Old 20th November 2009, 12:53   #1

Used AT SUV in 10-11 lacs range

I am planning to go in for an automatic car. Yesterday, there was a display of Mahindra cars at my office premises and i got the price list of the mHawk Auto, which is around 11.8 lacs.

I am just wondering, instead of going for a new Auto SUV, why not go in for a imported used (pajero, nissan,land cruiser, prado etc) SUV that will provide more performance, space and comfort

will it be possible to get an used SUV in the 10-12 lacs range, how old and reliable will that be.

Are there any dealers in chennai who specialises in this and if i need to buy one, what are the do's and dont's.

ps: guess i have also been infuenced by the recent OTRs.in t-bhp
Old 20th November 2009, 13:08   #2

I agree, 12 lakhs is wayyyy too much money for a Scorpio Automatic.

Used car options: X-Trail, Grand Vitara, Captiva. But might be a little out of your budget.
Old 20th November 2009, 13:18   #3

I think you should able to get a used GV with ptretty decent condition in that budget and may be a Honda CRV if you lucky.
Old 20th November 2009, 13:46   #4

Does GV come with a Diesel and AT variant, if so, then it might be a good option to look at.
Old 20th November 2009, 13:52   #5

GV will only be petrol A/T but the prices could be lower - say around 8lacs
Old 20th November 2009, 15:36   #6

In the classifieds, there is a Prado and Nissan Patrol listed, which are quoting around 15 lacs.
Old 21st November 2009, 23:03   #7

Same boat buddy, I did some study and did following analysis.

1. Below 10 Lacs following AT SUVs are available
a. Vitara - Read Sudevs post, amazing vehicle, but PETROL, the bills of my Rohtang valley will be quite costly for me.
b. CRV - Can get only old model, but its a softroader and again PETROL, can it take the roads which our BRO (Border Roads Orgainization) is constructing up in the valleys there !!
c. Captiva -- Sadly, since it was launched this year 2009 Jan, yet to get this in second hand market
d. Nissan -- After sales is not so easy.
e. Prado -- Cant get it for less than 10 L (even if petrol wont mind )
f. LC -- Forget in 10 L OR get quite an old model.
h. Range Rover -- Forget about it in this price OR get quite an old model.
i. Endeavour -- Very recently launched, forget at this price as of now.

2. Rest all are manual SUVs, Fortuner (too early to come down at this price level and without AT)

So the best option is Scorpio Automatic, the vehicle is good, check ownership thread started by Mohnish here. Scorpio on its own is a good and reliable vehicle, Manson is there to prove it (he owned, drove, sold the vehicle only to buy a new model of Scorpio), Shatrughna, (his scorpio was stolen, he has again booked an AT 4x4 Scorpio). And the Scorpio fan, Raj is here too.

So Scorpio AT is a good vehicle no doubt in this price range.

However if you are able to find some good deals or something new, do let us know. I am quite keen to know.

Last edited by tanwaramit : 21st November 2009 at 23:07.
Old 22nd November 2009, 01:29   #8

You can easily get a used Pajero for 9 Lacs.
Old 22nd November 2009, 01:37   #9

You could look out for an used Hyundai Tucson! Though its underrated in terms of equipment and looks, it has an engine.. and a very car like feel to it. I just got one for myself, and its quite a mile muncher!!
Old 22nd November 2009, 09:53   #10

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post

So the best option is Scorpio Automatic, the vehicle is good, check ownership thread started by Mohnish here. Scorpio on its own is a good and reliable vehicle, Manson is there to prove it (he owned, drove, sold the vehicle only to buy a new model of Scorpio), Shatrughna, (his scorpio was stolen, he has again booked an AT 4x4 Scorpio). And the Scorpio fan, Raj is here too.

scorpio fan!!!

Originally Posted by ikoneer View Post

I am planning to go in for an automatic car. Yesterday, there was a display of Mahindra cars at my office premises and i got the price list of the mHawk Auto, which is around 11.8 lacs.

I am just wondering, instead of going for a new Auto SUV, why not go in for a imported used (pajero, nissan,land cruiser, prado etc) SUV that will provide more performance, space and comfort

will it be possible to get an used SUV in the 10-12 lacs range, how old and reliable will that be.

Are there any dealers in chennai who specialises in this and if i need to buy one, what are the do's and dont's.

ps: guess i have also been infuenced by the recent OTRs.in t-bhp
well buddy, you can definetely go for a used SUV but do consider that used cars have its own set of issues like reliabilty problems & higher maintainence. also do consider that buying a pajero or land cruiser for 12 lakhs in just half the story, maintaining it is a different game altogether.

cost of spare parts will be rocket high & general maintainence/upkeep costs (which will definitely be more in a used car) will be much higher to that of a mahindra!

so if you do have cash to spare, go for the above mentioned exotic SUVs, nothing like it!
Old 22nd November 2009, 11:08   #11

Originally Posted by SunChaser View Post
You could look out for an used Hyundai Tucson! Though its underrated in terms of equipment and looks, it has an engine.. and a very car like feel to it. I just got one for myself, and its quite a mile muncher!!
Is Tucson available in AT ?

