Old 28th February 2025, 03:24   #31

Re: Are Reels More Important Than Lives? My Growing Concern About Drivers Watching Videos While Driv

I have come to attributing the trend of drivers in choked city streets watching videos to the mind numbing drudgery in the activity. A bhp-ian on a Sunday morning drive will most certainly not.

Unfortunately, there is no excuse, nor any surveillance or enforcement.
Old 28th February 2025, 07:11   #32

Re: Are Reels More Important Than Lives? My Growing Concern About Drivers Watching Videos While Driv

Originally Posted by saitvsk23 View Post
I agree with the above BHPian citing the fact that the automobile is a machine that deserves to be operated with a certain level of skill and concentration.

I learnt to drive on my parents' WagonR, an absolute-barebones piece of automotive machinery. Every vibration, every sound is a feedback to the driver. I learnt to drive/ride by ear before I understood the mechanical limits of the machine, and I'm sure many of us here have learnt the same way.
To quote a famous movie dialogue, "If WagonR is bad, then Premier Padmini is its dad". That's how some of us learnt driving, with steering column gearshifts, at that. And now when we issue those Siri commands through Apple Carplay, it sometimes feels too convenient and unnerving. My radical solution to the social media consumption menace is to end free usage completely. Every signup will be charged annual fee, and every post, tweet, video will be charged as per commensurate data consumption and social effect. People will go back to books and newspapers, and the world will be a peaceful place.
fhdowntheline is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2025, 21:21   #33

Last night I saw a car swerving and then its tyre hit the divider on the right. Luckily cars were at a distance from him.
When we pulled up next to him, the guy was smiling sheepishly, totally giving away that he was looking in to his phone. We just kept our distance since he looked distracted.. Pretty wild!
Old 5th March 2025, 17:05   #34

I have been a part of road safety forums and the current deaths due to accident rate is alarming.

My director said once "You can judge a person by the way he drives" and I have been applying this ever since.

If a person watches reels while he drives, he is trying to get into a virtual environment while actually navigation a real life environment.

Similarly, if there are people always trying to cut at a junction, then they always want to be first in everything, irrespective of others.

The only solution is to start creating an ethics sheet, tomorrow it can apply to AI as well.

1) Let the other person go first, especially if their vehicle is smaller(a two wheeler when you are in a four wheeler, or a sedan when you are in an SUV or a bus) than yours or their speed is slower (e.g. someone walking or cycling)

I look forward to hearing from others on how we can create safer roads and therefore better driving experiences.
Old 18th March 2025, 15:47   #35

This is very common with the sharing auto rickshaw drivers in Hyderabad.

First they carry 6-7 passengers, wear earphones and are constantly watching reels even while driving.

The co-passengers sitting on their left and right takeover the job of giving the left and right turn signals while simultaneously enjoying the reels
Old 19th March 2025, 00:14   #36

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
For chauffeur situation, AI in the Video app using the front and rear camera combo can detect if the screen is facing the driver. That should check every 5 second to ensure driver is not watching the video while moving.
That would be a massive violation of user privacy. Can you imagine an app scanning your environment through phone cameras even when you wouldn't like? That would be especially scary for women.

Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
The chauffeur situation can also be handled by throttling video download speeds when the phone is in motion. Unthrottling can be allowed on explicit customer request. This will ensure that there is a request log on the telecom provider end which will be useful in case of accidents as to who asked for it (i.e. driver or passenger). Unthrottling requests can also be then restricted (for e.g. 2 requests per day.
What if you are sitting in the back seat of a car, being driven while you are watching content? It would still throttle speed in that case. Lets say you take multiple stops in your journey. It would cross the request limit and you'll be forced to use throttled internet for the rest of the day?
The thing is, this problem is impossible to resolve without legal intervention. Even that wouldn't ensure that this doesn't happen again. There is no foolproof way of doing it.

Originally Posted by CmdrShepard View Post
I'm sorry, what spirit should we admire again?? One that can lead to damages to the tune of lakhs in property or worse, ruined lives die to death or injury, just so that someone earns a little extra a day????

If they want to juggle 2 jobs, they can do it without playing with the lives of other road users. Would you also like that that the pilot of the plane you are flying on is making a reel while landing or taking off?

If done BETWEEN active rides/drives AND while vehicle is PARKED responsibly, THEN they can do this and no on will object. I'm sorry, but I cannot admire the so called spirit of people who are putting my life and the lives of other road users in danger.
Absolutely! I was looking for a sensible comment in the thread and finally found it!

The aerospace industry is safe just because the smallest errors or deviations are investigated in extreme depth and not just brushed off under the carpet. This industry is a benchmark for all others on how serious safety is. This is possible only because the people (especially the pilots) know the consequences of even the smallest errors.

We cannot let emotions take over and allow people to compromise on safety. They don't just risk material harm, but also harm to life; not one, not two but many.

Only education and strict laws can help reduce this issue.
Random_Alien is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th March 2025, 00:32   #37

Remove power steering, power brakes, lane assist i.e. every possible driver assist and see if a driver can still take eyes off the road. I believe I am the safest driver on the road when I drive our 40 plus year old cars because they are so engaging that I cannot even dare to do anything else while driving.

Our quest for safety by providing as much ADAS as possible is making drivers think that they can do anything they want. I met a person the other day who said he loves his new car because if he falls asleep on the motorway, the car is still able to maintain its position in the lane. I am not being dramatic, but a chill runs down my spine every time I hear such statements.
Old 19th March 2025, 08:46   #38

Originally Posted by Random_Alien View Post
That would be a massive violation of user privacy. Can you imagine an app scanning your environment through phone cameras even when you wouldn't like? That would be especially scary for women.
Massive? How massive, considering you are already in public, in view of hundreds of dashcams and traffic cameras on which you have no control?

Privacy issue will come only if the app is uploading the video. But with edge computing, the video will never leave the phone, and is used only for monitoring how videos are viewed.
Old 19th March 2025, 12:15   #39

Originally Posted by wildsdi5530 View Post
...I'm sure many are doing so for their livelihood...

...We should admire the spirit of these never say die people...
Livelihood begins with live. No spirit to admire if one becomes a spirit.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com