Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th May 2019, 11:12   #1
BHPian

VW Jetta: Hill-Hold works only intermittently

2015 Jetta TDI DSG Highline

This car has hill-hold assist which I believe is supposed to hold the car on an upward incline for about 3 seconds.

The issue is, it works intermittently. Sometimes it works perfectly, sometimes the car rolls back a little. I have been complaining about this since August 2018.

The frustrating point in my case is that it never seems to misbehave when trying to replicate the issue with VW service people on board - it occurs only when they’re not there in the car.

Well, actually it did happen a couple of times with them on board, but they refuse to accept that they observed it.

They also tell me that “it only rolled back very slightly, and that’s how it’s supposed to behave”; and “hill-hold only works when you shift from neutral to Drive, and not when coming to a complete stop without shifting to Neutral”.

To their credit, the VW service centre did try speaking with VW India’s senior tech folks at the factory; but the tech folks say that unless there is a fault code there is nothing they can do. And there is no fault code!

I did try to shoot a video of when this happens, but the video only shows a slight roll-back and they’re unwilling to accept that the video shows any rollback.

Any ideas on what else I could do to try and get them to do some trouble-shooting without fault codes?

The car is completely stock, no mods of any kind anywhere other than using a spare fuse to connect a dash cam.

Thank you and cheers
Old 17th May 2019, 15:20   #2
Team-BHP Support

re: VW Jetta: Hill-Hold works only intermittently

My take is

1: The sensor which detects an incline is kaput or
2: The motors / holding device which grips the brake disks might have a connectivity issue or the motor is failing