Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 20th February 2007, 01:19   #1

Bombay speedrun 2 wheeler timings.

Hey! guys,Could someone please post up the timings for the 2 wheelers. Thanks in advance.
Old 20th February 2007, 10:28   #2

hey roach,

which timings are you looking for ?
cause on saturday it was only indian modified bikes and on sunday the big ones all the CBR's, YAMAHA,s and BMW's
the sunday timing for 600cc segment bikes for quater mile run was around 9 to 10 seconds (average).
And trust me , these bikes were really fast.
Old 20th February 2007, 15:41   #3

No 600cc clocked 9 to 10's. And I don't think they ever will. A 10 second run is no joke, even for litre class- forget the 600's.

By the way, the only bike to clock a sub 10 was a yellow R1. TT-9.9.

The other machines that are worth mentioning-2 RD's that clocked 12.5 and 12.7 'ish. Superb. Whupped some of the 400cc imports. The third RD managed a 16 plus. Surprising levels of tuning, considering that the ZMA's clocked mid 16's to mid 17's. More so, when you look at the Ducati 749's timings- both runs clocked mid 11's.

IMHO- for the odd sunday ride or drag runs, don't look farther than the RD- it's the perfect budget bike. For less than a lac, you're looking at some serious velocity.

Last edited by veyron1 : 20th February 2007 at 15:49.
Old 20th February 2007, 16:34   #4

Originally Posted by veyron1 View Post
No 600cc clocked 9 to 10's. And I don't think they ever will. A 10 second run is no joke, even for litre class- forget the 600's.

By the way, the only bike to clock a sub 10 was a yellow R1. TT-9.9.

The other machines that are worth mentioning-2 RD's that clocked 12.5 and 12.7 'ish. Superb. Whupped some of the 400cc imports. The third RD managed a 16 plus. Surprising levels of tuning, considering that the ZMA's clocked mid 16's to mid 17's. More so, when you look at the Ducati 749's timings- both runs clocked mid 11's.

IMHO- for the odd sunday ride or drag runs, don't look farther than the RD- it's the perfect budget bike. For less than a lac, you're looking at some serious velocity.

Hey veyron,

I guess ur right, i think the 9 sec is due to that yamaha R1 which did clock a 9.9 secs and i guess that is still ringing in my mind.
Also from where i was standing it was really difficult to identify these bikes.the cars were easy to identify i guess.
Thanks for the updates though.
But Correct me if am wrong there was this one custom made Kart looking model (in cars section on Sunday run)which really clocked an awesome time and i think it was 1600cc any gyan ?

Thanks .
Old 20th February 2007, 20:57   #5

That "Custom made kart" is a tube-frame with Honda city vtec engine.
Belongs to Baban khan.
Old 20th February 2007, 21:37   #6

. . . . and clocked a 14.xx time. btw, ti think one of the bikes, gsxr 1000 hit a 10.010 as well, same gsxr form the 2006 speedrun.

manson.
Old 21st February 2007, 01:25   #7

Hmmmmm! Seems like good timings. Could some of the mumbaikars please post the timings for every category.
1. ABOVE 80 - 110CC Two Stroke Group B
2. ABOVE 111 - 150CC Two Stroke Group B
3. ABOVE 261 - 360CC Two Stroke Group B
4. ABOVE 81 - 110CC Four Stroke Group B
5. ABOVE 111 - 160CC Four Stroke Group B
6. ABOVE 161 - 250CC Four Stroke Group B
7. 350 CC and Above Four Stroke Group B
8. INDIAN OPEN Group B
1. Up to 500 CC Group A
2. 501 to 750 CC Group A
3. 751 CC and Above Group A
4. Open class. This class is open to all , Indian bikes with Foreign engines, Foreign bikes and Specials (internal combustion engines only)
5. Wheelie - FASTEST wheelie over 1/8 mile
Just need the official timings.

Last edited by TheCockroach : 21st February 2007 at 01:29.
Old 21st February 2007, 16:10   #8

http://www.autocarindia.com/new/Imag...ke_results.jpg
Official figure from autocar india for bikes
Old 22nd February 2007, 00:10   #9

Neat! thanx mate. Much oblidged.
Old 22nd February 2007, 10:38   #10

X 100 ! ! !

did you guys noticed the timings????

the victor (a 110 cc bike) out performing CBZ race built machine. I wonder what the race built mean, is it a purpose built or a team name??

