Team-BHP - Rear Ended by a drunk Sumo Driver

-   Street Experiences (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/street-experiences/)
-   -   Rear Ended by a drunk Sumo Driver (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/street-experiences/38893-rear-ended-drunk-sumo-driver.html)

Guys the past week has been horrible for me and my car. After the tyre damage last sunday yesterday night was even better.
Around 8.15 I was passing through (nah crawling thru) the ITO rush hour traffic. While being stationary in the extreme right lane due to traffic congestion I felt a jolt and heard metal crunching and banging sounds. I looked in my rear view mirror and saw a sumo whose driver is still pressing down on the accelerator. I got down and saw a more horrific sight. A motocycle guy was sandwiched between my car and the sumo. The bike was beneath my car and the poor guy's head was on my rear bumper and the sumo was still trying to overrun him but bike's rear wheels were preventing the sumo wheels to climb over.
Then the driver immediately reversed and almost hit another car and two guys on bullets immediately behind the sumo. I managed to switch off his ignition and pull his keys out. Then I pulled him out as well and immediately gave him a couple of hard slaps. Then I saw that the sumo was a govt vehicle and I asked him for his ID card. Turns out that the sumo belonged to Northern railways. By this time a few more guys stopped and we helped the bike guy get up and disengaged his bike from my Car.They wanted to beat soem sense into him but i asked them to refrain as he was a govt employee and was drunk. Incase anythign happenned before the police came he might cause trouble for all of us.But off and on whenver he tried to run away we gave him a few slaps and pulled him into the gorund to keep him rooted to the spot.
Now the surprise part. We called up Delhi police PCR at 8.20pm and lo and behold despite 8 calls to them they arrived on the scene at 10.15pm. They kept exclaming that they could not locate the site despite it being only about 800 mtrs from the Delhi Police Headquarters and that too on the main road. Anyway they came and started taking statements. Then they decieded to take him for a medical before challaning him.
I gave the sumo keys to the police who in turn gave it to the driver and told him to start the sumo and come with them to the police station. The guy started his sumo and despite heavy traffic just scooted off with the whole police guys just watching him in surprise. Is this what Delhi Police brags about when they claim to be one of the best?:deadhorse
Now they have given his ID card to me and asked me to take it up with his department but now how do i prove that he was drunk. The police guys are so red faced that they are not willing to give it in writing because they say if they admit they were there and he ran off right in front of their eyes they would be at the receiving end.
Guys Ill post the number of the Sumo. Do you think we at BHP can write to the Railways on this? I am sure if a lot of mails come to them they would have to sit up and take notice. If you guys are game Ill find out where and to whom to start writing. We cannot just let him get away because he was a sarkari driver driving a sarkari car.
Car Damage: Broken number plate rear, broken rear bumper, Paint has come off at a few places from the tail gate.Lets see what estimate the TATA workshop gives and what the friendly neighbourhood denter gives but what a shame to loose money like this.:Frustrati

Justice delayed is justice denied.. If had I been in your place, I would have done a plastic surgery on his face and some ortho procedure on his limbs. After that would have done a DC to the sumo..

Reading your post makes my blood boil over. And how callous the police guys could be. And since the PCR came couldn't they chase the errant, scooting driver?

BTW, any number of mails won't budge Lalu Yadav..

Originally Posted by wanderernomad (Post 809925)
Guys the past week has been horrible for me and my car. After the tyre damage last sunday yesterday night was even better.
Around 8.15 I was passing through (nah crawling thru) the ITO rush hour traffic. While being stationary in the extreme right lane due to traffic congestion I felt a jolt and heard metal crunching and banging sounds. I looked in my rear view mirror and saw a sumo whose driver is still pressing down on the accelerator.

Did the sarkari driver deliberately tried to run over the biker or was this an accident? If it was done deliberately get the biker (if you can contact him) to file an attempt of murder charge against the driver. IMHO this guy should not be let off easily and should be barred from driving in india forever. Do you have all the info from the ID card of the driver? You can post them here and we can all try to identify the right department to send the complaint.

Is it possible for you attach is scanned ID here? Its better to bounce tons of emails from personal ID's irrespective of end result. Atleast there is a chance that he will be questioned

Oh yes these have been a few tough days for you. Definitely hope you get over these uncertain times fast enough.

Originally Posted by wanderernomad (Post 809925)
The bike was beneath my car and the poor guy's head was on my rear bumper and the sumo was still trying to overrun him but bike's rear wheels were preventing the sumo wheels to climb over.

Then the driver immediately reversed and almost hit another car and two guys on bullets immediately behind the sumo.

This is shocking. This guy needed a wholesome beating, other than that no way he is going to rectify his behaviour in future - unfortunately this is the only way by which one could put some sense in these kind of people.

And then would have impounded the Sumo, after all there were at least 5-6 people affected and with 2 hrs of waiting.

Originally Posted by gd1418 (Post 809929)
After that would have done a DC to the sumo..

Even if taking out the physical aspect, yes at least this should have been done. At least may be somehow that would have reflected in his job history and would have had some repurcusions in a govt office - again may be.

Then I saw that the sumo was a govt vehicle and I asked him for his ID card. Turns out that the sumo belonged to Northern railways.

We cannot just let him get away because he was a sarkari driver driving a sarkari car.
I am in for all the mailing but then the heat of the situation is gone and not much is going to happen. The police are not going to cooperate, the head of the department under whom this driver comes, is going to care a hoot and even if he does [1 in a million chance] the class D union is going to make sure he does that for only 1 day, the driver is scot free whether we like it or not.

