Old 13th October 2013, 23:20   #61

Re: My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
The paint job seems really very nice & the various fittings are complementing it very well.
The brackets for holding surge tank, washer fluid & fuel filter look neatly fabricated & don't seem out of place, another great job done.

BTW Looking at the 8th pic (from top) there are 2 fuel pipes visible, one from Mech. fuel pump & other from fuel filter, am kind of confused, have you got the electronic pump fitted on the car or am I missing something ?

PS: Thanks for sharing that PVC idea for sealing the pedal surround I plan to do a similar setup on mine too as heatlon isn't holding well.
Hi Samsag12,

I have not used any electronic fuel pump. The plumbing of the fuel line was done as follows -

Fuel tank -> metal tubing -> double-walled silicone tubing -> fuel filter -> double-walled silicone tubing -> mechanical fuel pump -> double-walled silicone tubing -> carburetor.

13-Oct -
The front and rear bumpers were fitted today.

Tail lamp, reversing lamp and number plate lamp assemblies were fitted to the car today. Laying the new rear wiring harness plus speaker wire is now complete.

It was a real pain getting the wiring to pass through A pillar

Happy Dussehra to everyone.

More updates next week.
My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0296.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0298.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0299.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0300.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0301.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0295-copy.jpg  

Last edited by bikertillidie : 13th October 2013 at 23:30. Reason: Adding one more pic
bikertillidie is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th October 2013, 00:22   #62

18-Oct-

Work on the car was on hold for the last couple of days owing to Bakri Eid. It will resume from tomorrow.

Attaching a few more pics showing new rear wiring harness and the fuel tank filler cap.

The rest show the C pillar, new monograms and the cover for the fuel level sending unit (scavenged by Wahid bhai @ Sion).
My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0305.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0308.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0309.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0310.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0312.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0313.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0314.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0315.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0316-copy.jpg  

bikertillidie is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th October 2013, 21:11   #63

By far the best Premier Padmini restoration on Team Bhp. Where in
Poona is the work being done?

Top work. You have not overdone anything. Perfect and just right.:
FINTAIL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2013, 10:50   #64

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
By far the best Premier Padmini restoration on Team Bhp. Where in
Poona is the work being done?

Top work. You have not overdone anything. Perfect and just right.:
Hi Fintail,

Thanks for your comments.
All work is being carried out at a friendly local garage @ Hadapsar owned by Raje Khan Pathan.

It makes it easier to oversee the work being undertaken.

Plus they have no past baggage of being the best in vehicle restoration.

The benefit is, they are a lot more receptive to what the customer wants and are willing to put in a lot of effort to put a smile on your face.

All electrical wiring is being undertaken by yours truly !
bikertillidie is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2013, 12:48   #65

Anyway, this car seems to be MH-12-W registered. That would make it a what? 1995-1996 car. Anyway, top work. Kindly provide me with the address of the garage, as I might be restoring my Delight, sooner or later.

Last edited by moralfibre : 30th June 2014 at 08:25. Reason: Correcting typo
Old 21st October 2013, 18:06   #66

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
Anyway, this car seems to be MH-12-W registered. That would make it a what? 1995-1996 car. Anyway, top work. Kindly provide me with the address of the garage, as I might me restoring my Delight, sooner or later.
Fintail,

You may get in touch with Javed Pathan @ 9860989119 for clarifications.

His garage is located next to the Hadapsar Gliding Centre approachable either via Fursungi/Sasane Nagar.
Old 22nd October 2013, 13:04   #67

21-Oct -

The car is back home awaiting the upholsterer's arrival.

Windshields would be affixed once the roof-work is ready.

Rims would be painted in silver after all upholstery work is complete.

Bleeding of brakes, tune-up, paint touch-up would follow.

Attached are a few photos
My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-dsc_4078.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-dsc_4079-copy.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-dsc_4080.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-dsc_4081.jpg  

bikertillidie is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th October 2013, 20:55   #68

27-Oct -

Upholstery is complete. Haven't been able to find the time to finish off the wiring but hopefully, Diwali holidays should prove handy.

Despite my earlier reservations, the door-pads were screwed in place as the original clips proved next to impossible to source.

