Team-BHP > Street Experiences

Search this Thread
Old 26th December 2011, 10:34   #1
BHPian

Driving through a hartal / bandh

Would like to narrate an incident that happened to me today. I hail from the capital of Kerala where hartals(riots) are quite commonplace. All Hartals have a procession with slogan calling and are often accompanied by violence against State transport vehicles and stone pelting against the Police. However, while declaring a hartal the political parties have the 'magnanimity' to exclude milk/newspaper/marriage/hospital vehicles from being harrased!

As a common man, you have two options - stay at home and enjoy the day or go to office with a risk of harm to self/vehicle. I work in the IT sector and hence it is near impossible to stay back home on a hartal day due to various reasons.

Now today, a political party had called for a hartal in Trivandrum. Since it was work as usual, I had to go to the office as well. I need to drive 20km to my office and hence started at around 8.00 am to reach office on
time. Roads were pretty deserted and I was beginning to enjoy my morning drive when suddenly I was stopped at a junction by three people.One person stood right in front of my car, with his hand on my car's bonnet while the others came over to the driver's side window. Then the Q&A session started.

Person1- Come out of the car
Me- What happened
Person1- Come out of the car
Me- Tell me what is the problem
Person1- Where are you going
Me(still in my car)- Going to my office, why what happened

Person1 started swearing at me for not supporting the hartal which was for 'the people's benefit' and that people like me should be taught a lesson which he knows how to teach. The other person joined him in chorus.In
the meantime the person leaning on my car's bonnet started leaning even more heavily with both his hands(which was really irritating me).