Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 4th October 2008, 21:50   #16

Yes this is the first one here in Mumbai.Well guys i agree the alloys are not the most exciting one's,but you do have much better options as well.The owner chose these.well can't help.The car overall has a phenomenal presence.The power domes on the bonnet lid are really exciting to look in person.The instrument cluster is amazing to look at in the night.Have taken those pics on my digicam,would post them soon.

Speedy the car's invoice said an amount of 99 Lakhs,then you know the other charges and stuff.Note the new cover on top of the engine with red outline adn also the new turn indicator's in the ORVM's.The indicator's are going to be standard in all the Mercedes coupe's and roadster's.
Old 4th October 2008, 23:31   #17

that honestly looks babe, hope to see it around soon
Old 5th October 2008, 00:54   #18

Originally Posted by diesel_headrock View Post
Speedy the car's invoice said an amount of 99 Lakhs,then you know the other charges and stuff.Note the new cover on top of the engine with red outline adn also the new turn indicator's in the ORVM's.The indicator's are going to be standard in all the Mercedes coupe's and roadster's.
Diesel correct me if i am wrong the previous generation SL 500 costed in the early 90 lacs range ex showroom and i presume would be around 1.15cr on road. This being a 350 would turn out to be around 1.15cr on road.
According to me the SL 350 should have been in the 75-85 lacs range ex showroom and the SL 500 should have been in the 90-1cr range. This would allow the 350 to compete against the TT and the base 911's. Just my thoughts here.
Old 5th October 2008, 01:10   #19

I hate the rims, and I hate the headlamps. And the bonnet, for that matter. The R129 to me is what the 355 is to Dippy. They lost lost it from there.
Old 5th October 2008, 02:10   #20

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
I hate the rims, and I hate the headlamps. And the bonnet, for that matter. The R129 to me is what the 355 is to Dippy. They lost lost it from there.
Well said. That R129 will always hold a special place for me. I loved that ride I first had in it in 1994.

The R230 isn't too bad. This new one though, bleh.
Old 5th October 2008, 02:45   #21

Love the razor sharp styling....nice aggressive touches added.
Although i'm not too sure about the headlamps, they seem a little ugly in pics atleast...probably seeing it in person would change my opinion.
Old 5th October 2008, 11:08   #22

I saw the new SL in person and I must say that Mercedes-Benz got away with little design changes quite well, the basic structural shape being the same.
Old 23rd November 2008, 15:34   #23
v12

2008 R230 Mercedes SL Class. (Facelifted version)

Seen this silver R230 SL500 in Juhu today. The car looks more muscular with these lights now. There is no change in the rear of the car except for the LED lights. The exhaust tips are more squarish. The side vents are also vertical (as against the horizontal ones on the previous version).
2008 R230 Mercedes SL Class. (Facelifted version)-sl500.jpg  

2008 R230 Mercedes SL Class. (Facelifted version)-sl5001.jpg  

2008 R230 Mercedes SL Class. (Facelifted version)-sl5002.jpg  

Last edited by ajmat : 23rd November 2008 at 23:11.
Old 23rd November 2008, 15:52   #24

Nice catch,Is that some celebritys house in the background?It looks like Amitabh Bachans house.
Old 23rd November 2008, 16:51   #25

Yup I just saw it today as well today afternoon, on the Juhu Beach stretch of road. That, by the way, is a badged 500.
Old 23rd November 2008, 17:01   #26

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
... That, by the way, is a badged 500.
Do you mean it's an AMG?? By the way, the side profile of the facelifted

version looks much better than the earlier one.
Old 23rd November 2008, 17:24   #27

Though I myself own the new SL but I have always liked the way the old one looked...to me the old one was a balanced looking car where as the new one has a front which looks streached.
Old 23rd November 2008, 17:29   #28
v12

No, this is not an AMG. This is a regular SL. What flyingspur means to say is that this maybe a SL350 badged as a 500.
Old 23rd November 2008, 17:30   #29

i dont think its an AMG, but whatever version it is , it has one awesome design.
mercedes are really improving. they were and will always be on TOP
Old 23rd November 2008, 17:55   #30
v12

You're right flyingspur, this is a SL350. These 17 inch wheels are standard equipment on the SL350.