Old 23rd May 2021, 17:11   #1

Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI

Mine is a 2015 November registered Polo GT TSI and my extended/ add-on warranty expired on 2020 November. I had tried to take extended warranty at that time, but VW denied it stating that mine was already on add-on warranty and any further extension is not possible. And last week my car stalled while running. And the diagnosis is gearbox failure and mechatronics failure. Total estimate is 201,280/-.

Initially the dealer said lot of rust is accumulated in the gearbox and it has crumbled down and said that mine is flood affected car, as that’s the only way rusting can happen in so much inside parts. I assured that it is not any flood affected as he can confirm it with the service history.

In fact I have been getting symptoms of my gear box failure since the last 2 years (ie when the car turned 3). There was a lag in movement when I shift the gear from P to N to D, it wont move for 5 to 10 seconds, which increased to upto 1 minute. This was random occurrence which finally became routine one, but service centre said that since the error is not showing when they scan it, VW is not supporting to change the gear box.

I hope they support me with Good will warranty, as I was looking to add another car to my garage and was looking for the launch of new Octavia and new Tiguan. If they don’t support, I won’t make the same mistake again, whatever gear box they use in them. Once bitten twice shy.

I have sent mail to VW customer care. I had contacted VW customer car earlier for many issues and that has never yielded any output. I guess the only option is by trying to get in touch with some senior officials like Head Service Vishal Bhat or equivalent executives.

Requesting support from team-bhp-ians if any one has the contact mail id of higher officials of VW India or VW Global as I need to escalate it to them. Kindly DM me please. Dealer is not able to do anything.
petrol_power is offline   (69) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 17:17   #2

re: Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI

Was the gearbox oil replaced on schedule?
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 18:13   #3

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Was the gearbox oil replaced on schedule?
If I understand correctly, it's a dry clutch DSG whose oil is not mandatorily required to be changed. It CAN be changed but not required.
itwasntme is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 18:23   #4

Originally Posted by petrol_power View Post
I have been getting symptoms of my gear box failure since the last 2 years (ie when the car turned 3). There was a lag in movement when I shift the gear from P to N to D, it wont move for 5 to 10 seconds, which increased to upto 1 minute.
Based on the statement in the quote, do you have evidences to show that you have complained to ASC multiple times when car turned 3 years? If yes, you should catch the dealer and say, during warranty period, although you have raised the complaint several times, they have not attended the issue and now after warranty has expired, they are asking you to change the gear box with hefty amount.

If you take it up directly with manufacturer, they will definitely look into the issue and evidences and support you.

Going with good will route, you will be at their mercy. In my view, if you had raised the complaint several times when car was under warranty, it is lapse of responsibility of the dealership.

Last edited by gkveda : 23rd May 2021 at 18:24.
gkveda is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 18:38   #5

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
If I understand correctly, it's a dry clutch DSG whose oil is not mandatorily required to be changed. It CAN be changed but not required.
DQ200 jerking and then failure issues seem to have had two fixes -

1. Synthetic gearbox oil unsuited to Indian traffic conditions - changed to a mineral or semi synthetic one as I remember

2. A software update

Were these done is the question. Rust is very unlikely in a sealed system unless water got in somehow. Was the engine / under the hood pressure water washed any time?
Old 23rd May 2021, 19:23   #6

Originally Posted by petrol_power View Post
Mine is a 2015 November registered Polo GT TSI and my extended/ add-on warranty expired on 2020 November. I had tried to take extended warranty at that time, but VW denied it stating that mine was already on add-on warranty and any further extension is not possible. And last week my car stalled while running. And the diagnosis is gearbox failure and mechatronics failure. Total estimate is 201,280/-.
Sorry to say this, but welcome to the club. I think it's one eventuality that's waiting to happen if you own a DQ200 gearbox, sooner or later. I would advise you to take the gearbox rust with a bucket of salt. From my experience, they are not trained enough to open the sealed box, let alone find rust within. Ask for photos of the rust if they are adamant. Coming to goodwill warranty, you're completely at the mercy of ASS and VW. Try to make some noise and hope for the best. And, i hope you don't have any major mods in your car and a spotless service history, which can be reasons they will try to deny warranty. Also the quote they are saying is simply stupid. That itself raises lot of suspicion on their intentions. The mechatronics costs around 71k MRP. How i know this is, i paid for it while mine gave up. (You can find my entire experience in the GT TSI official review thread). Have attached the MRP on box of mechatronics that i got. Hope it works out in your favour.

