Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 29th August 2024, 12:14   #16

Re: My Journey - The Honda CBR650R

Hey Vinbex,

Can you post a review about the RoadHound tyres please?

Id really love to know about the wet/dry grip. Tyre life and if its rounded enough for sport riding.
Old 30th August 2024, 13:37   #17

As far as I have ridden, mostly on good highways which are dry, the grip has been excellent. Last ride, I got to ride on some wet roads and at good speeds, they performed decently well. Mind you, I have not pushed the tyres under any circumstances, these have been normal usage.
One thing I noticed is, on gravel/sandy surfaces, these tyres are not too comfortable and start losing traction quite quickly. Had ridden on unpaved roads for quite a distance and it kept losing grip with traction light coming on, and on the last ride, a steep camber and 90 degree turn with loose gravel resulted in losing grip, but fortunately I was able to control the bike.
Old 2nd September 2024, 08:09   #18

Originally Posted by vinbex View Post
Hey all, A few things I noticed:
Congratulation for accruing such a beautiful and practical bike. As you said almost 80% of bikers over here who wish to buy a super sport might have dreamt of owning one including me. I had test ridden CB650R in 2022 and oh boy engine and ergonomic is spot on. And above all CBR650R its a stunner, perfectly suited for our road condition. Are you considering to reregister in KL and did you have any problem with cops or mvd stopping seeing an out of state reg bike.
Old 2nd September 2024, 13:13   #19

Originally Posted by Turbosailor View Post
Congratulation for accruing such a beautiful and practical bike. As you said almost 80% of bikers over here who wish to buy a super sport might have dreamt of owning one including me. I had test ridden CB650R in 2022 and oh boy engine and ergonomic is spot on. And above all CBR650R its a stunner, perfectly suited for our road condition. Are you considering to reregister in KL and did you have any problem with cops or mvd stopping seeing an out of state reg bike.
It is definitely a fun bike to have. Does not go like a missile, but you feel good every time you open the throttle. And maintenance is easier/cheaper compared to its counterparts.
Regarding the registration, I haven't been stopped by cops yes. Have been using it mostly on highways though. I have a TN address in any case and work ID card from there. SO, it might not be a problem.
vinbex is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 10:13   #20

Just a small update. Have not been riding much. Faced an issue for the first time. I usually take the bike for a short spin every weekend, maybe 2-3kms because it has been idle for the whole week. While cranking after 5 days, I noticed a different sound from the engine. It sounded more like a twin cylinder motor rather than the usual four cylinder. To put it more clearly, I could hear the 'dug dug' sound instead of the smooth 'grr'. I rode it for a short distance, did not feel anything.
Next week, tried starting and again it happened and it was worrisome. I spoke to Sanjay from Fmotors and he felt it could be the spark plugs. Bike is at 39000kms now. He said, ride it and see if there is a power loss or anything weird. So, I took some time off and took the bike for a spin that night. When I cranked the engine, it took sometime to start and then the revs came down and the bike switched off. I started it again, again the revs came down, but I revved the engine slightly, then it caught on and started idling normally. Rode it for 25kms without any issues and the engine sounding normal.
Took a short ride to Travelounge (160kms) the next weekend just to ensure everything was okay and I am happy to say that the issue has not resurfaced. The engine is sounding normal, the idling is normal. My friend as well as Sanjay suggested that it maybe due to the lack if usage. Not sure what was wrong, but now it has been resolved.
The OEM spark plugs cost around Rs. 2300/- per plug and we need 4 of them. I'll be changing them in the next service.

If anybody has any idea or have faced a similar issue, please let me know.

Attaching pictures from the short spin.

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241017-10.07.29.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241017-10.09.11.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241017-10.09.11-1.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241017-10.07.29-1.jpeg
Old 17th October 2024, 12:18   #21

The OEM spark plugs cost around Rs. 2300/- per plug and we need 4 of them. I'll be changing them in the next service.

If anybody has any idea or have faced a similar issue, please let me know
Worth checking the ignition coils and spark plug wires I guess. Before you go with the expensive sparkplug change. I think the 650 motor has two coils controlling two cyls each. So it might be cutting out two cyls and that's maybe why your bike sounds like a twin at idle. Just a suggestion.

https://www.bike-parts-honda.com/hon...57/F30/2/48080

EDIT: Found this thread on the older 650F which had a similar motor

https://650f.bike/threads/2-cylinder...g-reason.2101/

Last edited by b16h22 : 17th October 2024 at 12:22.
b16h22 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 13:57   #22

If you have to, take out one spark plug and check which brand and model number is it. If they are nearing end of their life, all of them need to be changed. If it was just one or two of them ( would be impossible for bike to make same power, she'd ride like a CD100.) Honda doesn't makes spark plugs. They should be Bosch or NGK. You can source them from outside. Do not replace with any other plug but the specified model.
While worn out plugs may cause things you mentioned, the problem wouldn't rectify itself. Not on riding. Not on riding for 150 kms.
Entsurgeon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 09:24   #23

Thanks @Entsurgeon and b16h22 for the inputs.
I will definitely have the coils and the plugs checked next time. Any idea how much the coils would cost? If the issue resurfaces before that, I will take him directly to Sanjay and open it up. I have to travel around 80kms for any work to be done on the bike.
I had an issue on my R3 wherein the engine used to cut off at stand still or low speed in traffic even after new plugs were installed. Fellow owners suggested the ignition coil change, but it turned out to be clutch cable issue.
For now, the CBR is running fine. Will keep posted.
Old 30th December 2024, 11:00   #24

Been a while since I posted here. Not much to update and got busy with life. Blessed with a son (someone who can be my ride buddy in a few years time).
On the bike front, the owners of the CBR650 R and F in Kerala got together and planned a meetup on 21st of December 2024 at Tonico Cafe, Chalakudy, Thrissur. Since this was around 30kms from my place, I thought I should make it as people from Trivandrum and Kochi and Calicut were joining in. Initial number was around 14, but 10 bikes turned up.

