|
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 4,546 views |
![]() | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2013 Location: New Delhi
| Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! Background I currently own a Super Meteor 650 which I have in my garage since Sep ’23. I got back to biking after a gap of about 7-8 years, and my purpose of getting back on the saddle was clear right from the start – Majorly touring / leisure. I’ve maintained that line over the course of ownership, having done a long 2-week trip on the bike (Delhi-Goa-Delhi), and a few short ones (Places <300-250 kms from Delhi). I bike to work occasionally, but that’s not the primary reason I got the bike for. Another thing is that I tour with my wife, so it’s always Two-up riding. While I was buying the bike 1.5 years ago, I was torn between the SM650 and KTM 390 Adv. I test rode both the bikes multiple times and the heart was set at the RE, even though I knew that the KTM was a more practical choice. Cut to 2025, having ridden the bike over 9000 KMs, I have no regrets whatsoever. The bike rides like a charm on well-made roads and I just want to keep cruising every time I’m riding on such roads. However, I also acknowledge the limitations my current bike has - whenever I hit a rough patch, I still go back to think about the KTM! Present Day Now, as I plan to ride to other places wherein the road conditions may not necessarily be in my favor, I feel it’s time to move to on to something which is much more comfortable yet brings the same level of Joy as the SM650 on good roads. ADVs hence, are the obvious choice.
The Future? Vstrom 800DE: Last weekend, I went for a short (7-8 KMs) test ride on the bike and was blown away with the power the bike has (I’ve never previously ridden a big bike). The bike felt comfortable over bad roads – purposely rode over a 2 kms stretch of unpaved roads, and did not feel the need to slow down. On the heat front – Did feel some heat in city on my legs; would need a longer Test Ride to check in case it persists on the highway as well. Weight: while it’s not much lighter than my SM 650, it does feel super nimble while on the move, and I don’t see a challenge on that front. The seating position was good as well, albeit I found myself searching for the footpegs quite a few times, but that’s mostly because I’m now accustomed to SM 650’s forward set footpegs. Overall, I enjoyed my time on the bike and would now want to take it on a longer test ride, closer to finalization. On the financial front, I’ve been quoted 12.2 Lakhs OTR Delhi. Some additional accessories would add another 1-1.5L, taking the total dent to about 13.5L. Transalp 750: I have not ridden the bike yet, and I was not planning to as well – considering the 2025 version is on its way to India and might launch in the next couple of months. I was holding the test ride for the new version. However, I saw some handsome offers running on the current bike, which got me curious, and I called the dealer up to check. As it turns out, it’s currently being offered at about 11L OTR, which is almost 1.5-2L discount V/s the launch price! This offer seemed too tempting; hence, I checked with them in case they have a TD vehicle available, which they do! I now plan to have a test ride by sometime next week and see how it goes. The Dilemma |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 14 BHPians Thank Abh1nav for this useful post: | blue_wizard_v12, brownkaiser, dhruvritzed, drrajasaravanan, evil_grin, gharika, Guru_Shikhar, InControl, NitNac, sanjayrozario, shyamg28, Ssquare, t3rm1n80r, White Aviator |
|
![]() | #3 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Gurgaon
| re: Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! In my humble opinion, for two up touring one of the biggest factors that come into play is seat length, seat comfort and space left for luggage after two up. Considering these factors, the bigger ADVs because of their size advantage will always hold an upper hand over bikes like Himalyan or 390 ADV. I would always recommend Himalyan or 390 ADV to most people over middle weights for touring but in your case for two up riding maybe the middle weight ADVs is the way to go. Out of Transalp and Suzuki, from the reviews that I have seen, for off-road or broken roads, Suzuki's suspension is more comfortable and pliant. Honda is more sporty in its engine character and dynamics as well. Although the difference between the two here will not be much and will come down to personal preferences. Personally, I feel with the current discounts the Transalp is a great deal. If you have a good Honda service center near you, it might be the a very good choice. CHEERS!! Rachit |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 8 BHPians Thank Rachit.K.Dogra for this useful post: | Abh1nav, drrajasaravanan, evil_grin, gauravanekar, Guru_Shikhar, InControl, sanjayrozario, Sebring |
![]() | #4 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2021 Location: Pune
| Re: Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! Quote:
