(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by Sheel
(Post 3357596)
Out of curiosity, did you test drive the Rexton? I believe RX-5 comes equipped with a 4H, 4L option.
No, I am not recommending it over the Pajero Sport :)
But please do share pictures once you get yours. What is the status, which color did you book? |
No Sheel I did not. It is still new in India and reports of the last row seat being too small put me off. Although it has the Best Ground clearance and higher 2nd seat comfort . To be in the same league the RX7 is a better comparison due to its engine specs
I presume with the Korando also getting launched, in a couple of years it could be a formidable option if Mahindra manages the brand and After sale servicing well.
I booked a Storm Grey since I have a preference for Dark in SUVs and black is too stark for my taste with Chrome. The brown is a very nice colour, but family does not like brown .
The Skoda Yeti finding no place here? It rates the highest in my book in terms of reliability, driveability ,safety and comfort even at its present price point plus 5 lakhs. No problems with the after sales service either. It takes most surfaces in its stride ( that's saying a lot given our normal driving conditions). I have not used it for serious off roading as in a monsoon rally. Fairly steep inclines, unpaved roads and muddy slopes are not an issue and the Yeti negotiates them with ease. It's like a gentleman in its class that tackles challenges with poise.
Originally Posted by ramases6
(Post 3591304)
The Skoda Yeti finding no place here? It rates the highest in my book in terms of rele. It's like a gentleman in its class that tackles challenges with poise. |
I will vouch for what you say. I have the Yeti and indeed, it does all that you say it does. Easily the best vehicle in its class at its price in India as of this moment.
However, for one thing, this thread asks about 4WD and not AWD. So that could be one reason that the Yeti has not found mention here.
Also, in general, not many people have bought a Yeti, so it is quite possible that the majority haven't really understood the type and quality of vehicle that it truly is. :)
Originally Posted by shankar.balan
(Post 3591311)
I will vouch for what you say. I have the Yeti and indeed, it does all that you say it does. Easily the best vehicle in its class at its price in India as of this moment.
However, for one thing, this thread asks about 4WD and not AWD. So that could be one reason that the Yeti has not found mention here.
Also, in general, not many people have bought a Yeti, so it is quite possible that the majority haven't really understood the type and quality of vehicle that it truly is. :) |
If I wanted a 5 seater the yeti would have been my default choice. It has been my recommendation to all my friends as well despite the skoda dealership reputation
Thanks Shankar. I think the AWD ruled out the Yeti. Am afraid I did not read the title of the thread carefully.
@Ramases6, you are right.
I needed a proper 4WD SUV and not an AWD which is why the Yeti was ruled out.
Coming my decision, I chose the best of both the options suggested by fellow TBHPians on this thread.
I bought a Pajero Sport 4WD and have used it for 32k kms so far including a couple of trips to Delhi from Bangalore and one 11k km trip to Ladakh from Bangalore and back.
Needless to say, I-am-loving-it..!!:D
Originally Posted by sh@rpshooter
(Post 3591395)
If I wanted a 5 seater the yeti would have been my default choice. It has been my recommendation to all my friends as well despite the skoda dealership reputation |
I bet you were not a 5th (middle seat occupant) in the Yeti, else you would not have said this. In all honesty, Yeti is a very good 4 seater, the 5th occupant is unwelcome.
Originally Posted by n.devdath
(Post 3591441)
Coming my decision, I chose the best of both the options suggested by fellow TBHPians on this thread. |
Thanks, I did tell you :)
I bought a Pajero Sport 4WD and have used it for 32k kms so far including a couple of trips to Delhi from Bangalore and one 11k km trip to Ladakh from Bangalore and back.
Needless to say, I-am-loving-it..!!:D
|
As a token of thanks, can we expect a travelogue? :D
The Yeti is perfect for 2 people with luggage.
It is superb for 2 people and 2 pet dogs.
It is excellent for 2 people and 2 kids.
It is comfortable for 4 adults where the two larger ones sit in front and the 2 smaller ones sit in the back.
Under absolutely NO circumstances will I encourage 5 people to sit in my yeti. Thats is extremely uncomfortable indeed.
Lets remember that the average size of the Indian is ever increasing in terms of height, girth, build etc. :)
(Post 3591494)
Thanks, I did tell you :) |
Yup, and you are welcome.
(Post 3591494)
As a token of thanks, can we expect a travelogue? :D |
I don't take photos and keep a log of my trips but there is another trip to HP planned this year end and I will try to take a few photos and pen something up. Fingers crossed.:thumbs up
Okay; So what IS a perfect SUV? IMO, something that has the off-roading capacity of the good ol' Gypsy, the creature comforts of a modern Hyundai, the driveability of a hatchback, 5-star safety, and the reliability of a Jap.
After hours of searching on Google and elsewhere, there is barely anything available (at least in India) that ticks all the above, not in the affordable side of a crore ruppes, at least.
While the conventional off-road kings of Gyspy & Jeep (Willys and Mahindra) fail miserably on all counts but off-road,
the modern off-road kings of Scorpio, Fortuner, etc. fail on safety, lack on creature comforts, and city drivability (or do they?)..
On the other hand of the spectrum are SUVs like the Outlander, CRV, and Santa Fe trying to be perfect on all secondary counts, but underperforming on the primary objective of an SUV; off-road capability.
The only cars that come close to really being the perfect SUV are the Vitara and the Evoque, but the newer safer version of the former isn't available in India, and the latter is not within the reach of 99% of car buyers.
So what option does a seeker of the "perfect SUV" has, other than compromise and settle?
With cars like the Creta, CRV, Santa Fe, etc proving all but the off-road prowess, I can't help but wonder whether there's a way one can modify a softroader like the aforesaid to have an off-road performance at par with something like a Vitara.
So, what exactly makes an SUV a "proper off-roader"? Full-time 4WD, Low Ratio Gearbox, Locking Differential, High Ground Clearance; or some other magical Chemical X? Or is it something more fundamental like the Chassis design?
Also, are such modifications even practically and economically feasible?
And feel free to point out, if I've missed an already available stock SUV that ticks all points on the above "Perfect SUV" checklist.
DISCLAIMER:
I'm no expert on off-roading (In fact, I haven't even driven an SUV yet, just have some experience with Delhi Roads during Monsoons :D), so take the opinions given above on the off-road prowess of various SUVs with a pinch of salt.