Old 29th August 2014, 18:32   #1

Key stuck in the Ignition Switch

Hello BHP'ians,

I could not find a relevant thread hence starting a new one. Mods may merge it with a relevant discussion.

Yesterday night my car key got stuck in the ignition lock switch at Level 2 i.e. the ACC (Accessories) mode. Not really sure on how this happened, as it was one of the valet guys who reported the issue while parking the car. Thankfully the steering was not locked, thus managed to get the car started and back home as well with the help of one of the drivers (he was a former mechanic). The guy hooked up the fuel pump to the battery and connected the starter solenoid with the starter motor with two keys, bingo engine comes to life. Went home with the escort car from the hotel.

By the way the hotel staff was very helpful and co-operative.

Hyundai Road Side Assistance, as expected was quite useless when i tried contacting them yesterday night when this thing happened.

First time i was told ‘car is more than 2 years old so it is not covered under roadside assistance, i will have to take the car to nearest HASS on my own to address the issue’. ‘Wow’ was my response, thanked and disconnected.

Second time my wife calls the same number and was told ‘yes we will help, but this issue cannot be addressed by Hyundai Road Side Assistance, we can arrange for a tow to the nearest HASS’. We refused to take help as we were not sure on the ridiculous amount they would charge for the towing service. Also the driver/mechanic guy was already on the issue and was confident of fixing it so no point wasting time and money with the Road Side Assistance guys.

Today morning, I called up The Garve HASS, they sent over the Garve Hyundai Road Side assist person. Garve guy told me that the key got locked in the ignition lock switch due to improper removal attempt while shutting down the car. So the valet probably tried a little too hard to remove the key without turning the key over completely to Level 0 i.e. Off.

Garve guy said that the HASS would ask for a full replacement of the lock set which would cost me to the tune of INR 14,000, alternatively he can get it repaired through his contact out side the service centre at a cost of INR 3,500.

Unsure I thought of taking a second opinion. I called up Mr Lonkar from TuneUp Plus(at Balewadi- Baner), he as usual gave me a cold but useful response. He said that he could not attend to my problem today due to prior commitments and would need at least a day. However he did agree that it will cost close to the same figure quoted by Garve guy.

With few options around i agreed to go with the Garve guy's unofficial contact. He got the thing fixed for me in 2 hours.

He was hesitant in sharing detailed information but did reveal that the ignition lock set lever had to be replaced. He did however share the diagnostics with me; the key was faulty, due to usage (wear and tear) over 3+ years the key does not fit properly into the ignition switch, to which i agreed. I was aware of this problem especially while unlocking the doors and at times the key would not smoothly fit into the ignition switch as well. He asked me to start using the alternate key for daily use and keep the other problematic one as a backup.

Wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience. I am aware that the ASS guys push for replacements and not repairs. But was the figure of INR 14,000 correct for the ignition lock set and how about the INR 3,500 that I paid for the repairs, do these figures sound ok ?
somitra1981 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th August 2014, 18:51   #2

re: Key stuck in the Ignition Switch

Originally Posted by somitra1981 View Post
Wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience. I am aware that the ASS guys push for replacements and not repairs. But was the figure of INR 14,000 correct for the ignition lock set and how about the INR 3,500 that I paid for the repairs, do these figures sound ok ?
Oops.

This behaviour is common, all ASC's push for part replacement rather than repairs.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I had faced a similar incident in 2007 with my dad's SX4. The key was stuck in the same was as your and the mechanic from MASS said it was stuck due to improper removal technique. When asked what must be done, he says "Saar, part needs to be changed."

I asked not open it and get it repaired?

He says - "Why should we* bear the headache of opening it, checking and getting it repaired and reinstalled and if it fails again in a few days, we* should replace it for the customer at the companies cost which they'll never agree so Saar, we* change the whole part."

(*MASS).

I was like

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now the price difference that you see could be for repairs and labour whereas the 14K asked by HASS is for the 'new lock set' and that means new keys and key number AFAIK.

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2014, 08:30   #3

re: Key stuck in the Ignition Switch

ASS prefers changing the part rather than repair because it's more $$$ for them.

Did it occur to you that the hotel guys might have gone out of their way to help you because they felt a teeny bit guilty of causing the issue in the first place?

