Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 19th March 2021, 12:36   #16

Re: 2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs

if I remember correctly, the new 10R costs around 18.3 OTR Mumbai. At this price its still way cheaper than what I paid for my 2016 CBU bike and makes it handsdown the cheapest litre superbike in the country.

Bike to bike - the Gen 6 has more committed ergos, TFT dash and better aeros than the Gen 5. The motor, suspension hardware (to an extent) and brakes remain the same as Gen 5.

For reference, the base S1000RR and Panigale v4 are both upwards of 24lakhs OTR.

I am not even going to quote Honda for reference and they can seriously take a leaf out of Kawasaki India's book on pricing.

Off-topic: Eagerly waiting to see where does the new Busa land at.
narula123 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th March 2021, 19:52   #17

Re: 2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs

That’s Bangalore for you:
2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-88f3272aec534f45832a6d9070398d7a.jpeg  

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-c0666c9b274242b3907ba31fe41936de.jpeg  

kryogesh is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th March 2021, 21:33   #18

Originally Posted by kryogesh View Post
The road tax as per the rate they have provided - 19.98% is a few hundreds below 300k. It should be under 301k including RTO charges. Are they shamelessly asking for 35k+ handling charges on top of the profits they make from insurance sales?

I can understand dealers selling budget 100cc bikes wanting handling charges, but these guys with their good profit margins should stop this pathetic practice (Especially on a bike which went up by Rs.100k on a $600 bump in US). That too when the dealership looks worse than my nearby Jockey showroom.

Last edited by theredliner : 19th March 2021 at 21:35.
theredliner is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th March 2021, 07:07   #19

Originally Posted by theredliner View Post
I can understand dealers selling budget 100cc bikes wanting handling charges, but these guys with their good profit margins should stop this pathetic practice (Especially on a bike which went up by Rs.100k on a $600 bump in US). That too when the dealership looks worse than my nearby Jockey showroom.
And not to forget their attitude and sub-standard service experience at Kawasaki showroom (I’ve heard horror stories @ their Bangalore showroom).

In Europe the profit margin used to be around 12%. Dealers there usually gave discounts between 8-12% (so selling nearly with no profits) and made money with service and accessories.

There is no competition between dealers here and Kawasaki’s overall pricing is quite competitive. So, they would want to rip you off at every opportunity they get.

But once you crank up the beauty and twist your wrist, all this will fizzle out amidst the exhaust note!

Last edited by kryogesh : 20th March 2021 at 07:09. Reason: Spell check
kryogesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2021, 00:23   #20

Well with all the talk going on about pricing and handling charges and what not, i paid a princely sum of 15.15 OTR DELHI for my 2019 zx10r and apart from the tft display on the new incoming model, and the led lights i wont miss that much the stock headlights on the previous model are attrocious to say the least! With regards to servicing costs delhi has 2 dealers for kawasaki unlike the poor souls in bangalore and i got my 12k service done last month at aurrum kawasaki for 7K , absolutely love the kwacker service unbeatable value for money compared to the other brands period!
Born 2 Be Wild is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2021, 15:12   #21

Originally Posted by kryogesh View Post
So thats back to Gen 5 CBU prices. I remember paying 19.2 change for my CBU bought from Bangalore in 2016.
Considering its just TFT and LEDs which are cost-addons over the 2019/20 bike, the jump over previous model is quite comprehensive (i think someone mentioned it earlier in the thread too)
Old 4th April 2021, 20:21   #22

Kawasaki India has begun deliveries of the 2021 Ninja ZX-10R. The first bikes were handed over to customers in Mumbai.

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-20210404_201948.jpg

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-20210404_201952.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th April 2021, 08:04   #23

Ok with all these absurd prices, I hope the used ZX 10 R will look more lucrative price wise.

They are charging 20+ lacs but the after sales service still remains shitty.
Old 5th April 2021, 09:54   #24

Originally Posted by no_fear View Post
...but the after sales service still remains shitty.
I thought this was the case mainly in Bangalore! Looks like it’s the case all around
Old 5th April 2021, 10:03   #25

kryogesh, its a pan-India issue.