It was indeed a very rare sight to see 10 CBR 650R's and F's on road and we had a lot of fun. Spent some time at the cafe, filled up our tummies a bit and the rode to a small dam nearby which had decent roads and then we went on our ways. It was great experience to meet fellow owners and listen to their experiences. I usually don't go for group rides, but this was different. It was definitely worth it!

Sharing a few pics from the ride. Not sure if the Youtube link works. I am a newbie (Please excuse)

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241230-09.15.35.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241230-09.15.34.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241230-09.14.55.jpeg

Oh, and another news is I got a second hand Karizma R for my daily running. It is a 2013 end model, was in good shape, picked it up for a decent deal. Who hasn't drooled over the Karizma in our childhood. In a way, it is a childhood dream come true. It had a few issues like choked carb, faulty starter motor and speedo cable not functioning, torn seat cover etc. But fixing it was cheap and now it runs like how it should!
A few pics of him as well next to the big one.

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241230-09.42.31-1.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20241230-09.42.31.jpeg
vinbex is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 6th February 2025, 09:57   #25

A quick query. Have noticed this issue a couple of times now. There was coolant draining from the drain pipe, say around 75-100ml after a couple of rides. They were not rides per say. One was a short ride through some empty streets in the city with short bursts of acceleration and the second was a highway ride where I ended up losing my way and checking the map every two minutes with the bike in neutral and running. After both these, there was coolant coming out from the drain pipe below.
But on my way back through the highway, with no stops literally, there was no draining.
The temperature never shot up at any point nor does the bike behave differently. I have to check the coolant level and top it up if its low.

Can anyone guide me as to what could the underlying issue?
It is currently on Engine ICE coolant(replaced less than a year ago), no mechanical mods except for BMC air filter. Engine oil and filter changed 2000 kms back.

Here are a few pics from some short rides.
My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20250114-10.10.29.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20250114-10.12.04.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20250114-10.12.27.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20250114-10.13.05.jpeg

My Journey  - The Honda CBR650R-whatsapp-image-20250114-10.27.14.jpeg
vinbex is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th February 2025, 11:06   #26

The previous owner had a Mivv exhaust on this bike! Did you remove that and replace it with the stock one?
Old 6th February 2025, 11:10   #27

There is no issue with your bike, its just that your fng overfilled the coolant reservoir. Coolant expands when the bike is hot and any extra coolant flows out from the overflow pipe.
There is nothing to worry. It's a common misconception in bikes that the coolant has to be filled till the top line of the reservoir, like in the cars. However, if you might have noticed, when the factory service center replaces the coolant, it does not fill it till the upper level mark, as per them, the coolant should reach that mark once it is completely heated up, so that there is no overflow.
Enjoy the bike.. nothing to worry!

A quick query. Have noticed this issue a couple of times now. There was coolant draining from the drain pipe, say around 75-100ml after a couple of rides.
Can anyone guide me as to what could the underlying issue?
It is currently on Engine ICE coolant(replaced less than a year ago), no mechanical mods except for BMC air filter. Engine oil and filter changed 2000 kms back.
Old 6th February 2025, 13:28   #28

Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
There is no issue with your bike, its just that your fng overfilled the coolant reservoir. Coolant expands when the bike is hot and any extra coolant flows out from the overflow pipe.

The previous owner had an Akra, not a MIvv, I switched to stock when I took delivery.
I am just worried because, I have ridden in worse traffic situations, yet this has never happened and then suddenly to happen twice successively made me a bit skeptical.
Old 3rd March 2025, 10:40   #29
LJP

Congratulations, mate! I’ve never owned a superbike myself, but I’ve had the opportunity to ride a few, including an R1, thanks to some generous friends. Right now, I’m considering the Honda CBR650R. I’m not looking for track-level power, but I don’t want something too underpowered either. I feel the 650R offers the perfect balance for my needs. I’m particularly interested in the red color. Do you think it’s better to go for a brand new bike, or would a used one be a good option? Will there be significant depreciation for the used ones? If not, I’m leaning toward buying new.
Old 4th March 2025, 09:37   #30

Originally Posted by LJP View Post
Congratulations, mate! I’ve never owned a superbike myself, but I’ve had the opportunity to ride a few, including an R1, thanks to some generous friends. Right now, I’m considering the Honda CBR650R. I’m not looking for track-level power, but I don’t want something too underpowered either. I feel the 650R offers the perfect balance for my needs. I’m particularly interested in the red color. Do you think it’s better to go for a brand new bike, or would a used one be a good option? Will there be significant depreciation for the used ones? If not, I’m leaning toward buying new.
Well, The 650R does not offer mindboggling power like the Z900 or the older Daytona, but it is more than sufficient for touring and occasional sprints or track days. Cruises effortlessly at 140kmph roads permitting. If you are used to riding the R1 or litre class bikes, the CBR 650R may feel underpowered. But coming from a 300cc, I found it as the perfect upgrade.

If you have the budget and plan to keep it for a long time, get the new one. Though not entirely different from the outgoing model, it has new TFT display, revised front fascia and tail section and a larger exhaust opening (louder sound) in addition to blacked out engine, forks etc. It also has around 6bhp more compared to the older one. Older models will be mostly from 2022-2023 years(already 2-3years old) and owners will ask you anything between 9-10 lakhs.
You may want to check out the Daytona 660 as well. Though its a triple, its a well sorted out machine. Gets ride modes as well, but marginally more expensive to maintain in terms of parts.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com