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
DQ200 jerking and then failure issues seem to have had two fixes -

1. Synthetic gearbox oil unsuited to Indian traffic conditions - changed to a mineral or semi synthetic one as I remember

2. A software update

Were these done is the question. Rust is very unlikely in a sealed system unless water got in somehow. Was the engine / under the hood pressure water washed any time?
To be frank there are no fixes for the DQ200 gearbox. What you've mentioned are stop gap and not true fixes. This is because my GB failed even after the mineral oil change and innumerable software updates. But to be frank i don't regret this purchase. This is one superbly tuned gearbox, with an achilles heel. Just put an FD in name of DQ200 if your'e planning to hold on to a car with one for a long time.
Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI-img_20200602_082322.jpg  

drpudhi is offline   (53) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 19:32   #7

Originally Posted by drpudhi View Post
This is because my GB failed even after the mineral oil change and innumerable software updates. But to be frank i don't regret this purchase.
Good point. However, did the VW ASS apply these stopgap fixes at some time during this car's life? If the car is regularly serviced with them and they haven't done this, then there's a stronger claim for a goodwill replacement.
Old 23rd May 2021, 19:37   #8

Just put an FD in name of DQ200 if your'e planning to hold on to a car with one for a long time.
We all should set aside money for our cars as they get more and more technically complex - not just for cars with DSG boxes. Even torque converter gearboxes can go bad and they can cost a lot as well - a member's AT Creta had a 7 lac replacement bill for its gearbox. A member's Crysta's Aisin AT gearbox came to 4 lacs. The 4 speed Jattco sourced AT that Maruti uses costs 80 thousand.

Turbochargers can also go bad...

So I have set aside money in SBI Overnight fund. The money is 100% safe, is earning 4.5% currently and can be pulled out in 24 hours if needed.

Last edited by locusjag : 23rd May 2021 at 19:41.
locusjag is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 20:40   #9

Sorry to say this, but welcome to the club. I think it's one eventuality that's waiting to happen if you own a DQ200 gearbox, sooner or later. Have attached the MRP on box of mechatronics that i got. Hope it works out in your favour.

To be frank there are no fixes for the DQ200 gearbox. What you've mentioned are stop gap and not true fixes. This is because my GB failed even after the mineral oil change and innumerable software updates. But to be frank i don't regret this purchase. This is one superbly tuned gearbox, with an achilles heel. Just put an FD in name of DQ200 if your'e planning to hold on to a car with one for a long time.
Thanks for the details and for attaching the picture.

I have ensured the servicing was done as and when it was up for servicing and there was never a delay. I have never pressure washed engine bay.

And my issues started in the 3rd year of ownership itself when the car had run around 30k to 40,000 kms. I had written it in a mail once to VW and I have attached that mail also to VW now.

Ad drpudhi and locusjag said, this happens randomly, and there is no proper root cause associated with this.

Anyways I got the estimate today only and have mailed VW customer care, but I know that normally VW customer-care routes it back to the ASS. Hence trying to get mail id of some senior executives.

Last edited by petrol_power : 23rd May 2021 at 20:45.
petrol_power is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 21:14   #10

Originally Posted by locusjag View Post
We all should set aside money for our cars as they get more and more technically complex - not just for cars with DSG boxes. Even torque converter gearboxes can go bad and they can cost a lot as well - a member's AT Creta had a 7 lac replacement bill for its gearbox. A member's Crysta's Aisin AT gearbox came to 4 lacs. The 4 speed Jattco sourced AT that Maruti uses costs 80 thousand.

Turbochargers can also go bad...

So I have set aside money in SBI Overnight fund. The money is 100% safe, is earning 4.5% currently and can be pulled out in 24 hours if needed.

I understand what you are trying to say and it is a fact that cars are getting complex. There will not be any classics left from this era to hold on to.

But a better strategy is to buy new car hold it till warranty lasts and sell it before warranty is over ? Now a days warranty will usually be offered for 5 to 7 years.

For the car concerned the owner should look at sourcing the gear box or the part from salvaged car which will work out much cheaper.
Old 23rd May 2021, 21:20   #11

I have mentioned this earlier - DSG gearboxes have an unofficial unlimited warranty and goodwill warranties will be honored within VW / Skoda subject to certain conditions. This fact is not indicated to customers. Some of the conditions that you need to have complied with are:

1. Adherence to service schedules
2. Avoiding any modications that could affect the gearbox - remap, Power increases through exhaust modifications and the like.
3. Should not have serviced the car outside the ASS resulting in issues
4. No non OE parts fixed on the car.

You should put across your case properly, provide documentation and escalate the issue within VW as required. DO NOT reach out to the CEO or the VW group Chairman straightaway as some over enthusiastic folks do. Take advantage of every level of escalation - if you are not happy with the solution provided at a particular level reach out to the next - that will help you more than reaching out to the top straightaway.

All the best!