Sadly Kawasaki doesn't care and doesn't seem to care. I had a Z1000 before and every time I went back for servicing, usual spiel was "part nehi hain, baad mein aana" or "saar, upgrade kar lo"

Sold it in frustration and bought a KTM Duke 390. Never been happier.
no_fear is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2021, 21:21   #26

When the new generation of the Kawasaki ZX10R was launched, the global criticism for its styling was overwhelming. I got a chance to check out the new ZX10R in the Cochin dealership and I can confirm that if you thought the styling was bad in pictures and videos, it is actually worse once you step into the showroom. And I say this despite being one of the biggest fans of the ZX10R on this forum!

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100001-large.jpg
Seriously ...

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100019-large.jpg
.. who approved this front end?

Prior to reaching the showroom, my friends and I were confident that from a paint scheme perspective, the black one looked a lot better than the green one. Once we walked in, we quickly realized that the green paint scheme, though overdone, is a lot better than the black one, which looks tacky. Seriously, what were Kawasaki's designers thinking?

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100007-large.jpg

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100008-large.jpg

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100009-large.jpg

As for the bike itself, the seating position felt a little more aggressive than the previous generation. The dash finally has gone digital (a few years too late) but it is small and the same thing as what you get on the other 650, 900, 1000 cc Kawasakis, but with a few more features.

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100010-large.jpg

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100018-large.jpg

If I had to buy a new ZX10R, I would wait for the new colours to be updated for the next year and then make a booking. Those options certainly cant be worse than the 2021 paint schemes being sold in the Indian market.

If I had to by a ZX10R, I would just buy a pre-worshipped bike. The new one is not something that I could see parked in my garage.

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR unveiled. Edit: Launched at 14.99 lakhs-p4100020-large.jpg
neil.jericho is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 10th April 2021, 21:31   #27

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post

If I had to by a ZX10R, I would just buy a pre-worshipped bike. The new one is not something that I could see parked in my garage.
You took the words straight from my mouth. Just saw the new one at the Kawasaki West Delhi showroom. That front air intake is hideous. Looks like someone tried to copy the Yamaha R1 and then gave up half way.

But junta are excited it seems. Already a few orders placed for the model and some are trading in the old ones for the new.

I hope can pick up a well maintained ZX 10R in the next few years. Fingers crossed
Old 10th April 2021, 22:54   #28
S15

Honestly, I dont really think it looks as bad as some of the people here make it out to be.

S15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2021, 00:27   #29

Originally Posted by no_fear View Post
Ok with all these absurd prices, I hope the used ZX 10 R will look more lucrative price wise.

They are charging 20+ lacs but the after sales service still remains shitty.
Well, unless you checked Delhi prices, you would not be saying so. For the record, the OTR price for the 10R in Delhi is approximately Rs. 16.5 lakhs, give or take a few thousand. Secondly, I have been more than happy with Kawasaki service and support for my Ninja 1000 (now sold) and currently my 10R. It's far, far better then the poor souls with their Bimmers and Ducatis in our riding group .

Last edited by Aditya : 11th April 2021 at 08:07. Reason: Grammar, typos
Born 2 Be Wild is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2021, 13:51   #30

Originally Posted by Born 2 Be Wild View Post
Secondly, I have been more than happy with Kawasaki service and support for my Ninja 1000 (now sold) and currently my 10R. It's far, far better then the poor souls with their Bimmers and Ducatis in our riding group .
In your previous post you mentioned that you did the servicing at Aurum Kawasaki. Did you get your ZX 10 R from them? Aurum is new to the scene and run a good shop + service. I think they have been around since 2017.

Can't say the same for the other dealer at Naraina. Had given my previous Ninja 1000 for servicing there - they dropped it on another parked bike, dented the tank and handed back the bike to me. Told me to claim from insurance. The service manager there had a really bad attitude and was later fired for pilfering and theft.

Individual experience with service centers is highly subjective and often makes / breaks the brand image. I got my Hypermotard from Ducati Naraina and although everything with regards to Ducati is overpriced and overinflated in India, my experience with the guys there has been smooth and professional.

As the adage goes - YMMV (your mileage may vary)