Old 6th November 2009, 12:37   #31

I am part Kannadiga and Maharastrian. Unfortunately, cannot speak either but understand the complete language
Old 6th November 2009, 13:26   #32

I too want to learn speaking Kannada and understanding it. Though it has been almost 5 years now that I am in Bangalore, still don't understand anything other than madi, kudi and numbers till 5 .

Why can't we do one thing, all the proficient Kannada speakers please teach us 5 words here daily and then slowly we move on to small sentences.

Will that work?
Old 6th November 2009, 14:05   #33

Good Idea.
Lets start : Chanagide.
Hindi: Accha hain.
English: It is good.
Usage: In vegetable, fish market.

Eshto ?
Hindi: Kitna ?
English: How much ?
Usage: Again same!! Damn!

Last edited by prince_pervez : 6th November 2009 at 14:09.
Old 6th November 2009, 14:47   #34

Good start Pervez. I think "chana" is the verb here which means "good".

Tamatar chanagide. Tamatar eshto?
Old 6th November 2009, 14:54   #35

Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
Good start Pervez. I think "chana" is the verb here which means "good".

Tamatar chanagide. Tamatar eshto?
Herez a deadlock. And on the first day!!!!
There is no word for Tomato in Kannada.
Locals call it in English or broken urdu as 'Pandu'
not as in Paaaandu but simply Pandu or Pan-du.

Phew. Controveries on the first day itself.
Old 6th November 2009, 15:03   #36

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
Good Idea.
Lets start : Chanagide.
Hindi: Accha hain.
English: It is good.
Usage: In vegetable, fish market.

Eshto ?
Hindi: Kitna ?
English: How much ?
Usage: Again same!! Damn!
No guys. My (limited) Kannada is rusty with disuse now, but I think it should be this way:

You : Tomato Chennagidha (is it good)? Kilo Eshtu (how much)?

Vendor : Chennagidhe sir (it is good). Kilo xx rupees.

Guys who can speak good Kannada please correct me if I am wrong!

Last edited by Gansan : 6th November 2009 at 15:04.
Old 6th November 2009, 15:03   #37

That's not an issue. Our goal here is to make other guy understand what I am speaking. I think people would understand tamatar or tamato (at least in Bangalore).
Old 6th November 2009, 17:54   #38

Everyone, Have a look at this document ( typical IT e-shtyle )
File Type: doc Learn Kannada.doc (362.5 KB, 6002 views)
Old 6th November 2009, 18:11   #39

My wife learned conversational kannada in 1.5 years by regulary conversing with house maids. Now she can almost fluently speak kannada. But guys I also know some kannada words and often use accordingly.

Q: haalu eesto litre? (How is milk per litre?)
A: Eepat yerda (22)
Old 6th November 2009, 18:27   #40

Originally Posted by muralisk View Post
I am not sure about it, but it is quite easy for Telugu speaking people as there is a great deal of similarity in the script. In fact, Telugu speaking people can read the script.
Correction saar---'Telugu reading people can read the script'. I say this because we speak Telugu at home, but none in my generation knows how to read Telugu, as we were born and brought up in Orissa. I learnt reading Telugu only after joining service in Vizag.

Originally Posted by Aston.Martin View Post
@ Su-47, Are you married ? Get married to a Kannadiga (like me) and I bet you will be speaking Kannada before the next t-Bhp meet, its a matter of survival bro.
What happens if he has a transferable job all over India?

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
I am part Kannadiga and Maharastrian. Unfortunately, cannot speak either but understand the complete language
I too have similar complicated roots from both states. But to add to the confusion, I've been brought up in Orissa. To make matters more complicated, we speak Telugu at home for the past 5 generations, though we are from a border town in Orissa
Old 6th November 2009, 19:41   #41

Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
My wife learned conversational kannada in 1.5 years by regulary conversing with house maids. Now she can almost fluently speak kannada. But guys I also know some kannada words and often use accordingly.

Q: haalu eesto litre? (How is milk per litre?)
A: Eepat yerda (22)
Anuj,

"Eepat yerda" is a question again. You are asking if its 22?

Answer is : Eepat Yerdu

Old 6th November 2009, 19:41   #42

Get local friends. Seriously, its the easiest way. And force yourself to talk in Kannada to them. The important thing is that you get the local accent and fluidity. I can't read or write Kannada and I've no formal Kannada education. But few have ever suspected me of being anything but a mannina maga!
Old 6th November 2009, 19:46   #43

simple, use the word "Magaa" (Sonny) while talking to any Kannada group, you are IN as a kannidiga

That word Doc. is the easiest way.
Old 6th November 2009, 19:49   #44

If you ever get into trouble ...speak the magic words ,"Adjust madi saar" -- meaning , kindly adjust sir . works mostly of the time when coupled with a big smile .
Old 6th November 2009, 19:56   #45

With six years of mine spent in Belgaum, I had the good fortune of having two localites as my best friends and learned to speak Kannada very fast. Never attempted to read / write it as was not needed.

Also managed to learn 'hospital' Marathi while there.

Well, after 27 years, the Marathi is almost all gone and the Kannada is very rusty.

What do you say for 'thanks'? Can't really remember that while 'Kshamisri' is still fresh in my mind.