The tow does not cost much. Around 600-1000 in most in-city circumstances.

Last edited by joybhowmik : 31st August 2014 at 08:35.
joybhowmik is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 18:06   #4

Re: Key stuck in the Ignition Switch

My Fiesta (2010 model) key is stuck in the ignition. It moves to the second last stage but I can't crank the engine neither does it come all the way back for me to be able to take it out.

Called a local mechanic, who tried but could do nothing to take the key out. He is asking me to take the car to his workshop where he has access to all his tools. He is quoting an estimated total of 20000 if he has to change the lockset , and that he would first try to take the key out (not sure if he will be able to or not). For now, he has done a jugaad where I can use a screw driver to start the car.

I am yet to go to Ford Service Center so don't know how much will it cost there. Any one here who could help with the right advise? And if you can direct me to a tried and tested mechanic in Gurgaon, that will be great. Quite honestly, I am increasingly wary of spending too much on this car now whose after sale value would be hardly 1.25 lacs now.

Looking forward to the help of the community, as always.
Old 7th June 2019, 18:47   #5

Originally Posted by New.Novice View Post
My Fiesta (2010 model) key is stuck in the ignition. It moves to the second last stage but I can't crank the engine neither does it come all the way back for me to be able to take it out.

Called a local mechanic, who tried but could do nothing to take the key out. He is asking me to take the car to his workshop where he has access to all his tools. He is quoting an estimated total of 20000 if he has to change the lockset , and that he would first try to take the key out (not sure if he will be able to or not). For now, he has done a jugaad where I can use a screw driver to start the car.

I am yet to go to Ford Service Center so don't know how much will it cost there. Any one here who could help with the right advise? And if you can direct me to a tried and tested mechanic in Gurgaon, that will be great. Quite honestly, I am increasingly wary of spending too much on this car now whose after sale value would be hardly 1.25 lacs now.

Looking forward to the help of the community, as always.
Were the key levers bent to start with?

My advice: First take help of a locksmith rather than an FNG. He should be able to help most likely.

Second, if not, then take your Fiesta to a Ford service center. Certainly the entire lock set will not cost Rs. 20K as stated by your local mechanic.

Let us know about the progress.

Regards.
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 18:56   #6

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Were the key levers bent to start with?
Actually No. The key was perfectly fine (both visibly and functionally). I noticed a strange behavior the first time yesterday morning when I reached my office. When I turned off the ignition, the key came all the way back in stead of standard two step motion (had to apply some force) and doors got locked automatically(never happens in old Fiesta, it doesn't have an auto lock feature). Though it was strange, I did not think much of it then.

Came back home in the evening and when i turned off the car the same thing happened again. It was then I decided to check this by inserting the key again (boy oh boy..why did I do that). It was then the key got stuck inside at the second stage. it moved to third but doesnt let me crank and doesnt come back to first position also.

I am not sure a locksmith would be of help really (just my opinion), the key is dead stuck and the mechanic also wasnt able to do anything at all. I believe will have to go to Ford and get the lockset replaced
New.Novice is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 19:26   #7

Originally Posted by somitra1981 View Post
Hello BHP'ians,

The prices seem to be reasonable to me. The prices quoted by ASCs are from a price list and they will not be able to increase or decrease it. But the solution provided by them need not be the most appropriate one always, that is to replace the entire assembly of any component! To confirm that, of course you always need a second or a third opinion.

Good that you were able to get it fixed for a much lesser cost.

Why do you guys ever handover cars to valets? What was the easier thing to do? To run around and spend money to get this fixed or to spend two minutes to park your car?
Old 7th June 2019, 22:39   #8

Originally Posted by Nalin1 View Post
The prices seem to be reasonable to me. The prices quoted by ASCs are from a price list and they will not be able to increase or decrease it.
Post and the cost mentioned is of 5 years ago. That probably now makes it look a little more if you factor in the reverse inflation.

Originally Posted by Nalin1 View Post
Why do you guys ever handover cars to valets? What was the easier thing to do? To run around and spend money to get this fixed or to spend two minutes to park your car?
I remember reading probably on our forum itself that some valet used to park cars in the adjacent street of the hotel! I definitely avoid places with valet altogether.