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
scorpio fan!!!
Yes Raj, you are on of the reasons who helped me on the beast and now, I am planning Scorpio.

well buddy, you can definetely go for a used SUV but do consider that used cars have its own set of issues like reliabilty problems & higher maintainence. also do consider that buying a pajero or land cruiser for 12 lakhs in just half the story, maintaining it is a different game altogether.

cost of spare parts will be rocket high & general maintainence/upkeep costs (which will definitely be more in a used car) will be much higher to that of a mahindra!

so if you do have cash to spare, go for the above mentioned exotic SUVs, nothing like it!
+2 to what Raj has said, high maintenance is also one of the reasons the owners sell these cars. (there may be other reasons too)
Old 22nd November 2009, 11:15   #12

well buddy, you can definetely go for a used SUV but do consider that used cars have its own set of issues like reliabilty problems & higher maintainence.
@Raj, Thinking about the maintenance is the scary part. since Toyota and Pajero can be serviced with the dealers i thought it should be ok. For once, i just wanted to have a feel of owning this big cars. Let's see how it works out.
I have also asked for a TD of Scorpio AT.

Originally Posted by SunChaser View Post
You could look out for an used Hyundai Tucson!
I have actually not thought about the hyundai, let me check on those as well. Have you put any reviews/ ownership experience.

Originally Posted by Alter_Ego View Post
You can easily get a used Pajero for 9 Lacs.
Pajero they say no AT only Manual.

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
In the classifieds, there is a Prado and Nissan Patrol listed, which are quoting around 15 lacs.
@Guna, way beyond budget.

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
However if you are able to find some good deals or something new, do let us know. I am quite keen to know.
Started scouting. I saw the auto classifieds in Hindu and called them up. following is the quote.
2006 pajero MT - 12.5 lacs
98 Prado MT - 12 lacs
2005 Tucson MT - 9 lacs
Terracaan 2003 (1 lacs km) MT - 6.5 lacs
Honda CRV 2003 AT - 6.5 lacs (Not thought about this. Can this be a good option)

I guess in our budget, we would only get a call that is more than 10 years old.

Tell me, if the car has done more than 1 lac km's, would it be a good option to own them. Apart from the regular high maintenace cost in terms of service, what are the potential and frequent things that may go wrong.
Old 22nd November 2009, 11:41   #13

Ikoneer:

I was searching for Imports in Chennai for a long time. If you want a good import in Chennai, you will not get anything for less than 13 lakhs. There are some older pajero's with questionable history and automatic transmission (problem to service) etc for under 10. With a budget of 10 lakhs range, you are better off with a new Scorpio rather than risk an older import with questionable history. The problem with most of the imports in Chennai is that they have come from Delhi/Mumbai etc after multiple owners so it is hard to know many kms the vehicle has done. Most will show only 80,000 kms on the odo for 8 to 10 year old car. Personally I feel this is doctors as most likely these cars would have crossed a lakh before they were imported as typically people do a lot more mileage abroad.

A good Indian made pajero 2.8 can be found for about 12 lakhs. Don't worry too much about spares for popular import models as these can all be sourced in Chennai. Service can also be done at Ignite or one of the shops that service imports.

If you are particular about AT, there is hardly any choices in diesel outside the Scorpio in the price range. If you plan to go for an OTR with the chennai crowd, you can forget the CRV as your vehicle will mostly likely incur suspension damage.

Last edited by 4x4addict : 22nd November 2009 at 11:47.
Old 22nd November 2009, 12:14   #14

@4x4addict

Quite an eye opener. Thanks. In fact, we have never bought an used car and i was thinking except for the budget and mainteance, everything would be smooth. Did not think much on the source of the vehicle and other aspects mentioned. .

As said, i am also considering the Scorpio as an option and will be on the lookout for a good AT suv as well. Maybe if i find one, i will require all of your support to make a decision.

. Thats a nice car that you have.
Old 22nd November 2009, 22:05   #15

I have had the same question haunting me as Ikoneer for quite some time now. My only fear in going ahead with a Scorpio now is that I am fairly sure they will put the Scorpio out in the US with a Tiptronic (as can be seen in the photo below - courtesy PickupTrucks.com.

Given Mahindra's style of using India as a test bed before putting it out in the US, I feel they will release this version in India and I can wait some months if that is Mahindra's game plan. But am not getting any confirmation from anywhere.
Used AT SUV in 10-11 lacs range-scorpious.jpg