Old 20th March 2025, 13:34   #16

Re: Choosing between the Range Rover Sport & Land Rover Defender for long-term use

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support: The use of AI / ChatGPT is strictly prohibited on Team-BHP. Do NOT use AI / ChatGPT to compose your posts, or even enhance the language of your written material.

On Team-BHP, we take pride in our original thoughts, opinions & content. Kindly type out only your own ideas, comments & language. Do not use AI software to even rewrite your post or tweak its language.

We strongly advise you to visit our forum rules section again.

Last edited by GTO : 21st March 2025 at 08:10.
GT390 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 31st March 2025, 18:02   #17

Re: Choosing between the Range Rover Sport & Land Rover Defender for long-term use

We’ve narrowed it down to the Range Rover Sport and are debating whether to go for the diesel or petrol version:
* Our primary use will be city driving in Hyderabad, with infrequent highway trips (mainly to Andhra Pradesh or occasionally within South India for road trips).
* Both the diesel and petrol variants are priced the same at ₹1.85 crore on-road. Petrol has those Real Twin exhausts
* Performance between the two is almost identical, with only a negligible difference in terms of power.
So this vehicle will be a long-term ownership (10 years):
1. With increasing focus on cleaner emissions, particularly in urban areas, is it a good idea to purchase diesel?
2. AdBlue System- rarely, these systems do malfunction, and diesel maintenance will add up costs in the long run. How do the maintenance costs compare for both options, and which engines are more durable? since we plan to keep the vehicle for 10 years.

I’d appreciate feedback from anyone who’s had experience with either engine type, particularly for a long-term ownership scenario in urban and occasional highway driving conditions.
Old 31st March 2025, 18:33   #18

Originally Posted by AjayM45 View Post
We’ve narrowed it down to the Range Rover Sport and are debating whether to go for the diesel or petrol version:
* Our primary use will be city driving in Hyderabad, with infrequent highway trips (mainly to Andhra Pradesh or occasionally within South India for road trips).
* Both the diesel and petrol variants are priced the same at ₹1.85 crore on-road. Petrol has those Real Twin exhausts
* Performance between the two is almost identical, with only a negligible difference in terms of power.
1. With increasing focus on cleaner emissions, particularly in urban areas, is it a good idea to purchase diesel?
2. AdBlue System- rarely, these systems do malfunction, and diesel maintenance will add up costs in the long run. How do the maintenance costs compare for both options, and which engines are more durable? since we plan to keep the vehicle for 10 years.

I’d appreciate feedback from anyone who’s had experience with either engine type, particularly for a long-term ownership scenario in urban and occasional highway driving conditions.
Go with the diesel. It will provide much more consistent fuel efficiency across conditions, and you being in Hyderabad are not hamstrung by any 10 year limits. More importantly, the petrol will require a constant diet of high octane fuel with is not available everywhere. IIRC, it’s not E20 compliant either.
Old 1st April 2025, 20:30   #19

Range Rover sport Petrol or Diesel?

* Both the diesel and petrol variants are priced the same at ₹1.85 crore on-road. Petrol has those visible Twin exhausts.

Last edited by Jaggu : 1st April 2025 at 20:46. Reason: Adding paragraph breaks.
Old 2nd April 2025, 09:40   #20

Re: Range Rover sport Petrol or Diesel?

Both engines are quite highly strung, but longevity will only be a problem if you're putting 20,000 km a year for the ten years that you intend to hold onto the car for. Buying a diesel shouldn't be a problem now, for the next ten years, but the resale values will be lower than petrols. Petrol seems to make the most sense for you as diesel service costs might be a tad higher due to the added emissions tech.

Regarding service, JLR service has been a hit or miss in most instances, here in Bangalore. Friends with Jags have complained quite a lot about the sparse availability of spares and occasional botch-ups. You might be better off with an X5 petrol, if you're looking forward to that stress-free ownership experience.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com