Thinking of an upgrade over the current bike, the first one available is the NX500. I did like it a lot but a few bhpians are facing some issues with their bike and there's one whose bike is pulling to one side with no fix in site. This made me want to skip and think beyond it as I would want a worry free bike when I am spending such a princely sum. Next available are the Transalp & 800DE duo. Both amazing bikes and anyone will be happy going either way but there are a few points to keep in mind: 1. Both are heavy bikes and come with tube type tyres. There are sealing tape based conversion kits but do check their availability. You can fit the Africa Twin tubeless spoke wheels on the Transalp but its a costly affair. 2. The 800DE is more comfortable suspension wise and has a very creamy smooth engine, the Transalp in comparison may not have such a pliant feeling suspension but is still good and it offers a more exciting fun to ride engine with an exhaust note to match that. 3. Fuel tank on the 800DE is larger so it will take you longer but it does feel top heavy whereas the Transalp feels lighter and easier to maneuver. 4. The headlamp I believe is better on the 800DE as compared to the Transalp. Many do say the Trasalp needs a set of Aux lights for touring but I cannot verify this so you'll have to check this out. Maybe request the showroom if you can keep the bike overnight which I think I've read was offered by Suzuki to a bhpian whereas the Honda guys sent a chaperone on another bike to ride along. 5. The 800DE comes with the quickshifter and overall is better equipped whereas Honda charges a bomb for any accessory and the quickshifter isn't available for purchase in India so owners have to import it if they want one. The screen of the 800DE is well laid out, easy to use system but I don't know if it has bluetooth connectivity. The Transalp on the other hand comes with a very nice Honda Roadsync bluetooth system which works flawlessly. 6. The pillion comfort is a prime consideration for me and maybe for you as well and in this case I found the 800DE pillion seat to be a bit shorter in length which results in the pillion sitting a bit close and having less airflow. The Transalp in comparison has a comfortable seat which is larger and more accomodating. This should answer your second question and thinking beyond this duo, the Tiger 900 range, BMW F900 GSA and the Africa twin are available. All come with a tubeless spoke wheel option and many more features but you'll be spending well over 15 lakhs for these. It's upto you how much you are willing to spend, I personally won't be willing to shell out 15+ at the moment but I still have some time to upgrade and things can change but if they do, it'll mostly be for the tubeless setup and comfort oriented features like cruise control. Coming to the third point, the Trasalp at 11 lakhs OTR is an amazing deal. Don't wait for any price cut on import duty reduction as the companies may not choose to pass on the benefit and you're already offered a great price. The new one comes with a better headlamp and the suspension is tuned better they say and that's all, not much change from the current bike. I don't know how long one will have to wait to get that bike and what price it'll be offered at. A point to note is that the Honda accessories for Transalp are extremely expensive but are well designed. You might want to have the crash guards, sump guard and aux lights so if you're able to get a good deal on these and anything else you need if bought along with the bike then it would be a sweet deal. Hope this helps and there are many well written ownership threads available for both the bikes you're considering so do check those out. Last edited by White Aviator : 13th April 2025 at 09:09. Reason: Fixed typos | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 5 BHPians Thank White Aviator for this useful post: | Abh1nav, Guru_Shikhar, HTC, InControl, pachchu77 |
![]() | #5 | ||
I did in fact try out the Transalp today. Both bikes have their advantages, but the transalp feels more closer to my riding style - the power delivery is linear, unlike the Vstrom. The seat on the Transalp is in fact much better, especially for the pillion and the overall rider triangle feels better as well. However the suspension on the Transalp leaves a bit to be desired Vs the Vstrom 800, which just glides over bad roads. Tubed tyres on both is the bigger bummer IMHO. Irrespective of the bike I pick, I will stick to aftermarket tubeless conversions. The AT tyres on the Transalp feel too pricey at about 1.2 Lakhs. On the deal front, while the Transalp is cheaper V/s the Vstrom by about 1.5Lakhs OTR, there are some serious omissions on the Transalp notably the sump guard, which alone costs about 50K! ![]() Spoke to the SA about the availability of the new Transalp, to which he obviously replied by saying it'll not come before the end of the year (probably was just trying to push the sale). I'll probably be doing more Test rides over the next few weeks to decide between the two. I'm currently not thinking about the BMW 900 / Tiger 900 as they're way above the budget, and adding accessories would just push it further. Last edited by Abh1nav : 13th April 2025 at 19:46. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Abh1nav for this useful post: | pachchu77, Redline6800, White Aviator |
![]() | #6 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2016 Location: Bangalore
It’s interesting to know that’s how your riding style is, especially coming from an RE650. The Vstrom felt so similar in how the torque is used to give power early, that it makes overtaking and simple throttle twists so much fun. You should note that the Vstrom’s suspension is fully adjustable, front & back, with a remote preload adjuster on the back as well. This allows you to dial in the perfect setup based on your needs. Whether two up with luggage, or just the two of you’ll, just you on a fast breakfast run, etc. many variations to play around with. In my opinion, try to ask for a longer test ride along with your pillion, that will help understand what works. But, 2L less than the Vstrom goes very much in the favour of the Transalp. Unless you’re doing any proper off-roading, or are encountering very bad roads, a sump guard can be considered at a later date, and from a good third-party company at a cheaper cost. The lights on both bikes are quite bad tbh, and and a set of aux lights are a welcome addition regardless of which bike you pick. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank kaushalswarup for this useful post: | Abh1nav, b16h22, pachchu77, shyamg28 |
