Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 2nd May 2011, 17:16   #1

Diesel Bike for India - Altius Scimitar 650cc

Did anyone hear about the new Altius Scimitar Diesel 650 CC bike going to be launched in India in the next 1 year. I happen to read in the AutoCar Magazine May 2011 issue. It seems the company manufactures for the US Defense and has now started a partnership with Subbu, the ex-CEO of Hyundai India.

This would be the only diesel bike in India. See the link below for the actual news

NEW ISSUE OUT NOW! | Autocar India

Any comments, previews, feedback are welcome!
Old 2nd May 2011, 19:24   #2

Re: Diesel bike for India - Altius Scimitar 650 CC

That is some news! Can you post some specifics?
Old 3rd May 2011, 11:05   #3

Company: Altius Automotive Technologies, Chennai
Headed by: Subbu, Ex head of Hyundai India
Partnership with: Hayes Diversified Technologies, California
Price: 1.5 -1.75 lacs
Launch time frame: 2012
Based on Kawasaki KLR650

Specs:

670 CCSingle cylinder, liquid cooled, 4 stroke, indirect injection(IDI), Diesel
Power: 33 bhp @ 5700 rpm
Torque: 5.4kgm at 3300 rpm
Gearbox: 5 speed
weight: 176kg
Supension: Telescopic forks and linked monoshock for rear
Brakes: Front and back discbrakes
Speedometer: Digital to show both mph and kmph
Tyres: Off roader knobby tyres
Top Speed: 150kmph

All the above information is from AutoCar India Magazine, May 2011 Issue.

It looks like the bike that was tested by Autocar is not for commerical use but only for miltary use. I saw the specs on the company website. ALTIUS - AUTOMOTIVE.
The civilian motorcycle is mentioned here: ALTIUS - AUTOMOTIVE

Last edited by GTO : 3rd May 2011 at 14:36. Reason: Please do NOT post any magazine scans on Team-BHP. We have to respect the copyright of others
Old 3rd May 2011, 13:29   #4

I have always wondered why there is no option for diesel engines for motorcycles! Is it because of the heavier engine? And why isn't it popular?

For a diesel loving country like India, I am sure there are people interested to get their hands on a diesel bike!
Old 3rd May 2011, 13:39   #5

If it is 2 lakhs , I want one . Did they say made in chennai ? , how can we get one ?
Old 3rd May 2011, 14:40   #6

Yep, I remember seeing this on a program shown on The Discovery channel. A diesel motorcycle was developed based on the Kwack KLR650, purely due to unavailability of PERTOL fuel in the battle field. The army tend to carry only diesel to fuel their jeeps, tanks etc. By having a diesel motorcycle in service, they do not need to carry alternate fuel. This was the main reason for developing this bike. The test rides are very successful & they will be commissioning a fleet very soon.
Old 3rd May 2011, 14:57   #7

The Taurus failed big time IIRC. PLus Altius is a new company. I would wish them all the best if their product is good.

BTW what happened to SUbbu's venture at Surajpur plant? Last I heard, it had bombed and conflicts were on. Argentum motors?
Old 3rd May 2011, 15:06   #8

Originally Posted by ajman28 View Post
I have always wondered why there is no option for diesel engines for motorcycles! Is it because of the heavier engine? And why isn't it popular?
The main reason is the exhaust note like an agricultural pump set / DG set!
Old 10th May 2011, 17:01   #9

ACI has uploaded the test drive on their website:

SCOOP! Altius Scimitar, first ride Review

Looks promising... straight from the horse's mouth.
Old 11th May 2011, 09:59   #10

I have been looking for an enduro/dual cross bike. If they launch it in the 2 Lakh range, I am buying one for sure..
Old 11th May 2011, 10:08   #11

I too read ACI - month issue that has an article on this bike. It looks ugly but prospect of a diesel - sounds amusing. I doubt if it would be a hit among commuters or enthusiasts - either way and off roading/ dirt tracks in India on bike... not too popular either. Honda CBR 250 would be far better in this price range.
Old 11th May 2011, 10:56   #12

I would not be surprised if this out-performs any of the Enfields for the Leh-Ladakh rides. Off-roading could become a piece of cake with this one.

Prajwal
Old 11th May 2011, 11:00   #13

As long as the exhaust note does not sound cool, there won't be many takers for this bike. Fuel economy will not be a main criteria at this price range.
Old 11th May 2011, 11:12   #14

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
As long as the exhaust note does not sound cool, there won't be many takers for this bike.
Sorry, but I didn't understand what you meant?
Old 11th May 2011, 11:23   #15

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Sorry, but I didn't understand what you meant?
Remember the "agricultural pumpset" type exhaust of the diesel Bullets of yore?