Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 30th December 2019, 00:36   #1

A friend is seriously considering a used Audi R8; what is your opinion?

Hope this is the right section to post mods. Apologies if it isn't.

I'm posting this on behalf of a friend who doesn't have an account here.

Greetings Team-bhp,

I've always liked fast and reliable cars. I've been very fortunate to have owned these cars in the past:

1)Mitsubishi Cedia
2)Hyundai Getz 1.5 CRDi
3)Skoda Octavia vRS(old)
4)Volkswagen Polo gt tsi
5)Volkswagen GTI
6)BMW 330i
7)Skoda Octavia vRS (new)

I currently own a Volvo S60 Polestar, an XC90 and a Maruti gypsy.

I have always wanted to own a sports car and I have had tremendous luck with all my cars in the way that they've always been very reliable. Now I want to scratch that final itch. I have looked at several used examples of the Audis(r8's and rs5's) and a few Porsches but my heart leans towards the r8 v8.

My budget is about 90 lakhs and I am willing to slightly stretch it. What car would you recommend instead if it ticks the following?

1)Has to plaster a smile every time I drive it.
2)Practicality is not extremely important but will appreciate it.
3)Fairly reliable.

Location is Bangalore if you're wondering.

createrkid is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 09:14   #2

re: A friend is seriously considering a used Audi R8; what is your opinion?

Originally Posted by createrkid View Post
Hope this is the right section to post mods. Apologies if it isn't.

I'm posting this on behalf of a friend who doesn't have an account here.
Wow! This IS the Season for people making their Dreams Come True eh?

First that other young bloke with great taste, who has bought himself a Yellow Porsche. Now this gentleman who is keen on an Audi R8.

Well, for what it is worth there is a daffodil yellow Audi TT (2017) sitting in 9th Gear in Koramangala. It looks truly lovely.

If I remember right, from my visit to him on Saturday (day before yesterday), he wanted some 50 odd lacs for it.

I didnt look more closely so I cant remember the other details, but the car did look wonderful. And this price seems nice.

For what it is worth, there are also some couple of nice BMW Z4’ Roadsters (Hardtop convertibles) available at anywhere between 30-50 lacs in Bangalore. I ve seen one of them (I even considered it in an idle manner for myself, until better practical sense prevailed (from my perspective). - it was a dark blue, which is going for 30 lacs. Now that is indeed a lovely car.

According to CarWale there seems to be 2 Audi R8’s available in Bangalore though the asking prices are in the region of 1.1 Cr for one (2013) and 1.6 Cr for the other (2016).

If the person has a budget, and the inclination, then why not deploy it and follow the dream?

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara, and all that sort of thing...

Last edited by shankar.balan : 30th December 2019 at 09:19.
shankar.balan is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 09:44   #3

re: A friend is seriously considering a used Audi R8; what is your opinion?

One thing you might want to look out for is a cracked strut mount. On those earlier R8s, if you go over a pothole too hard then the frame cracks right where the strut mounts to the frame and the icing on the cake is that there is no real right way to fix the damage. Now, India isn't exactly known for its scarcity in potholes so tell your friend to get a thorough inspection done if he decides to get one.
SH1N1G4MI is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 10:08   #4

Re: A friend is seriously considering a used Audi R8; what is your opinion?

1)Has to plaster a smile every time I drive it.
2)Practicality is not extremely important but will appreciate it.
3)Fairly reliable.
Tell him to go for it .

- In terms of practicality, the R8 is just wow. Fast performance & everyday usability. I was pleasantly surprised with how easy it is to drive in Mumbai.

- 90 lakhs is a very healthy budget. He'll easily get a solid piece for that money (if not lower).

- The 4.2 V8 by itself is fantastic, but if he really wants to go ballistic, tell him to look out for the V10.

- Other pre-owned cars to consider would be:
Porsche Cayman (won't have the punch of the R8, but satisfying to drive)
Porsche 911 (my topmost choice for Rs 1 crore)
BMW M3 / M5
Mercedes AMGs
Ford Mustang. Cheap (half of his budget) and surprising amount of fun
GTO is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 10:11   #5

Although I am not very much sure if this suggestion fits in or not. But from the experience of knowing someone who has moved from Porsche 911 to BMW M5, I have noticed that the guy is in love with the M5 in every aspect; be it performance or driving dynamics. And M5 adds a lot more in terms of practicality too. The car has been reliable till date and can be a proper sleeper too if he wishes to.

Check if your friend can live with something a bit lesser exclusive; but a lot more practical, probably more reliable - and yes, something that can come for a far lower price.

I went through OLX, found one in Kochi with 24k kms on odo; for an asking price of 60 lac. GTO vouches for the reliability of BMW cars and that makes the ownership sweeter.

Else he can still look for the likes of C63 AMG or a Mustang.

If nothing else will do - then simply tell him to follow his heart; he won't regret!

Maybe I have started looking for practicality over other aspects in everything, hence pushing the M5 in the mid-engined discussion!

Last edited by VKumar : 30th December 2019 at 10:15.
VKumar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 11:27   #6

There is a wonderfully well maintained Gallardo for sale in Chennai. Yes, the one belonging to the team bhpian. There cant be a better example for a 'showroom' condition than this one. I did suggest this to the other person from Bangalore who was looking for a Gallardo. But yeah, its better to see and believe it rather than take anyone's word. If your friend or anyone is keen, I can put you across to him....
rnair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 13:45   #7

- The 4.2 V8 by itself is fantastic, but if he really wants to go ballistic, tell him to look out for the V10.

- :
fun
Isn’t this V10 the same engine as in the Lambo?
Or was that the V12?
Old 30th December 2019, 14:18   #8

Isn’t this V10 the same engine as in the Lambo?
Or was that the V12?
Yes its the "baby" lambo's engine, Gallardo V10 (made by Audi itself).
V12s are with the bigger Lamborghinis: Miura, Countach, Diablo, Murciélago and now the Aventador.
iamahunter is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 31st December 2019, 11:54   #9

Used one in Bangalore, you have to plan the whole route to avoid speed breakers. Its only for show, even after being careful , god save the skirtings. Mustang is a practical car. Supercars and our roads dont go together.
Frankenstein is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd February 2020, 13:22   #10

Tell him to go for it .

Porsche Cayman (won't have the punch of the R8, but satisfying to drive)
Porsche 911 (my topmost choice for Rs 1 crore)
BMW M3 / M5
Mercedes AMGs
Ford Mustang. Cheap (half of his budget) and surprising amount of fun
Porsche's also come with good reliability. Even though Audi and Porsche both have the same parent, their long term reliability is a little bit better. A friend bought a used Cayenne in Delhi, and is happy how the car is holding up even after running past 100,000kms
tsk1979 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2020, 13:42   #11

I've driven every supercar except for the Veyron.

The Audi R8 was my favorite in this regard. Ground clearance.

It is much higher up than the Lambos and Ferraris.

Ground scraping isn't an issue at all.

What I disliked was people brush it off as an Audi and it doesn't get the true supercar treatment people give to the Italian rides.

I also think the interior could've been a bit more exotic.

The R8 in my opinion isn't a supercar but it's a sensible answer to any speed freak in India.

The V10 sounds nice but nowhere near the Huracan.

If you want to appreciate the R8, drive a BMW M3/GTR and then drive the R8.

In my case I went from Aventador -> Huracan -> R8.
D33-PAC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2020, 17:34   #12

@createrkid
There's an white 4.2 FSI R8 with Big Boyz Toys, your friend could check with them on their website, it's going for just under 80 lacs, looks in fine condition.
TRANSAM is offline   (1) Thanks