And today read this

SP MLA's son crushes three to death in drunken driving case
Lucknow | Saturday, Apr 26 2008 IST

A son of a Samajwadi Party MLA, driving in an inebriated state, crushed three people to death and seriously wounded seven others in Hazratganj locality of the state capital late last night. Senior Superintendent of Police(SSP) Lucknow Akhil Kumar said here the speeding Safari was being driven by 20-year-old Kashif Abbas, son of SP MLA from Gazipur Sadab Fatima.

He said three people have been killed in the incident while seven others have been admitted to the Trauma Centre with serious injuries.

The deceased include Hassan and Rukman, he said. The vehicle, coming at a high speed, first crashed into two motorcycles and then after hitting a roadside betel shop, ran over seven people sleeping on the pavement near Clarkes Awadh Hotel, he said.
While the officials put the death toll at three, locals said five people were crushed to death in the incident. '' The driver of the vehicle(Kasif) has been arrested and a case has been registered under non-intentional murder,''Mr Kumar said. Police sources said medical examination of the accused confirmed he was drunk. A few beer cans were also recovered from the SUV after the incident, they said. The registration of the vehicle was in the name of Ms Sadab Fatima, they added.

Meanwhile, the father of the accused, Sayeed Hasim Haider, an engineer with the state government, is arriving at the state capital this morning. Kashif Abbas, a student of BBA in Delhi, does not have a driving licence in his name, police added

@gd Bhai, would have done dc to the sumo had it not been govt property. As I belong to the same breed it would not have stood me in good light. Regarding plastic surgery well he would be requiring a dentist atleast.
I have the complete info on his department and the officer he is attached to. I plan to call them up on Monday and see their reaction. If they play a deaf year than I would request all fellow bhpians to help me make it a case for atleast departmental action against the driver.
I agree such guys should be banned from the roads.In ceratin parts of the world DUI is a capital offence and especially in Gulf you are charged with attempted murder for DUI.

Driving under the influence should be unpardonable and i don't know when people would be sensible enough to take a serious note of this. Anyways ! Sorry to hear about the incident and hope justice is done.

Even if you give the complaint, at the most the driver may get suspended and after some days, he will resume his duty by bribing some people. This is how the govt employees work. This is reality and we need to accept this. That is why whenever there is an accident, the people will thrash the drivers there itself as they do not have faith in the law. Atleast the person who is not at fault will get some justice.

We live in a socialist country. If you doubt that check the official name for India as changed by Madam Indira. The meaning of that is organised gangs of looters aka govt employees can rape, murder, plunder and pillage and no one can touch them. The citizens are without cover and live in fear unless they become goondas or netas.

Even if his day's pay is withheld, the trade unions will threaten strike and make sure he gets a special promotion for the 'trauma' he has been put to.

He will completely deny he was drunk, and pass the entire blame on to you for reversing into him car. Police will not testify for you, as they have already made clear.

If you are a goonda/neta type or know folks of that type, have private revenge else leave the matter alone and pray that in next life this fellow will be punished by god. That's the best we can do.

Originally Posted by ggkg (Post 810071)
We live in a socialist country. If you doubt that check the official name for India as changed by Madam Indira. The meaning of that is organised gangs of looters aka govt employees can rape, murder, plunder and pillage and no one can touch them. The citizens are without cover and live in fear unless they become goondas or netas.

Even if his day's pay is withheld, the trade unions will threaten strike and make sure he gets a special promotion for the 'trauma' he has been put to.

He will completely deny he was drunk, and pass the entire blame on to you for reversing into him car. Police will not testify for you, as they have already made clear.

If you are a goonda/neta type or know folks of that type, have private revenge else leave the matter alone and pray that in next life this fellow will be punished by god. That's the best we can do.

Very candidly put, indeed. This is the situation pervading our entire nation. I know that even if the HOD intends to take action, unions will prevail on him and make him change his mind.
I'm sorry for what happened, but please don't count on action against that errant driver. It might never happen.
No wonder people take recourse to instant justice all over India.

One thing I forgot to mention -

There are only two crimes in this situation for which legal evidence exists

1. The seizure/theft of govt. property - ie the ID card. This is how it will be painted, believe me.
2. The slapping of a govt. servant (obstruction from duty etc. etc). There is no need for evidence on this, simple statement from driver will do. You are culprit until proven otherwise.

As for the real crimes of the day, it is hearsay, there is no one willing to offer evidence other than the victim.. Hence the whole situation will turn against the victim and he will be made the aggressor and punished.

Long live Indian socialism!

now a days we cant even trust the police men .....

IF I were you, I would track down all three bikers, give them that man's ID cards and go off to sleep. I'm pretty sure atleast a couple of bricks would land up in the drivers' seat, possibly with him inside if not more.

As for action from police - give it up. Or maybe you still believe miracles do happen!

Vikram - Do you have names of the police man present when the driver fled & the PCR car's number?? An email/personal appointment with the Commissioner/Deputy Commissioner of Police will work wonders if you do.

Originally Posted by snaronikar (Post 810052)
Even if you give the complaint, at the most the driver may get suspended and after some days, he will resume his duty by bribing some people. This is how the govt employees work. This is reality and we need to accept this. That is why whenever there is an accident, the people will thrash the drivers there itself as they do not have faith in the law. Atleast the person who is not at fault will get some justice.

Yes true but then what are the police doing just working for the bribes ? WHY is it like that in all situation s when it concern s govt or army or police themselve s their wrong doing s is just not taken care the way it should be ? The reaching of the police after 2 long hours was proof enough man you guy s should have beat the out if that man but then we are going back to jungle law are nt we ?? But a few such trashing s should set them right good thing is there was no loss of life !!