What with those 4stroke 80-110 cc bike category??? can the bajaj byk (80 cc), can it be raced.

and inderjit sharma with pulsar 180 doing wheelie, is it for 400m or 200m???

the shaolin matching the performance of Honda CBR 400. I know the shaolin is a two stroke but still. May be the CBR were in theri stock form, while the shaolin might stipped to its bare bones.

yamaha R1, 9.95 sec !! man is this a new indian quarter mile record???
Old 22nd February 2007, 12:35   #11

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
and inderjit sharma with pulsar 180 doing wheelie, is it for 400m or 200m???
All wheelie events were 200m.
Old 22nd February 2007, 16:03   #12

The 600s are already clocking 11.1x. The litres are clocking 9.9x. Abroad, you would see a 9.00 for a litre/1300 and 9.7x for a 600. With good riders, good strips, good rubber, and cooler weather, that's the quantum of difference.

The other machines that are worth mentioning-2 RD's that clocked 12.5 and 12.7 'ish. Superb. Whupped some of the 400cc imports.

Not surprising, considering these are fully stripped 2-stroke 350s competing against laden 4-stroke 400s. That 50cc difference and more is negated by the 2-stroke advantage. And it would be misleading to think you can get Baban Khan's setup for less than a lakh.

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
That "Custom made kart" is a tube-frame with Honda city vtec engine.
Belongs to Baban khan.
That chassis was designed by Karivardhan. It has held almost every record, at one time or another. Drag, track, hillclimb etc. It was running a B15 Indian Vtec with a D15 intake setup and a single shot nitrous kit.
Old 22nd February 2007, 16:46   #13

Originally Posted by v1p3r
The 600s are already clocking 11.1x. The litres are clocking 9.9x. Abroad, you would see a 9.00 for a litre/1300 and 9.7x for a 600. With good riders, good strips, good rubber, and cooler weather, that's the quantum of difference.
A 600 cannot, and will not clock a sub 10 under normal circumstances (read-without NOS); anywhere. Just check out these average timings;

eSportbike.com - News - Quarter Mile Times

Stock busas clock 9.8-9.9's abroad, in the states. But that's just the rider difference. We could've seen sub-10 runs here too, provided the riders got it right.

Originally Posted by v1p3r
Not surprising, considering these are fully stripped 2-stroke 350s competing against laden 4-stroke 400s. That 50cc difference and more is negated by the 2-stroke advantage. And it would be misleading to think you can get Baban Khan's setup for less than a lakh.
If you remember, one of the CBRs and a ZZR were completely stripped too. And the difference is 50cc and 2 cylinders. My point is that the RD is a real competent machine for that sort of money. And yes, you can get that sort of setup, including the bike, for under a Lac. Also, one of those RD's were overbored to 400cc...
Old 22nd February 2007, 17:00   #14

Why are people surprised that a 2 stroke 350cc bike would post faster times than a 400cc 4 stroke? That's how it should be. The 2 strokes have a weight advantage and (technically) power advantage.

But, the state of most 2 strokes in the country mean that they don't stand much of a chance against the 4 stroke 400's here.

And about my ZZR, c'mon veyron. Do you have any idea how heavy the bike is (221 kg is the official figure without fuel)? But yet, I still managed a time that would be good enough for 4th 2 stroke 350 class and almost 1 second ahead of the 350LC in my class. That's only because 98% of the RD's and LC's in the country are in terrible shape.

To get an idea of what a decent 2 stroke would do, look at the NSR400. That bike flies! And its not running at 100% either!
Old 22nd February 2007, 17:04   #15

Well, I have not ridden a Busa or anything, but I have seen Ninja 636s do 9.77 seconds on dragstrips. Now if you were to ask if I'm sure about nitrous, no, I'm not, but I guess people tell the truth normally. Stock ZX-14Rs are clocking 9.7x by journalists, without being even run in fully.

A good RD in India costs 60k, if that. And then the amount of time and money spent to get it to 12.xx would be a hell of a lot more than 40k. Or we would have 10 people doing that sort of time by now.

I think the gaps in rider talent are narrowing. Now it comes down to track temperatures, the condition of the bikes, grip levels, etc.