Windscreens have been fixed and no leakages were observed.
My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0323-copy.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0324.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0325-copy.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0326.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0327.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0329.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0332-copy.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0334.jpg  

My very own Premier Padmini - Restoration in progress-sany0335.jpg  

bikertillidie is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 27th October 2013, 23:37   #69

The interior design looks very nice, really like the pattern on seats & door pads though sad to know about the non-availability of clips.
Also I may sound harsh but the interior work doesn't seem very good, there's a fair amount of crease on seat joints, the door pad edges aren't smoothly folded & the roof lining boasts of chalk marks which should have been cleaned off before mounting it to the car ( high chances of sagging if cleaned while its on the car)
After the amount of body & mechanical work which has gone into this car, literally a nut & bolt restoration & your enthusiasm towards getting it restored in the best possible way, I feel the interior work isn't at par, I am really sorry to say this, please don't mind.

Other than that, the overall outcome is astonishing, hope you enjoy driving it.

Last edited by samsag12 : 27th October 2013 at 23:41.
samsag12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2013, 00:13   #70

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
The interior design looks very nice, really like the pattern on seats & door pads though sad to know about the non-availability of clips.
Also I may sound harsh but the interior work doesn't seem very good, there's a fair amount of crease on seat joints, the door pad edges aren't smoothly folded & the roof lining boasts of chalk marks which should have been cleaned off before mounting it to the car ( high chances of sagging if cleaned while its on the car)
After the amount of body & mechanical work which has gone into this car, literally a nut & bolt restoration & your enthusiasm towards getting it restored in the best possible way, I feel the interior work isn't at par, I am really sorry to say this, please don't mind.

Other than that, the overall outcome is astonishing, hope you enjoy driving it.
Dear samsag12,

Thanks for the upfront comments ! I really appreciate it.

The chalk marks/adhesive stains would be removed later with petrol. The creases are visible because I had been seated in the driver's seat immediately before shooting the photographs.

If the car were to be left parked for half an hour in the sun, the material would appear taut again.

A lot of work still remains, and it's really testing my patience.

Best Regards.

Last edited by bikertillidie : 28th October 2013 at 00:32. Reason: Typo
Old 5th November 2013, 12:22   #71

05-Nov -

I have handed the car back to Javed for the wheel rims to be painted in silver.

The car would be polished and handed back probably by end of day tomorrow.

Valve clearance needs to be checked and rough idling/lethargic acceleration needs to be sorted out.

All electrical work was completed yesterday (the long Diwali weekend proved very handy)

Last edited by bikertillidie : 5th November 2013 at 12:23. Reason: Grammar
Old 5th November 2013, 13:00   #72

Splendid restoration!! Hope the rest of the work is completed soon. If possible, share the restoration costs too.

Waiting for the final pictures and hope they will be from a scenic location aka a proper photoshoot!!
Karthik1100 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2013, 16:12   #73

The colour of the car's second photo 21-Oct before upholstery work, I would love to have my car that colour with your interior colour choice. I know it should be a shade of a wall reflecting on the car. Regarding work it has come out clean just like the car colour. Make sure to have light inside where foot rest (Driver side & passenger side.) Not to forget dickey light. They are very handy.
narendra.vw is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2013, 17:01   #74

Originally Posted by Karthik1100 View Post
Splendid restoration!! Hope the rest of the work is completed soon. If possible, share the restoration costs too.

Waiting for the final pictures and hope they will be from a scenic location aka a proper photoshoot!!
Karthik1100,

For a proper photoshoot, I guess there's a long wait involved till Christmas.

Shall attempt to share a few pics over the weekend.
Old 5th November 2013, 17:20   #75

Originally Posted by narendra.vw View Post
The colour of the car's second photo 21-Oct before upholstery work, I would love to have my car that colour with your interior colour choice. I know it should be a shade of a wall reflecting on the car. Regarding work it has come out clean just like the car colour. Make sure to have light inside where foot rest (Driver side & passenger side.) Not to forget dickey light. They are very handy.
Hi Narendra.vw,

None of the photos are doing justice to the actual colour of the car.
It's a slightly creamish shade of white (for lack of a proper layman's description for pale lilac).

Shall try taking a few pics using a DSLR during the actual photoshoot requested by Karthik1100.

I have installed such a light at the front for the passenger's side & one for the trunk.

The driver's side was pretty challenging as the bonnet release lever left no room to manouvre a drill. Hence, this had to be omitted from the driver's side.

Last edited by bikertillidie : 5th November 2013 at 17:21. Reason: Typo