Old 22nd June 2024, 11:22   #16

Re: Torn between buying a Sedan or SUV for 40-lakh rupees

For 40L, would highly recommend 330Li pre-owned.
You could search for 1-2 years old within 30K km run.
Kashi053 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2024, 12:21   #17

Just drove Tiguan extensively in Scotland and came out impressed. It’s a nice car around 40 lacs. Since you will be keeping car for 8-10 years, depreciation is not an issue.
Old 22nd June 2024, 12:46   #18

Originally Posted by jughead View Post
Hello.
  • BYD Atto 3: Liked the design but found suspension hard to my comfort levels. Unsure of quality of interior material and Chinese make is another concern
  • BYD Seal: Looks stunning but low ground clearance. Dont want to keep that hassle. Chinese make is another concern.
  • Ioniq 5: Absolutely loved it. Good space and features. Currently top of mind but little expensive for my budget.

I know I am looking into all sort of options right now but purchasing a ~40 lacs vehicle which I intend to keep for 10+ years is a big decision and I want to avoid buyer's remorse later.
I was in similar conundrum as you are now, after evaluating everything went ahead with Ioniq 5, after six months & over 30k kms i can safely say couldn’t have chosen better car for family of 5. Take a longer test drive of Ioniq with your whole family & then take your call. From my dog to my grandparents everyone loves ioniq, the cabin space is something no one talks about, its deceptively huge.

As for tyres - still good as new. Maintenance - 5500 Rs for 3 service. Range - 450/500 kms
Ashutosh_kumar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2024, 17:04   #19

Thanks for all the great suggestions. Took few more test drives today. I am not interested in used cars so expanded my budget a bit. Final two options are:
  • Ioniq 5: Getting on-road price at ~47.5 in Delhi. Everything looks good except for suspension. Tried on a bumpy road, the ride was not as much comfortable. Liked golden matte color with white interiors.
  • Camry: Getting on-road price at ~47.5 in Delhi after dealer discounts. Very comfortable ride with very good suspension. Metallic silver looks good. Will be most preferred option if I can ignore dated infotainment system. Other missing features are not show stopper from frequent usage standpoint.

I will finalize over the next few days. Would love to hear if there are any other suggestions on these two. Thanks.
jughead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2024, 18:18   #20

Have a look at Invicto it's pretty much the same car if it suits you go ahead with it.

Or you can go ahead with XUV700 Petrol AT as i don't think diesel will suit your running and i think total lifetime cost of petrol and diesel will turn out to be pretty much as equal .

While diesel have an advantage of better FE and whereas petrol have an advantage of longer lifecycle and better resale (only in NCR) plus you won't have to deal with all the DPF issues with these new age diesels.
Old 22nd June 2024, 20:30   #21

Originally Posted by Bhatt View Post
Your requirements scream the Tuscon. I just checked with a dealer in Gurgaon, the 4x2 AT Deisel Signature is a hoot to drive and has all the features one could think of and more!
OTR price is 38.5 lacs INR which fits well within your budget. Being a Hyundai, one can expect to be quite reliable as well
I am also keen on a Tucson. Can you please share the details of the dealer?
Old 24th June 2024, 11:48   #22

Thanks for all the great suggestions. Took few more test drives today. Final two options are:
I am on a similar boat, and have been mulling over my options for months now.

Have you checked Jeep Compass/Meridian? It's well withing budget, and it drives really well. Any thoughts on Skoda Octavia?
Old 24th June 2024, 12:11   #23

Originally Posted by shobhit.shri View Post
I am on a similar boat, and have been mulling over my options for months now.

Have you checked Jeep Compass/Meridian? It's well withing budget, and it drives really well. Any thoughts on Skoda Octavia?
Did not consider them as they have diesel powertrain only. Octavia has been discontinued post BS6 Phase 2 rollout. It may come back again later in the year similar to Superb but through CBU route. It will likely become really expensive in that case for the product they will offer. So, I have my due apprehensions.
jughead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2024, 22:01   #24

Thanks for all the great suggestions. Took few more test drives today. I am not interested in used cars so expanded my budget a bit. Final two options are:
  • Ioniq 5: Getting on-road price at ~47.5 in Delhi. Everything looks good except for suspension. Tried on a bumpy road, the ride was not as much comfortable. Liked golden matte color with white interiors.
  • Camry: Getting on-road price at ~47.5 in Delhi after dealer discounts. Very comfortable ride with very good suspension. Metallic silver looks good. Will be most preferred option if I can ignore dated infotainment system. Other missing features are not show stopper from frequent usage standpoint.

I will finalize over the next few days. Would love to hear if there are any other suggestions on these two. Thanks.
You won't go wrong with either of the cars. But I feel you would get bored with Camry especially after living with something similar (boring) as City. I think the reason you are spending close to 50 lakhs in the first place is to experience something special. And, I think Ioniq 5 would give you that experience

Last edited by KarthikK : 25th June 2024 at 22:40.
Sandeepsunny is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2024, 08:49   #25

Similar situation as you, but was looking at a suv/crossover in this range (only petrol).
Checked the following cars:
1. Scorpio N: True blue impressive suv package for the price and was certainly in contention. Missed out on quite a few features and was worried about niggles.

2. XUV700: Closer to “luxury” and well loaded with features. However, couldn’t shake the sense of faux luxury and as with Scorpio N, worried about the niggles and long term reliability as I keep my cars closer to 15 years usually.

3. Tucson: Let’s be frank. The petrol engine needs an upgrade asap. Even the 1.5 turbo is better to drive.

4. Creta: Great overall package and was one of the contenders, but I think the memes influenced me
Plus no clarity on ncap rating yet.

5. Kodiaq: As an owner of Q5, this was familiar territory. A great package with some features that I even miss in my Q5, like cooled seats, park assist, 360 camera etc. As it is due for refresh, getting great deals on it. Love the styling as well as simple interiors, so I fell for it and booked it. For this price (42-43), nothing comes close imo. The comfort is next level with DCC. Even the rear seat recline, leg room and that sleep package is wonderful for long trips.

6. Tiguan: Great car as well, but for a bit more, Kodiaq felt better in every way.

Good luck with your swayamvar
AZ911 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2024, 13:12   #26

Thank you all for the suggestions. I finally went ahead and booked the Camry. I am going the corporate lease route. The approval and funding process should take a couple of weeks and hopefully should get the car around mid-July.
jughead is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th August 2024, 08:10   #27

Thank you all for the suggestions. I finally went ahead and booked the Camry. I am going the corporate lease route. The approval and funding process should take a couple of weeks and hopefully should get the car around mid-July.
Hello, I got my Camry finally earlier this month. Here is a picture attached. Already clocked 500 kms. So far so good! I am finding it hard to get accessories for the car outside the dealerships in Delhi-NCR. Will start a separate post on the same.
Torn between buying a Sedan or SUV for 40-lakh rupees-img20240729wa0000.jpg  

jughead is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com