Last edited by AMG Power : 23rd May 2021 at 21:25.
AMG Power is offline   (56) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 21:31   #12

This is a common occurrence on the DQ200. Mechatronics failures and premature clutch pack wear outs are both commonly heard of as you mentioned, and whoever buys these cars on the pretext that both will be reliable is a fool IMO.

The best course of action is what you have done. Asking for goodwill warranty. Mechatronics replacements are approved and 100 percent of the cost is usually covered by VW, but clutch pack failures after the car has turned 4-5 years old are considered wear and tear items and depending on your luck, you can get anywhere between 20-50 percent goodwill coverage or even none. Best is to set aside 1.3-1.5L should the worst happen and keep fingers crossed. Could you shed light on what exactly is being replaced and the cost breakup? The gearbox body usually doesn't need replacement. It's the mechatronics or the clutch pack and flywheel or all three.

Coming to the reason for failure, the mechatronics in the DQ200 has a high pressure accumulator. What this basically does is generate a very high amount of pressure in the mechatronics fluid (upto 60 bars) in a very short period of time once the ignition is switched on. This accumulator with time, wears out. The internal seats abrade and cause the oil to get contaminated with metallic particles. Initial symptoms include mis-shifting and delays as the fluid pressure inside the mechatronics isn't enough for the solenoids due to the bad accumulator. Eventually, the contaminated oil ends up destroying the solenoids as well leading to no drive to the wheels or only odd or even gears being available.

Here's are pics of the accumulator:

Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI-2017102605.jpg

Attached to the valve body:
Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI-2017102601.jpg

The internal seats that wear out with time:
Yet another DQ200 gearbox failure - VW Polo GT TSI-2017102611.jpg

Repair kits are offered abroad and specialists also overhaul the gearbox for a fraction of the amount of a new one. But such specialists are far and few to non existent in this part of the world. VW also doesn't allow the oil in the mechatronics to be replaced by any dealership and claims such an action should only be carried out if the unit malfunctions (in India, it's replaced directly in case of a malfunction).

Sorry for going OT, I thought I would shed some light on how the mechatronics fails for thise who had doubts. Hope your replacement is approved eventually under goodwill
vishy76 is offline   (65) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 22:43   #13

Off late, VW/Skoda have become more considerate towards goodwill claims for the dsg/mechatronics failure and if you have got your scheduled services on time with no modifications to the car, i think they should be able to help you out. They may or may not support the full repair cost but even 70-80% of the total amount would be a huge relief though you should try to push for 100% coverage.

People who bought the GT Tsi with DSG must have been mentally prepared to pay some amount for this failure, even though you took the extended warranty, its unlucky that the issue cropped up once the warranty ran out. Document every thing and try to push for 100% coverage. This DQ200 is an unreliable gearbox and taking all precautions can just delay the inevitable which happened in your case, hope VW does not lose a long term customer like you.

Last edited by coolboy007 : 23rd May 2021 at 22:44.
coolboy007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th May 2021, 00:21   #14

Originally Posted by vishy76 View Post
This is a common occurrence on the DQ200. Mechatronics failures and premature clutch pack wear outs are both commonly heard of as you mentioned, and whoever buys these cars on the pretext that both will be reliable is a fool IMO.

Could you shed light on what exactly is being replaced and the cost breakup? The gearbox body usually doesn't need replacement. It's the mechatronics or the clutch pack and flywheel or all three.

Initial symptoms include mis-shifting and delays as the fluid pressure inside the mechatronics isn't enough for the solenoids due to the bad accumulator. Eventually, the contaminated oil ends up destroying the solenoids as well leading to no drive to the wheels or only odd or even gears being available.
Thanks for the information given to all of us. My symptom was also delay and lag, which was very much evident.

Here is the cost break-up shared by the ASS.

Multi clutch -84000/-
Fly wheel -28000/-
Mechatronics-75000/-
Total labor -12000+ tax
Tax -2280
Total amount- 201280/-
petrol_power is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th May 2021, 09:11   #15

Two lakhs is a hefty amount for a car that costs 8L (factory), as an owner of 2 auto transmission cars, albeit torque converters, I'm almost scared for any repair bills should they ever malfunction.

India is not the country for automatic transmissions, come to think of it, India is exactly the country for automatic convenience but not longevity, given the amount of abrupt brakings, poor predictablility of paths, dust, water etc, shows exactly how much abuse our left knee takes in such conditions, even manual transmission clutches that are supposed to last 2L kms with ease do not last even half of that in India.

Write to VW CR team personally, a well worded, polite email should get you the best result possible, in any case, be prepared to part with something close to 2 lacs if not the full amount, once repaired, forget it and drive on.
dark.knight is offline   (8) Thanks