Team-BHP > What Car? > SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2023, 19:21   #1

Mahindra Scorpio or Toyota Fortuner?

Hi petrolheads!

I am planning to buy an SUV under 20 lakhs for rough usage. I’m a builder and need to go to sites, that usually require off-roading. What I want to ask is, should I go for the Scorpio Classic S11 or a 2015-16 model Toyota Fortuner? Such a Fortuner will cost almost the same as the Scorpio!

What should be an ideal choice?

Last edited by Aditya : 28th January 2023 at 22:44. Reason: Edited for better readability
nipuns1993 is offline   (5) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 28th January 2023, 20:58   #2
BHPian

Infractions: 0/1 (5)
re: Mahindra Scorpio or Toyota Fortuner?

Ideally, you could get a Scorpio-N Z4 or Z6 for under 20 lakhs and I think you should go for it instead of the Scorpio Classic.

As far an 8-year-old Fortuner is concerned, you could go for it provided you are sure the car is in good condition, however since its past 8 years, maintenance and issues are likely to crop up too, so that should also be taken into account.

New cars are always a safer bet in my opinion.
bijims is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 22:40   #3
BHPian

Instead of Scorpio Classic get the Scorpio N it is way better than the former. As for the Fortuner, it will be a good pick but depends on the condition you get one in. If it is single hand driven, well maintained, and company serviced then you can look for it. But remember Fortuner from that vintage weren't the most refined in terms of ride quality and braking performance. It improved a lot in 2018 and later models. Coming to your usage you also need to consider the yearly running and upkeep costs which will be higher for the Fortuner starting from day 1 but in a new Scorpio N atleast first couple of years will be easy on pocket.
AROO7 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th January 2023, 01:05   #4
BHPian