![]() | #7 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Bangalore
I've clocked just over 5k kms on my TransAlp in just under a year of ownership, so can share some insights. The current ongoing discounts make the pricing of the TransAlp more palatable or indeed attractive. This bike has a fantastic motor - docile below 4,000 rpm, but nuts beyond 6500 rpm. Fantastic gearshift and the quickshifter (approx 17k) is the icing on the cake. I got one and it makes highway riding a breeze. Motor pulls along happily at 30-35 kmph in 3rd gear, which is also nice. Engine heat management as I have said previously on this forum is excellent. Ive started using 95 octane for the last couple of tanks and that has negated the snatchy throttle in city conditions. The TransAlp also sounds great at low speeds, with a lovely burble, which I love. Instead of Honda accessories (overpriced!) - you can either go for Hepco & Becker or SW Motech. These are approximately half the cost of Honda accesories and better quality. I went for SW Motech Sump Guard (27,500) , crash bars (23,500) and mainstand (19,900), which totalled approx 70k after discount. I've only ridden solo and with minimal luggage and the suspension is not a deal breaker for sure. The Honda Roadsync app allows you to access your GPS, spotify via handlebar switches and it is a very underrated feature. I listen to music while riding in city, so ability to change tracks, increase volume, pause or skip tracks is a great feature to have. Last edited by Redline6800 : 14th April 2025 at 16:03. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Redline6800 for this useful post: | ashwinbalachand, shyamg28 |
![]() | #8 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2023 Location: Pune
| Re: Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! If your heart is set out to TA750 or 800DE absolutely go for it, both are great vehicles. From my exp(riding with pillion for 3-4K trips), 390 Adv is quite comfortable for 2up riding even without the adjustable suspension, Heck i got tired before my pillion asked for a stop. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #9 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | Re: Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! Quote:
However do remember some basics that you need:
The top names in the middle weight road biased ADV are Tiger 900 GT and BMW F900 GSA (Not GS as its not pillion friendly). But then both will touch 17-18 Lacs OTR. And then add 1 Lac of accessories at the minimum (man these bikes come bare naked and you need to get them dressed up). In some you need to get the centre stand even. However if you are not averse to an used bike, you should get a Tiger 3 Yr old 900 GT in 10-12 Lacs and F850 GSA in about 11-13L. My suggestion, since you have already ridden the Strom and Transalp, go and try out Tiger 850 ( there will not be a test ride bike), Tiger 900 and F900 GSA. That will give you an idea of the whole spectrum and where you might want to go. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank MileCruncher for this useful post: | Abh1nav, pachchu77 |
![]() | #10 |
Newbie Join Date: Oct 2024 Location: Coimbatore
| Re: Moving from the Super Meteor 650 to an ADV! You are lucky to get that discount on Transalp. However, Transalp misses on key features like quick shifter and centre stand. That being said V-Strom does everything that a Transalp does, but with a greater degree of sophistication. Since your choice is touring and occasionally going the unpaved way, V-Strom should be your choice. Last edited by libranof1987 : 15th April 2025 at 21:18. Reason: Capitalising proper nouns |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Nothing@007 for this useful post: | Abh1nav |
![]() | #11 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2020 Location: Bengaluru
Both @kaushalswarup & @Redline6800 have provided their opinion on the V Strom & the Transalp respectively. I've also had the privilege of having ridden with both of them, albeit at different times, and both were kind enough to offer me a chance to ride their beloved motorcycles ![]() Both motorcycles are like chalk & cheese, for the most part, according to me. The fact that you are considering both implies that the added cost of the V Strom does not matter to you. So the extra cost and the discount should not matter as much as which motorcycle actually appeals to you. That's an intangible. Quote:
![]() | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank shyamg28 for this useful post: | Abh1nav, kaushalswarup, Redline6800 |
|
![]() | #12 | ||
Can you throw some more light on your experience with the TA on bad roads? During my test ride, I always found myself having to slow down on rough / unpaved road patches, almost felt like the rear tyre was fishtailing. Also, could feel the bumps a bit more than what I would've liked. Any POV on that? In case you've played around with the preload adjustment, does that make things better? | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Abh1nav for this useful post: | kaushalswarup, shyamg28 |
![]() | #13 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2016 Location: Bangalore
| |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank kaushalswarup for this useful post: | aston_martyr, shyamg28 |
![]() | #14 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Bangalore
I did get some adjustments done to the rear pre-load and it has helped, but I dont recall what the settings are ![]() My advice to you is to go for the bike that makes you the happiest and is within your budget, or not ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Redline6800 for this useful post: | shyamg28 |
![]() |