Street Food !
Old 8th September 2009, 20:50   #39

[quote=Sli_ce;1472146]US - Chipotle (Burrito bowls bowl me over!), PF Changs, Panda Express, Quiznos, Wendy's (when in the mood for junk )
QUOTE]

When in the mood for xtreme kilocalories try a KFC buffet in rural America / State highways !!