Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th July 2023, 11:20   #1
BHPian

Why do Indian Roads flood up so easily during heavy rain?

This subject has been dealt in various threads in different perspectives. In this monsoon in 2023, I had seen live on how a couple of hours of rain can bring metros to its knees.

Being a civil engineer myself couple of decades back but jumped to IT, the civil engineer in me makes my blood boil on why we are in such a mess now?

No rains, no crops and no food. We need rains but we need to deal with them. If nature is not in favour of us due to our geographical position on this planet, we as humans must find a solution to adopt to such situations. Just see Netherlands ( means land below sea level) on how they are managing the situation. Even in our own Hyderabad, the storm water drains created hundreds of years back by Nizams work perfectly compared to the newer drains created in last couple of decades.

Why does this concern comes up during monsoons only and every body forgets after the rains are over. I still remember couple of years back when Chennai was devastated by rains. I was lucky that I left from our Chennai home to Bangalore home few hours before complete Porur area was flooded. My in laws in Chennai were marooned and NDRF has to come in boats to help them.

What is the root cause for the present situation. During rains it is frightening to take our automobiles in subways. Is there no permanent solution? After having searched on internet about the Mother Nature and El Nino effect on India during monsoon, I conclude that more than nature, it is more of a bad planning and careless construction of buildings disobeying the basic rules of nature on occupation of water bodies with concrete structures obstructing the free flow of storm water.