Old 31st January 2005, 16:17   #1

Used Sierra ???

All sierra users, enthusiasts.. I am planning to buy a pre-owned sierra..

1> How comfy is the ride quality in the Tata Sierra??
2> Is it possible to convert a 2-dr sierra to a 4-dr sierra??
3> How much average (kmpl) should i expect from a 99-model turbo Diesel engine??
4> Will the vehicle seat 6-7 people in comfort??
5> Is the Turbo Diesel engine powerful enough to carry 6 people??
6> How much should i be spending on the maintenance of the vehicle?? I know Tata's have stopped manufacturing sierras.. But most of the components are the same as that of the best-selling Sumo, right??
7> Finally, how much should i be paying for the vehicle??

This is going to be my first car (SUV) !!

Please guide me in this vehicle-buying effort. I am eagerly awaiting your responses..

Manish
Old 31st January 2005, 16:42   #2

Originally Posted by man23ish
All sierra users, enthusiasts.. I am planning to buy a pre-owned sierra..

great
yes but you lose the looks and for the amount you spend, go buy a safari

3> How much average (kmpl) should i expect from a 99-model turbo Diesel engine??
9 in town

5 only - 6 onwards go buy a safari/scorpio

5> Is the Turbo Diesel engine powerful enough to carry 6 people??

No
6> How much should i be spending on the maintenance of the vehicle??

A lot !

I know Tata's have stopped manufacturing sierras.. But most of the components are the same as that of the best-selling Sumo, right??

Right

Not much, at that age, people may be paying you to take it from them at

I ran one for three years and it became a money pit

This is going to be my first car (SUV) !!

Please guide me in this vehicle-buying effort. I am eagerly awaiting your responses..

Manish
Please see my comments within the quotes
Old 31st January 2005, 16:48   #3

Hey dude

Hope i can answer your questions. I have a 1994 Sierra NA so let me just try and help you out

The Sierra is extremely comfortable. Ride quality is amazing. You never feel tired even after a long journey

It is possible to do that but I wouldnt recommend . So far I've seen only one well made 4 door near my house

My Sierra gives me around 7 kmpl in city drive. I guess for a Turbo you can expect around 8-9

Its basically a 5 seater but I have taken 7 people in my car in decent comfort. If u fold down the rear seat completely, you can take a a couple more.

6> How much should i be spending on the maintenance of the vehicle?? I know Tata's have stopped
Get your car serviced regularly. Change the diesel filter every 5000 kms. Oil filter at regular services. Tata have small niggling problems like malfunctioning power windows and central locking but thats not too expensive to repair. Sierra spare parts are easliy available since it shares them with its siblings the Sumo , 207 and the Safari to some extent.

If the vehicle is in good condition maybe you could get it for 1.5 lakhs. Sierras really dont have any second hand value and you could put up a bargain as well.

I have a long term review of my Sierra which you can read here.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showth...1&page=2&pp=15

Lastly , the Sierra is a car with a lot of character. Very few cars come close to it in terms of space, comfort and presence. There is no limit to how much you can mod your Sierra

Happy Shopping and welcome to the Sierra club

Dippy
Old 17th February 2005, 23:50   #4

dude the sierra is a total rock on scene , i owned one for arnd 5 yrs frm 1998 to 2003 , amazing ride , decent fuel eff , a lill high on maintenance but if u take great care of ure car trust me it will take care of your pocket .

a gud 1999 or a 2000 model shud be between 1.5 - 1.7 lakhs
before buying a sierra just remember one thing " its not owned , its possessed " .

manson .
Old 18th February 2005, 17:24   #5

oh so you are buying an SUV .
didnt you buy the cielo diesel
anyway about a sierra..
buy one in good condition, maintain it well, paint it black, add some good alloys and a ystem for your brother, some good rubber and you are good to go.
Old 18th February 2005, 20:38   #6

back to the past

Originally Posted by man23ish
I am planning to buy a pre-owned sierra..
why would you want to go in for an automobile that was discontinued a couple of years ago, and had a good number of issues?

do you think you can get a decently running piece in the used-car market, without having to shell out a tub of money to make it road-worthy?

wouldn't it make more sense to go in for something newer & advanced?

i wouldn't even go so far as to place the Tata Sierra into SUV category.
ad
Old 19th February 2005, 11:36   #7

i agree with you on that aah i wouldnt also call a sierra a SUV, i own a sierra since the end of 95
its a nice comfy car, gives me about 8-9 in the city, its a bit heavy on maintainance, but then again which diesel car is not, 5 ppl are comfy more than that normally depends on how big the ppl are in the car, and how much space they take up, its not worth making the car into a 4 door, the Turbo is i think pretty powerful enough to carry 6 ppl, its a nice car, but also look at a safari, its a much better looking car and more spacious