Old 19th April 2007, 19:50   #1

which SUV to go for?

If i were to buy an SUV, price of which will not blow my head off (< 15 lakhs max), should have good off road abilities ( i tend to go on bad roads a lot!), which is the best available in india? how to compare, what all to compare?
Old 19th April 2007, 21:13   #2

I think a Ford Endeavour with the upcoming upgrade is a good buy, but you might have to strecth your budget by a lakh.

At 7-10 lakhs, you have the scorpio and the safari. But if you can spend close to 15 lakhs, then the Endeavour is the only SUV that can handle really bad roads.

Now you have to tell us, what is a bad road by your definition?

Drifter
Old 19th April 2007, 21:23   #3

well, bad road, includes off road excursions and bad roads, that are so common in india, big potholes, where small cars will keep bumping on the road...
the ford endeavour was underpowered earlier... have they changed that?
Old 19th April 2007, 21:31   #4

wait for the new endeavour.. its got a more powerful engine and better interiors etc.
Old 19th April 2007, 22:13   #5

New endy will be 17 lakh plus. If you are not looking at really really hard offroading, just want limited off road capability you can look for CRV(no diesel though and 17 lakh) or the Tuscon.
Of course there is the Safari VX 4x4 which will cost around 12 lakhs.
Check with member suman, he chose between a safari and endy recently.
Old 20th April 2007, 00:26   #6

Depends on whats more important to you - off roading or comfort.. if it is off road, then you may want to search for trak gurka - there are quite a few posts in this forum. The other alternative is to go in for a second hand pajero..The first option - you can spend money on sprucing up the interiors and have money to spare, and the second depends on the age of the machine.. The ford option will be more than your budget.
Old 20th April 2007, 14:17   #7

Originally Posted by drifter View Post
I think a Ford Endeavour with the upcoming upgrade is a good buy, but you might have to strecth your budget by a lakh.
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
wait for the new endeavour.. its got a more powerful engine and better interiors etc.
The Endy with the new engine will stretch his Budget by close to 3 lacs I think........I'm sure they're going to hike by at least a lac for the new technology.

Its an open & shut case if you want to buy a NEW one within your Budget, it has to be the Safari VX 4x4, you can check out an old thread of mine -
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...cor-vx-4x.html

Last edited by suman : 20th April 2007 at 14:20.
Old 20th April 2007, 14:41   #8

the new endy would, besides stretching your budget be heavy on A.S.S compared to the Dicor VX . .this is the one to go for IMO
Old 20th April 2007, 15:09   #9

You have 15 lakhs to spend. Buy a Tucson and Peterify it. Not much to think of here - it takes bad roads pretty well. Plus peace of mind - its a Hyundai.
Old 20th April 2007, 15:12   #10

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
You have 15 lakhs to spend. Buy a Tucson and Peterify it. Not much to think of here - it takes bad roads pretty well. Plus peace of mind - its a Hyundai.
On-road price would be between 16 & 17 lacs if I'm not mistaken........
Old 20th April 2007, 15:40   #11

A 4X4 Dicor...that should fit the bill. And you can invest the extra moolah on beautifying the interiors, ICE, etc.
Old 20th April 2007, 20:56   #12

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
if not the new endy then definately that.
Old 21st April 2007, 20:04   #13

Any update on tuscon?

Does anyone have news of a new version/variant of the Tuscon coming soon? Or a non-CBU route being taken? the new VGT Embera engine in it?
Old 21st April 2007, 20:17   #14

The Tucson costs abt 17+ OTR. The Endy 4x4 costs about the same. Add another 75K for the new DI version.

The Tucson isn't an SUV. Good car, and definitely a better alternative to the petrol CR-V, but simply not in the Endy league. Although, rear seat comfort is better in the Hyundai.

If you're going to use the car in city 75% of the time, go for the Tucson. But, if you're going to use the car off-road a LOT, go for the Endy...you won't regret it...
Old 21st April 2007, 20:31   #15

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
anyone got specs of this engine? will they use a v6?